Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Swanage > Herston Caravan & Camp Site > Reviews

Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Wash Pond Lane
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3DJ
Tel: 01929 422932
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 36 Reviews
                5/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drjbc 66 reviews from this member

 This is a superb area for walking, and this had one great advantage for us - the only touring site with hook-ups that was open in January. For our 20 we had a hard-standing pitch with its own tap, drain and electricity. The facilities provided are also above average, well heated, with six good sized shower cubicles for each sex. The showers themselves are hot and strong, though with a long lag before the hot comes through. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The position is good for walking. A mile north you reach the popular ridge path to King Harry rocks; half a mile south there's a bus stop with hourly buses between Swanage, Corfe and beyond.

The above perhaps gives an overly rosy impression, though. In January the place had a rather run-down air. The gravel on our 'hard-standing' had sunk into mud, there were deep potholes in the road, some litter had not been collected, and minor vandalism not repaired. Many of the people seemed to be using the site for living accommodation rather than recreation, though that perhaps explains why the site can remain open for us in the depths of winter. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ReviewPerson 1 review from this member

 Visited on a very cold weekend. Along a minor road quite narrow but about 1. 8miles between seafront Swanage and site.

If going to pubs then better to drive than have a very long walk, then come back to on site bar with wood burner fire stove.

Lovely place, well maintained. Fields had been very muddy and soft so were asked to choose one of the Laurel hard pitches with hookup. Shows good management of the site!

Friendly, lovely Bar in swiss chalet style, cosy and nice.

Toilets good and cleaned. Showers good also. Water was warm/tepid from taps but not hot, didn't try showers as it was way too cold though others on site were and seemed fine.

Sunny mornings, clear, walked around and there are all sorts of statics and motorhomes around. In the middle of a valley dip of pleasant hillsides.

I did read older posts and may have been the case way back then, definitely not now, great place and recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redsquirrel85 1 review from this member

 I would like to submit a new review for this site. To be honest I have not been there for a number of years but I understand the reviews previously had let it down. I would now like to share a new review and to let you know things have changed for the good!

The prices have come right down and for a 6 man tent, we pitched for 10 per night. No additional charges. The campsite was quite busy but lots of families enjoying the sun in sunny Swanage.

The biggest improvement is the splitting up of the fields and the new improved toilet/shower facilities.

There is a family field, which is on the hill and has a good view of the hills and railway. However, we were in general camping. Good pitch and we were able to get some nice shade from the trees.

Their new shower blocks are really good. Each one has a shower, toilet & a sink. Very spacious and clean.

Please ignore the previous reviews, they have improved and I for one will be coming back here again! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ravenstrider 1 review from this member

 -Beautiful location, 15-20 min stroll to beach, close to SW Coastpath and walks to Corfe Castle.

-Helpful Gentleman at the Camping check-in.

-Very expensive - have only paid 30 per night once before and that was at a holiday park with Gym & Swimming Pool etc

-Toilet and shower blocks showed lack of respect by users- full of litter, floors badly drained and dirty. Mop outside for cleaning floor but was also filthy, and sitting in bucket of filthy water. However, showers were lovely and warm with a good flow.

- There was dog mess all over the site, including beside our nearest water tap.

-Signs around asking for quiet after 1130, but this was not monitored.

-On the first night there was a loud group of people nearby, who did stop at 1130, but on the second night there was an organised group of Glampers, who partied and played loud music until 0200 in the morning. There was no warden around to enforce a quiet time.

I was very disappointed with the site, which had seemed very promising on arrival.

I would suggest: That campers should be reminded how to behave with respect to others, and that it is not a venue for their own private festival!: That more attention is paid to keeping toilet and shower blocks clean: That the owners should consider their prices with respect to the facilities on offer.

This site has great potential in a lovely part of the country. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Crapple 30 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for Swanage Folk Festival weekend, along with other members of our Morris side. I was booked onto the site by someone else, so hadn't read the reviews - perhaps if I had I would've been forewarned of what to expect!

Positives - 15 minute walk into town, though the first 5 minutes is across fields so take appropriate footwear. Our pitch was level and the hook up worked.

Negatives - on arrival I noticed a board stating live music in the bar on Friday and Saturday night (our pitches were in the area right near the bar). I was told the music would be on until midnight both nights - when I said 'what?!', the lady very sharply said 'well we ARE a holiday park, we have no control over the bar because it's been outsourced to an organisation who runs it and does the events'.

NOWHERE on their website does it say anything about banging loud music on fridays and saturdays! If we'd have known that we'd have re-booked elsewhere. The music was ridiculously loud, and the events seemed only to have the full time residents at them, us tourers were gritting our teeth and waiting for the racket to stop. Also the site actually advertises itself as a Caravan and Campsite, NOT a Holiday Park, so no expectation of evening events. Oh and the laugh is, by Reception (which is next to the Bar)there's a sign that states all music must be stopped by 11. 30, so it's nice and quiet for everyone!

The site itself appears barely maintained, the grass was uncut, the bins were all full to overflowing, the buildings away from the entrance area are really down at heel. The blue portakabin toilets in the camping field were blocked, the areas where the residents live are scruffy. We had an old barbecue and rubbish in the hedge behind our pitch.

The so called 'luxury' showers (as described on the website) are anything but - there are only 2 hooks in each cubicle to hang everything on because you can't leave anything on the floor as it completely floods. One of our party hung all his stuff up, only to have his clothes sprayed by the shower because the heads are so high the water goes over the top of the rail!

The lighting in the toilet and shower room is dismally dark - if you don't use a toilet with one of the gloomy lights above it, you're almost in darkness. On Sunday morning at least 3 of the toilets had no toilet paper in them.

The only washing up facilities are the launderette sinks, which are obviously also used for washing clothes, which is unhygienic and unpleasant.

Finally, we were charged 30 a night, which is the most we have ever paid for a pitch, and we've been holidaying in campervans all round the UK for 8 years!

I think this site needs to decide whether it's a trailer park for residents, with nice loud discos and shouting singers laid on for their entertainment, or a touring site for middle aged people who like to be busy during the day, then have peace and quiet by 10. 30 or so!

Needless to say we've already booked at a different site for next year's festival! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dean Kav 2 reviews from this member

 Got to swanage late due to accident on the motorway so pulled onto this site and got our heads down. Next morning we had a look around to just see what we are going to get for our money if we decide to stay here for the rest of the week, Well nothing really, for the money this site charges you would be far better off staying at one of the big park Denes or alike with pools and clubs. We decided to leave and moved to about 3 mile up the road and stayed there the week at a saving of 10. 00 PER NIGHT. 15. 00 saving a night end july to August.

Swanage is truely lovely just a shame that there are a few sites there that just want to make a greedy quick buck. ALSO there web page does not include any pricing so you have to ring which allways gets alarm bells ringing. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevsterjw 4 reviews from this member

 Good location, but bit run down.

In the shadow of the beautiful Purbeck Hills, but very cramped. First impressions were that a lot of people live here on a semi-permanent basis so it doesn't have the holiday feel about the place. We were put on a tent pitch with hook up, which we were not told about when we booked, it was very sloping and difficult to get to as we had to turn through a row of tree's, tricky with caravan turning circle, easy in just a car.

Not told where anything was on arrival, only one water point as far as I can tell which was a tap above a stagnant 'fire' water trough, not even sure if it was suitable for drinking. Only toilet block was back at reception as other was closed so people frequently 'relieving' themselves in the bushes. Shop on site selling the basics and a bar that stinks of cigarettes.

Campfires allowed, sounds romantic, but when EVERY family on site has one the place stinks and is covered in a fog every evening, also dead patches of ground everywhere from said fires.

The toilet block although run down, was very clean and never had to queue for a shower. Overall its of as a place to sleep, but it is a world away from some sites I have stayed at. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davyboy1 10 reviews from this member

 Quite a busy site but ok, just outside of swanage about 20 minutes the place is a run down on the what they call the electric field and none of the pitches are level, shops good there. S a pub and a take away service the toilets again want updating and not over clean I would not have a shower in there

Swanage is a great place well worth the stay here for, and corfe castle is about 5 miles away and a good walk there and catch the steam train back that is about 10 mins walk from the site overall its worth staying here for the views and the whats close 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikaelacassidy 2 reviews from this member

 I was surprised and pleased to find this site not too busy during Spring Bank Holiday. The campsite has a very relaxed feel to it but also caters for caravans, mobile homes, yurts and log cabins.

It's great to be able to sit around a campfire in the evening (You are politely asked to put out your fire by midnight for obvious safety reasons. )

The toilet and shower facilities are fine and there is a playground next to the bar. Didn't see any washing up facilities but I wash up by the tent!

If you want the bar, shop, wifi etc and friendly staff they are a short stroll away.

Walking distance to Swanage, Herston train station and even Corfe if you walk over the hills.

We will return! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jules9851 10 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site location wise but the site itself unfortunately needs to improve. We booked a week and left early due to the high noise levels and generally run down appearance of the site. Entertainment went on until very late at night. A private function was held on the Saturday and foul language and noise again an issue. Such a shame as the staff are superb. Owner rude when we complained. The other point to mention is that the prices are really high. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Herston Caravan & Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4006 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement