Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Hall Farm Certified Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Hall Farm Certified Site Reviews

Folly Hall Farm Certified Site
Tranmire
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 2BW
Tel: 07774 415395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2021 to 19/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 20/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazzaz1 1 review from this member

 I've just returned after spending a week at this lovely site set in the heart of the north Yorkshire moors. A beautifully kept field with wonderful views and big skies. A good, quiet location but with so much to do and see in the surrounding areas.

The toilet block is clean with a really good hot shower. There is also a sink and endless hot water for washing your pots. The site is run by Terry, a lovely man, who can't do enough to help you and make your stay enjoyable. On arrival he gave me information on things to do, the bus time table etc.

Regardless of the horrible weather I had whilst I was there I would not hesitate to return. A week wasn't long enough. It was just perfect. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FleurB 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a campsite this is. The location is excellent for the beaches, steam railway, North York Moors, etc. Wonderful flat and well maintained site with good sized pitches around the edge of a large field. The views are breathtaking and we saw some wonderful sunsets.

We were blessed with fantastic weather but do remember to bring a wind break and a kite for the kids to make the most of the breeze on the tops.

The site owner has got the balance just right here. Very helpful but not intrusive. He gave us lots of info where to eat, the bus service, local attractions, etc. Lovely man and always on hand to meet your every need.

The facilities are good, spotlessly clean and well stocked (including a variety of magazines to read in the ladies shower/toilet block and Radio 2 playing in the mens - very civilised!)

The showers are good quality Mira and powerful - not the pathetic showers you get at some sites where you have to run around to get wet! Loads of hot water for washing up, etc and a large freezer to chill those beers super quick whilst you are putting up your tent.

Adjoining the campsite are fields of cows and sheep and Terry's rams like to come up to the fence for a nice stroke from time to time.

We ate at the Black bull in Ugthorpe with it's giant portions - all decent stuff but I really recommend The Board Inn at Lealholm (about 3 miles away). We stopped off for sunday lunch and wow! it was to die for. Beef, Lamb, chicken, Pork - everything! Large Yorkshire Puds, Loads of roasties (including roast carrots and parsnips), and a wide selection of other veg. To top it off there was live jazz playing on the terrace - quality.

We have 2 kids under 5 and they had a wonderful time on the steam train and a day at sandsend beach.

Great site. Great owner. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rod Pudney 10 reviews from this member

 I booked this site because the reviews were so good and Iím pleased to say they were right Ė this is a very good campsite. Great location on the moors on a quiet lane ideal for dog walking. We only had a four night stay, so will have to come back.

The owner was very welcoming, even though when we arrived he was dashing out for the evening. The next morning he dropped off some information sheets e. G. Local attractions and pub recommendations.

The site and facilities are kept very clean, plenty of hot water for showers and washing up and a large freezer for ice packs and food.

The Black Bull in Ugthorpe is walkable (the A171 has plenty of grass verge) if you want to sample their beers which were in excellent condition. Or itís only a short drive. We had a very good quality meal there, and were full up on the main course.

Whitby and Robin Hoodís Bay both provided very good fish and chips. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mol2108 3 reviews from this member

 Yet again we had a lovely stay. Booked for 8 nights but ended up staying 9!

Great facilities which are always kept clean. The new washing up area is great and the freezer is a godsend.

Terry as always is welcoming and full of useful info on the surrounding area. His approach makes any stay at Folly Hall Farm a pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble.

We have always visited out of season but even though it was the height of the school holidays Terry ensured that there was enough space for children to play and even though there are no specific children's play areas all the kids we saw loved it. Football, badminton and a frizby seemed to keep them well entertained.

Shops are a bit of a drive from site but with forethought it isn't a problem and if you have any issues Terry is always on hand to help if he can.

We are delighted the site is gaining in popularity but even so it is a quiet, beautiful, peaceful place to spend a holiday with unbelievable sunsets and views of the moors. Runswick Bay is close by and well worth a visit as is Lealholme, a quiet picturesque village with a lovely tearoom.

If your looking for a quiet getaway with an owner who will give you all the assistance you could possibly want then please visit. You won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shodson 1 review from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return. Terry made us feel so welcome from the moment we entered the site and he gave us so much useful information concerning the nearby attractions. The facilities were lovely and having access to a freezer was an absolute bonus.

The location is stunning and close by to many beautiful places, such as the Moors and the pretty seaside places.

Having read the other reviews about this place, we can see why people return and why they would like to keep this place a secret - thank you Terry for making our camping trip a special and memorable one! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mad Mick 2000 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic Site, all amenities are there and clean.

Owner is a fastidious host and nowt is too much trouble for him. Fabulous views, Fabulous location Fabulous Site.

Cannot recommend it too highly.

As good as any Best of British campsite, but with the added owner factor.

We spent a lovely week bar a day. We had fantastic sunsets, we had gales and rain, we had sun, but most of all we had a fantastic stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aldersoncrew 3 reviews from this member

 Myself, husband and 3 small girls have just returned from a fantastic stay at this site.

The site is a good size with two fields of about 8? tents in the one we were on, and I think slightly more in the other where there were mostly caravans. The pitches are generous in size and flat. The views over the surrounding moors are fantastic and the site was lovely and quiet.

The facilities are great with warm and clean showers, clean toilets and a good pot washing sink!

Terry doesn't pack the tents in so there is plenty of space for the kids to play with the other kids and ours actually said they preferred this site to one with a play park! The chickens, sheep and Jeff the dog certainly helped too! We liked that cars were kept off the field as it felt safer for the kids and was nice not to have your car parked next to the tent. It was only a few yards to the car.

It was a short drive down to the beach and then on into Whitby and on to Robin Hood's Bay. All of which were fantastic days out. Fish and chips in Whitby were as good as rumoured. We also hit an agricultural show which was good fun! There was clearly plenty more to do in the area - even just walking out of the campsite and onto the moors.

A real winner for us is how friendly the site is. Terry was very helpful and accommodating on the phone when booking and continued to be so on arrival. He gives out really useful information on the area and if we had a question he never made us feel like it was a bother. His kindness made for a great atmosphere on the site and we met some lovely people.

We will definitely be returning to this site. Reasonably priced, good quality and friendly - you can't beat it. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen tb 1 review from this member

 Our first camping trip as a family of four.

We wanted some where that was nice and quiet with the basics and that it what we got.

It's a lovely little site, with large pitches, we didn't feel at all over crowded. As everyone on the site wanted the same thing, (a quieter pace) the site was lovely and peaceful and there was no noise at all after 9)

The toilets and showers are basic, but they work and were very clean.

There's areas for pot washing and a large freezer.

The children loved the open space and the sheep and cows in the surrounding fields.

It was lovely to be able to walk into the moors.

The local beach at Sandsend was fantastic for the children and they loved the rockpools.

Terry the host was brilliant and gave us lots of useful local information.

We will definitely be going back again 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sidski 1 review from this member

 My wife, I and our two little dogs have just spent five nights on this site. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Terry, who freely gave us lots of information both about the locality, the places to visit and the site itself.

The facilities were very clean with plenty of hot water at ALL times.

The few dos and don'ts are well thought out for the mutual benefit of all who use the site we like to think we are responsible caravanners and dog owners and they caused us no hardships whatsoever.

A very peaceful site, which is a well placed base for the north Yorkshire attractions both coastal and inland.

Will definitely be using this site again 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antonygiles 3 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site even though basic it forms a fantastic base for getting around the area. Terry is an absolute legend who cannot do enough for people. After contacting him at short notice he altered things around to accommodate us. While we were there the male shower broke and he had it fixed in about two hours. If only all sites and owners were this good. The grass was perfect and Terry even organised a freezer for our ice blocks. We will be back! 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Hall Farm Certified Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Hall Farm Certified Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Folly Hall Farm Certified Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement