Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Hall Farm Certified Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Hall Farm Certified Site Reviews

Folly Hall Farm Certified Site
Tranmire
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 2BW
Tel: 07774 415395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickb500 11 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from 6 days at this lovely site. High on the moors the location is fantastic with great views and easy access to the main coastal beauty spots of Runswick Bay, Staithes and Whitby as well as being very close to the Esk Valley and its pretty villages and beautiful scenery.

The site's location does mean that it is quite exposed and we had an exciting first night with extremely strong winds buffeting the caravan but we survived unscathed alongside the hedge and it all added to the atmosphere of this special site.

Sally the site owner provided accurate directions and met us on arrival, ensured that we were OK after the stormy night and also supplied plenty of handy local information for our stay. Being in a tourer meant that we did not need to use the site showers, toilets or washing facilities but these all seemed to be provided for in the shelter of a large barn should they be required. Fresh water and chemical disposal were also both located alongside the barn so accessible from any part of the site.

Despite some heavy rain the field was not unduly muddy.

Having travelled on the nearby NY Moors steam railway many times we decided for a change to try the 'normal' Esk Valley rail line which runs from Whitby to Middlesbrough and with the Autumn colours on display this was a real treat and arguably better scenery than the steam route.

We would have no hesitation in returning here! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paddyandchris 10 reviews from this member

 We had a stay of 4 nights at this lovely quiet site. Pre-arrival was well managed by Sally from the site, confirming arrival time and pitch location. A 'Welcome Pack' was provided by the site which we found very informative and useful. This was a particularly nice touch. On arrival we found our hook-up cable wouldn't reach the point from our pitch, but an extension cable was brought to us within minutes (thanks Sally).

The site is located well into the countryside, away from towns or villages, and has a lovely relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Pitches are well spread out and the centre of our field (there are 2 fields) was kept free. The washing facilities, though a little basic, are very well maintained and kept clean. All washrooms were equipped with loo-rolls and soap for washing. A little better lighting around these facilities might be of benefit though.

While we were there, there was a barn owl nest above the washroom area with 5 chicks almost ready to fledge. In the evening and during the night, any visitors to this area were greeted with the welcome from the chicks.

The site is about 6 miles from Whitby, and there are plenty of other villages and attractions in the area to keep most people happy.

If we visit Whitby again, there is no question that we would be happy to return to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Guider 15 reviews from this member

 Great little site, near to whitby but far enough away. Did a fair bit of walking on coast paths which is close by. Sally and her husband are very friendly, give local advice and very approachable should you have a problem. We had higher wind speeds than expected and you are best to select a pitch to minimise this, we had no problems but it is worth mentioning. Lots to do in the area, but this is covered in previous posts. Would go back tomorrow. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liamandkatie 7 reviews from this member

 Superb little site very well managed by sally. Great views of the moors & well situated for exploring Whitby & the coast. Very peaceful site no noise at night at all, BONUS ! would recommend a visit to Whitby brewery, great selection of ales ! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few nights. Lovely site, tons of room. Great showers (with hooks and shelves!), in the ladies two showers and three toilets. Not sure about the provision for gents but I suspect it was just as good. A fridge freezer, very organised rubbish/recycling set up. Two sinks for washing up with hot water.

Lots of EHU available but we don't use EHU.

Lovely owners who gave us a welcome pack on arrival with lots of current (as opposed to out of date) information.

Immaculate site, everything spotlessly clean and the grass cut with the clippings collected so you don't end up covered in them.

Location wise it suited us well but probably wouldn't suit everyone unless you were prepared to walk, cycle or drive everywhere. Really lovely spot but you need some sort of transport, although it is only a mile off an A road so maybe you could find a bus.

The site is fairly exposed in parts so you need to pick your spot. We had very strong winds when we were there. Close to Runswick Bay, Whitby, Goathland, NYM railway. Tons to do, lovely walk to Runswick from the site, probably 5 Miles each way.

All for 17:50 a night for three plus a dog. Excellent site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hookers 6 reviews from this member

 Very nice farm. Good things include the location which is only 20 mins outside of whitby, and very friendly owners. The site is child friendly, clean and quiet. The showers and toilets will need updating soon but this site is well worth the money.

Great all round. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angie6344 1 review from this member

 Had a 3 night tent camping break here joined by my parents in their motorhome. Lovely flat pitches with EHU, beautiful scenery and very peaceful. The main A171 runs within a few minutes walk from the site for Whitby/Scarborough but there is no road noise at the site at all. There are toilets and showers which were lovely and clean (don't even need to provide your own loo roll) We ate at The Black Bull in Ugthorpe on 2 nights and believe me you won't go hungry, the food and portions are amazing! Its about a mile from the site across the A171. Sally the owner of the site is extremely friendly and helpful. The site runs a great recycling system which is a credit to Sally. I would highly recommend this site for peace and quiet but is still within a short drive to Whitby for convenience 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maddymckinnon 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, quiet, good views, small, but the pitches are not crammed in with plenty of space for kids to play. It is well organised in that moving cars are kept away from playing space. It has everything you need (loos, showers, potwash etc).

Good base for visiting the Yorkshire coast and surrounding area, loads of lovely bays within a short drive.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. They went the extra mile for the kids and brought out some outdoor toys for them to play with which was very much appreciated. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Binka 11 reviews from this member

 Just come back from two nights here, was meant to be longer but the weather was terrible.

Sally and her husband have recently taken over the site, so don't be put off by any older reviews talking about the previous owner. Sally and her husband were very helpful. They towed my caravan onto the field with their 4x4 as the field was waterlogged by the exceptional rainfall. Also towed me off. Lent me some blocks for my corner steadies and even offered to come and help us take my brother's large tent down if we needed help as it was so windy.

Loo block/shower block is in a barn and were very clean. There's also an undercover pot wash area. I guess it's quite a basic site, which are the kind of sites I like. There's some EHU points.

In better weather it would be a great location. Not far from whitby and the coast and very close to the moors for walking. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leamlanelinz 3 reviews from this member

 As per the description this campsite is under new ownership.

Have just spent three nights at the site and wouldn't hesitate to go back. The new owners are more than accommodating and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The shower block, as stated previously is in an old barn but is kept immaculately clean, even with fresh flowers. (the showers are hot and powerful too). There are two places to wash pots, one undercover if needed. The pitches are level and kept nicely cut and appear to be of a decent size. Although you can see the main Whitby road, traffic cannot be heard at all. Plenty of views to look at, incredible sunsets, lots of wildlife, especially birds - we actually saw a cuckoo! Oh and the resident chickens are adorable. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Hall Farm Certified Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Hall Farm Certified Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Folly Hall Farm Certified Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5707 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement