Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Swanage > Herston Caravan & Camp Site > Reviews

Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Wash Pond Lane
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3DJ
Tel: 01929 422932
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 36 Reviews
                5/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wonderlust 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site in February 2014 and as with many sites there are plus points and minus points.

Plus points were - staff friendly and pleasant, pitches large and spacious, close to Swanage (20min walk or 10 min cycle), lovely countryside, great coastal walks, good Indian restaurant in town along with some excellent pubs serving local real ales.

Minus points - Very expensive (£25. 00 p. N. In February, toilet block was not open and had to use a single toilet with shower. Also burnt out van left on one pitch that does not give a good impression.

Verdict - worth using in winter as there are no other sites open all year in the vicinity, however better value sites available the rest of the year. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 This is just a very average site, has its good points but unfortunately it also has its downsides and I left it without having really enjoyed my stay.

First impressions count and things didnít start too well as I was quoted £20 per night on the phone only to discover it was actually £25 and this was in early December, no other sites open in the area so I had very little choice. Pitch was quite large, secluded and level.

There are a lot of statics and mobile homes on site that people obviously live in and there was much moving of works vehicles each morning meaning this really didnít feel much like a campsite.

There is a large bar/function room that appears to be more frequented by locals than guests, but there is dartboard that kept us amused for a while. Toilets & showers etc are OK, not particularly impressive for the price but more than adequate.

The real bonus of this site is of course that it is located in Swanage, one of the best places around and great for walking. We caught the bus from the end of the lane to Corfe and enjoyed a wonderfully meandering walk back via great countryside, very interesting pubs, most notably in Worh and fantastic coastal views, followed by a great Saturday night out in Swanage.

I will not be returning to this site as its overpriced and there are so many better and cheaper sites in and around Swanage that I would much rather return to. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lynnechapman 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in September, we chose a grass pitch for our Motorhome but could not get it level so moved to hard standing. Found the whole site a bit tired and quite noisy at night and early morning. Quite a steep hike to railway station. The whole site could do with a clean up. Shower block quite old fashioned, had to move from one shower to another until could get hot water. I think the price they are charging is high for the facilities. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leebee1 16 reviews from this member

 Receptionist was very helpful and obliging, First impressions of this site were, it was a bit untidy with old cars all around the entrance and reception area.

The loud music playing into the night kept us awake and after a long drive to get there we were very tired.

Despite there being signs everywhere to say dogs must be kept on a lead at all times, it was only our two that were, all the others were not.

We were told that there was a carvery on the Sunday and was looking forward to that, so after a day out we returned at 5. 00, as we entered the bar, the few people that were in there just stared at us, it was like something from a western movie, I expected a shoot out at any moment. We felt like interlopers in a tight nit community. We were then informed the carvery finished at 3. 00, great no tea, luckily we had food in the caravan.

The site shop is open when they feel like it and when my wife saw it open she took the courage to go, the lady running it did not speak a word of English, the stock was very basic. No magazines, newspapers or fresh groceries.

My feelings are that this is more like a travellerís site with vans and pickup trucks moving about most of the time. It was just missing the tarmac smell.

On a positive note, the toilets and shower block were clean but needed updating.

I know it was November when we visited, but for a caravan touring park advertising it is open all year, I did expect better. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzy Bee 4 reviews from this member

 We only stayed here for one night as we live 40 mins away and wanted to come to Swanage for the weekend.

The site is lovely - clean shower blocks.

Staff very friendly, pub lovely and not expensive. Shop - everything you need on the site.

Lovely walk down to the town through the fields and past the steam train.

Great prices too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

 Yes the loos and showers could be cleaner and there was some off season maintenance going on (the new bar will be impressive) but this is still a lovely, warm, friendly campsite. I have now just returned from my third visit and can heartily recommend it to anyone from couple to families wanting a base to explore this beautiful part of England.

There is a lovely casual and relaxed atmosphere to the place, with a wonderful view of the Purbecks. The steam railway is a short (quarter mile) walk down the road and the walk to Swanage, across a few rolling fields takes about 20 minutes. Bring wellies if there has been rain, though. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Herston Caravan & Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2742 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement