Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Herston Caravan & Camp Site Reviews

Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Wash Pond Lane
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3DJ
Tel: 01929 422932
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 32 Reviews
                5/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 We went during the 1st wk/end of Sept to avoid peak summer crush. The camp was still busy. We did the bell tent glamping option, incl an electric supply, a small table, a lamp, air beds, and a bag each of logs/kindling - only the 1st night's wood was free, had to pay for the 2nd night.

Our late arrival meant checking in at the bar, this was quick, easy and hassle-free. We were told to drive back along the road to the bell tent field, (clearly signposted, we saw it as we drove to check-in) and facilities are close to the glamping field, unfortunately, the showers were locked requiring traipsing to the further ablution block - so we didn't bother as we swam daily and it was a brief stay, it would be annoying if we'd stayed longer. A few glampers around us were a bit rowdy until 10. 30pm-ish then settled down.

Went for a walk around the site, there is a lot of capacity in the other fields, it's easy to understand why some campers don't like this camp during peak season. The ablution block was busy when we were there.

The children played outside the front of the tent, this is also the same area cars drive along, so a bit of a nuisance for everyone to move or be patient.

We never used the bar, shop, or walked into Swanage so not commenting on those.

The camp location is lovely, however, it was the price that dictated our selection. It was the cheapest of the Swanage accommodation options available on the dates needed.

It is unlikely we'd return to this camp because we like glamping and the location. During our brief stay, there was nothing about the camp that stood out - good or bad. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Piplar 1 review from this member

 The perfect campsite!

Good facilities and above all else so friendly and helpful.

We have already booked again for next year!

About a mile to walk into swanage and the best fish and chips up the road - Harlees. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeanno 3 reviews from this member

 The pitches were level and full services which is great. Some areas of the roads need to be finished as very stoney and difficult to walk on. Needs more lighting as some areas are very dark.

Didnt see the child play area no idea where it is so cannot comment. The toilets are combined shower toilet and wash basin which are lovely but did not see any disabled in our area.

Nice bar with entertainment on a couple of nights. Very close to Swanage which is brilliant but narrow roads to get to the campsite.

Overall a very nice site and will go back again, many of the other campers have been going for years and tend to know each other 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Louise 1 review from this member

 The area was lovely and quiet but the site really needs some TLC. Had a lovely new shower block and a very old rickety loo block.

It does appear to be being spruced up. Didn’t use shop or restaurant.

The water taps on the pitch didn’t work. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Loz a 2 reviews from this member

 For us this was a miserable experience. We ran away one night into our three night stay. It was a festival experience without any of the good bits.

I don’t like writing bad reviews, especially when the travel sector is struggling after covid. I gave my feedback privately to the site, and an opportunity to apologise, refund or even just acknowledge my feedback. But no, it was ignored, so here I am.

Cons:

- toilet overflowing with excrement

- a single male toilet for an entire busy field

- no hand washing in either toilet

- no toilet roll and general filth in every toilet

- no map of the park given to find alternative facilities

- densely populated, drab and dismal

- hard standing pitches have a grass patch between them about the size of a large burial plot. Space 50% less than other sites.

- threw open my back door in the morning to be greeted by an adjoining plot’s toilet tent, in use, less than a meter away

- difficult to check in after 5. 30, sent to bar, queued for ages, sent somewhere else

- noise until 1am

- radio noise constantly; not normally a problem but density of people made it so

- site owners give reviewers narky replies saying they’re not truthful. I expect the same, make up your own mind.

Pros:

- great location

- fab walk into Swanage, 15-20 minutes

- lovely security guy and friendly kids helped me on check-in

Punchline:

- Covid secure? Maybe. Cholera secure? Perhaps not.

Recommendations:

- Go elsewhere. There are loads of decent campsites in the area. Don’t rule out Acton or Corfe castle, both are within easy travelling distance of Swanage on a good bus route and steam train. Swanage shuts down early so don’t be put off by the last bus at 2300. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Hollydog13 1 review from this member

 This has to be the worst site I have ever stayed on it was like staying in the middle of a scrap yard

Pitches were surrounded by old vehicles including caravans that were falling apart and occupied by travellers, weeds and uneven grounds on “superior pitches” outlook scrap metal

No restrictions on noise or speed on site

Motorbikes roaring round with children on the back

No security going around checking at any time and the noise was unacceptable from some of the occupants but you felt to unnerved to complain

Toilet blocks unisex and cubicle included shower so if you need just the toilet you had to queue and wait if someone showering

Not clean in cubicles showers thick mould and dirty

Cleaners tried their best with WC cleaning but fighting a losing battle to many people using limited facilities, my husband contracted a stomach bug whilst we were there I’m sure due to lack of cleanliness

We were charged a premium rate to stay in this awful place which was daylight robbery I don’t know how the owners get away with this 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie Trimming 1 review from this member

 This was in the perfect location, but that’s about it! One of the most expensive sites we’ve ever stayed on.

The facilities were overcrowded and dirty … they had absolutely no Covid rules regarding hygiene

The health and safety need to be informed. …. Dogs barking, no privacy between pitches, some people pitching their tents the wrong way, so we could here all there conversations, no one keeping an eye on the place at all…

Too much maintenance work going on in peak season??

Not enough showers/toilets for the amount of campers. Washing up facilities filthy! Won’t be going back unless a big improvement is made.

Feel like we should’ve had a refund for at least one night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Kelsey 2 reviews from this member

 This is the worst site I have ever stayed at. We stayed as a family group on one tent pitch and 2 Motor home pitches. The reception was filled with boxes of recent deliveries and smelt damp.

Our pitch was on a hastily created new field. The tent pitch was covered in active mole hills and was therefore not usable. There were nowhere near enough toilets and showers for the vast number of pitches. There was no hot water on the Friday tea time nor the following morning. Bins were overflowing.

The showers were disgusting with shower curtains that were mould infested. The site is like a shanty town with permanent residents in old decrepit vans. Lots of commercial vehicles and lots of junk just chucked outside the vans.

The site seemed to allow anyone to act as they pleased and we therefore had to endure 3 nights of a group of dads with their kids blasting out crap music and swearing and shouting. There were no wardens monitoring the site.

We will never return to this site and advise others to steer clear unless you like living in squalid conditions in which case it's ideal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jayne2 1 review from this member

 Good location for Swanage and other areas. Lovely town. Campsite very strange. Part touring, part traveller/permanent residents. We aren't a family who are negative and like to loan but we want to write an honest review.

Toilets and showers basic and sometimes clean. Level pitch with gravel and grass which was worn. Electric hook up and water close by on pitch.

Cleaners worked hard daily but the facilities were worn and not cleanable due to their lack of maintenance eg Zip ties to hold the shower head up.

There aren't enough toilets and showers for the number of pitches so queueing was regular for a less than clean shower. The site itself is unfinished and 'rough' in parts eg dirt track at the back of our pitch, open pipes near the toilet blocks, no pipe to rinse caravan toilet at one elsan disposal point.

On arrival, the reception was closed as was the bar area. We couldn't check in only with a man sat outside the bar who gave us brief directions to the pitch. We made an educated guess where we should have been pitching. This wasn't a very welcoming or professional impression so we didn't have confidence in the site from this point.

We tried to check in the morning after and get a site map. No check in/ticket to be displayed and no site information available as 'we are still having work done and information and maps will be available when finished'.

Children's playground was closed. Alot of money each night for what you get and it was disappointing. We aren't fussy and are easily pleased but this site wasn't up to its website, price or our expectations of a touring site.

We had a great week in swanage and we made the very best of our time there for our children, however, we wouldn't visit again as it is now. Maybe in the future it will improve. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Steveo 1 review from this member

 Nice site, friendly staff, clean & well managed, elevated position so can be windy, but generally protected by the surrounding hills.

We're already looking forward to our next visit. 
via mobile


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Herston Caravan & Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Herston Caravan & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder