Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Swanage > Herston Caravan & Camp Site > Reviews

Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Wash Pond Lane
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3DJ
Tel: 01929 422932
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 36 Reviews
                5/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie Trimming 1 review from this member

 This was in the perfect location, but thatís about it! One of the most expensive sites weíve ever stayed on.

The facilities were overcrowded and dirty Ö they had absolutely no Covid rules regarding hygiene

The health and safety need to be informed. Ö. Dogs barking, no privacy between pitches, some people pitching their tents the wrong way, so we could here all there conversations, no one keeping an eye on the place at allÖ

Too much maintenance work going on in peak season??

Not enough showers/toilets for the amount of campers. Washing up facilities filthy! Wonít be going back unless a big improvement is made.

Feel like we shouldíve had a refund for at least one night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Kelsey 2 reviews from this member

 This is the worst site I have ever stayed at. We stayed as a family group on one tent pitch and 2 Motor home pitches. The reception was filled with boxes of recent deliveries and smelt damp.

Our pitch was on a hastily created new field. The tent pitch was covered in active mole hills and was therefore not usable. There were nowhere near enough toilets and showers for the vast number of pitches. There was no hot water on the Friday tea time nor the following morning. Bins were overflowing.

The showers were disgusting with shower curtains that were mould infested. The site is like a shanty town with permanent residents in old decrepit vans. Lots of commercial vehicles and lots of junk just chucked outside the vans.

The site seemed to allow anyone to act as they pleased and we therefore had to endure 3 nights of a group of dads with their kids blasting out crap music and swearing and shouting. There were no wardens monitoring the site.

We will never return to this site and advise others to steer clear unless you like living in squalid conditions in which case it's ideal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jayne2 1 review from this member

 Good location for Swanage and other areas. Lovely town. Campsite very strange. Part touring, part traveller/permanent residents. We aren't a family who are negative and like to loan but we want to write an honest review.

Toilets and showers basic and sometimes clean. Level pitch with gravel and grass which was worn. Electric hook up and water close by on pitch.

Cleaners worked hard daily but the facilities were worn and not cleanable due to their lack of maintenance eg Zip ties to hold the shower head up.

There aren't enough toilets and showers for the number of pitches so queueing was regular for a less than clean shower. The site itself is unfinished and 'rough' in parts eg dirt track at the back of our pitch, open pipes near the toilet blocks, no pipe to rinse caravan toilet at one elsan disposal point.

On arrival, the reception was closed as was the bar area. We couldn't check in only with a man sat outside the bar who gave us brief directions to the pitch. We made an educated guess where we should have been pitching. This wasn't a very welcoming or professional impression so we didn't have confidence in the site from this point.

We tried to check in the morning after and get a site map. No check in/ticket to be displayed and no site information available as 'we are still having work done and information and maps will be available when finished'.

Children's playground was closed. Alot of money each night for what you get and it was disappointing. We aren't fussy and are easily pleased but this site wasn't up to its website, price or our expectations of a touring site.

We had a great week in swanage and we made the very best of our time there for our children, however, we wouldn't visit again as it is now. Maybe in the future it will improve. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Steveo 1 review from this member

 Nice site, friendly staff, clean & well managed, elevated position so can be windy, but generally protected by the surrounding hills.

We're already looking forward to our next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helenp 1 review from this member

 Went to stay at herston caravan park at the weekend.

Before we went we read up on some reviews, some real negative reviews, so as you can imagine we where quite sceptical about going.

Well we shouldn't have worried, we had a fantastic time

We had a bell tent which was fantastic, we had blow up beds a fire pit which they replenished with logs every day.

Saturday night we went to the bar to watch England play.

We had a fantastic time the staff couldn't do enough for us.

Would highly recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Radioruth 10 reviews from this member

 We would never go back to this campsite and I think itís the worst place Iíve ever stayed.

We booked the best pitch that was available and it cost £50 per night which is on the expensive end for a caravan pitch. It was tiny and the people next door were about a metre away from the side of our caravan and the campers behind us were about 4 meters away. There was nowhere to park the car if you had an awning and the grass was all dead and rotting. There was lots of noise from others late at night and no thought for others, with children running past our awning and screaming. Some people didnít keep their dogs on a lead and let them wander around others pitches.

The bins on site were overflowing and rubbish bags were having to be left all over the floor in the bin area. There were parts of the campsite that looked like a junk yard and there was lots of litter around the site generally.

We were lucky that we have our own toilet and shower as we were with friends who had to use the toilet and shower blocks and the soap ran out all the time, there was no way to dry your hands, the showers were cold and the toilets regularly blocked up.

We heard lots of comments from other people who were also unhappy with the state of the site. The site offered fire pits which was a great idea but it is a very windy site and everyone is crammed in so it feels like a fire hazard.

The electric was only 10 amp so you could only use one thing at a time without tripping the electricity and the waste water cap was so tight that a neighbour had to help us and use a metal lever to get the cap off.

If there is one good thing about this site, itís that you can walk into Swanage and the location was fab. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Butlet 1 review from this member

 Nice to be so close to everything you want to see and do. The site has good pitches with electric and waste. But bring your own lawn mower as the grass wasnít cut when we arrived.

Thatís the good things now the bad. The showers are to say the least terrible the ones by the reception your lucky to get any water to wash with, all the shower heads are blocked. So a walk up the hill to another block one side which has loads of shower cubicles only has cold water the curtains are so grubby I would just throw them away the other side after having to wait to get one the water is nice and warm but slows right down as everyone else is using the others.

The whole site needs to be cleaned and all the old shower curtains thrown away, the site in general is ok if you use all your own stuff in your caravan or motor home, for what you pay I donít think you get value for money. When you think they had 3 months being closed you would have thought as it has residents living here they could have given the place a good clean and tidy up

Wouldnít come to this site again and wouldnít recommend to anyone I will be be writing to them to let them know my thoughts, but if you look at a review from 2018 the showers were no better back then 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 58 reviews from this member

 Second time of staying here, great no hassle site with a pub and shop which is open in the summer. Pitches are a good size and hard standing, and well marked. While out in the countryside its a five minute journey into the middle of Swanage, and there are reasonably priced taxis if you didn't want to drive. There is also a station for the Swanage Steam Railway within walking distance but check the trains are running. Good toilets and showers and the on site bar sometimes has real ale but cannot be relied on, other than that they serve a good range of food and drink at weekends. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nick wyeth 2 reviews from this member

 Oh dear where do I begin, stayed for 3 nights to see the New Year in but not what we expected. I must say the staff that were there were very friendly and helpful and that's where the good points end. The site has a lot of long stay clients and does not represent a holiday campsite, it looks and feels well used and grubby with old furniture, washing machines and mounds of rubbish outside a lot of the static caravans. The toilets and showers are outdated and tired and not cleaned very often, they are more dirty than clean and lacking toilet paper, there are only 2 pegs to hang your clothes and footwear on in the shower which you have to use as anything on the floor is soaked within seconds of the shower starting as it floods because the draining of the water is very slow. The shop was closed, on the website it says its open restricted hours, well that's very restricted in my book, so if you needed basic stuff like bread or milk it would mean a trip into Swanage. Other motorhome and caravan owners were of the same opinion as myself so I am not alone with these comments. The whole site is in need of a major make over and needs to be done urgently otherwise many more people will be writing reviews like this. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coastcamper 32 reviews from this member

 This was the only site in the area where we could get a pitch on the BH weekend at the end of our 9 day tour of the Jurassic Coast.

Booked for EHU for 2 nights (all that was available) with the plan of moving to a non electric pitch for our final night. However helpful man at Camping Reception managed to find us a pitch with electricity.

Pitches are smallish and not clearly delineated.

Even on BH no need to pre book if not requiring EHU.

Full of families and groups having a great time.

On entering the site initial impressions are good - reception, shop, bar, shower facilities. Then mixture of hardstanding touring, ? seasonal pitches and statics. Finally camping fields with and without EHU. Camping Reception is a former mobile library - bit confusing on arrival but all staff very friendly and helpful.

Toilet facilities: male and female toilets located in each field, 3 family shower rooms and approx 8 shower rooms with basin and WC next to Camping Reception, older style showers and toilets next to Yurts/top of camping field, toilets and showers next to bar and shop. All cleaned regularly throughout the day. There was a problem with water pressure in the shower rooms when demand was high plus people queuing to use them however the other two blocks had no queues.

Site sells logs and (I think) loans fire pits which were in high demand all weekend.

Security staff visible, friendly and helpful. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Herston Caravan & Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3727 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement