Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Chingford > Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone Reviews

Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone
Sewardstone Road
Chingford
London   (Browse area)
E4 7RA
Tel: 03000 030 623
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Timpaul63 4 reviews from this member

 We had a really good weekend here and will without a doubt be returning again, the staff were so helpful and the facilities were all very clean and tidy. Like has been mentioned in other reviews, the shower flow is a bit low and with the push button types only gives 15 seconds of flow but a minor criticism really for what is a really well managed site. Access to London and the day travel tickets from the on site shop were cheaper than an Oyster Card, a bargain at 8. 90. If you want to stay near London then this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kareny 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite primarily for its position and easy travel into London.

Friendly and informative greeting prior to being shown to the field primarily for tents. Advised where to pitch but no pre designated pitches which was nice (hate uniformed pitches where you have to pitch within a centimetre of the circumference!)

Great children's park next to the field which our children loved. Facilities were plentiful and clean. We did not have to wait for the showers once despite it being over a weekend in August.

There are a lot of campervans and caravans on this site but to be honest you barely notice them when you are on the tent field

The campsite itself feels rural despite its location-we saw several foxes, ducks/ geese and even went blackberry picking. If you do leave the campsite to go on the woodland walk, don't get caught out like we did. The gate does lock shut and if you do not have the pass code you cannot re-enter- worth checking the pass code number if you are going to leave the campsite on foot via this exit.

We encountered no excessive noise on the campsite and were able to sit outside our tent until late with no interruptions. We found the managers and wardens friendly, polite and helpful

The campsite is a little gem for getting to London- could not be easier. You can purchase travel cards in the reception, with the bus coming every 20 minutes at the entrance. The bus takes you to Walthamstow tube (Victoria line). It takes just under an hour from leaving the campsite to being in central London. The return bus was not as reliable ( waited upto 45 minutes for this) but the bus station does have a little shop on it and toilets so not to bad to wait in). For those camping there is a Tesco express just next to the bus station. Another great idea on this campsite is that a takeaway van comes 3 times per week. We had a chippy tea which was delicious and very inexpensive (16 for 4 meals)- well worth a try

So thanks very much and we will return 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louizebedz 5 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities very good. We will return! We chose this sight as it was close to an Underground station and we wanted to spend a couple of days exploring London. We weren't disappointed! A bus comes into the campsite and takes you straight to Walthamstow Central station which is included in the 8. 90 day travelcard. The site was very busy (very popular!) but we never felt cramped, plenty of room for everyone. :) 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 17 reviews from this member

 Two years ago my wife and I said we might not come back, having found the previously excellent site mostly taken over by static caravans and hardstanding EHU pitches for touring caravans and motorhomes, with tents pushed into one small field. However we wanted to camp with friends who live in London in May 2014 and this site was ideally located.

Actually we came away feeling a bit better. Having visited this site several times from 2007 we've seen it change, not necessarily for the best if you are a tent user. However there are now two tent fields, with a choice of grass pitches with and without EHU. In particular the Scottish couple who were running the site for two of our three days were lovely, very friendly.

As previously reported, this site is excellently located if you want to travel to London or live in London. The 215 bus runs until after midnight, allowing access from Walthamstow tube station.

The facilities are still excellent, with the top block having some of the nicest showers we've ever seen. Water pressure is no better than a domestic shower but the facilities are immaculate. The second block isn't quite as good but it still quite modern, and cleaned several times a day.

The nearest town is Waltham Abbey which has a Co-Op, a street market and Mr. John's butcher is highly recommended. Do take a look at the abbey itself and grounds, there's quite a lot to see. From near the abbey there's a lovely walk through a dragonfly sanctuary which anyone who is reasonably mobile can do, including a hide from which you can view water birds.

Back on the site, you will see rabbits and possibly foxes, especially in the evening. Ducks come when it rains. Ah, rain. Yes, the site does get boggy very quickly when it rains, but the grass and ground also dries quickly.

So, I would say give this site a try. If it's not too busy it can still be a very pleasant place to stay with a tent. If you have a caravan or motorhome it's well set up to cater for you. Many visitors to the site from continental Europe and travelling around in motorhomes. If (like us) you have a tent, they have taken note and there are now two tent fields, some open air and some with trees. There are also 'cocoons' (two person cabins) and four person log cabins. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The High and Lo 24 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night while attending an event at Lee Valley so found the site ideally located for the short drive to this on the Sunday morning.

The site is well maintained and has good facilities. The staff were friendly and informative on arrival directing us us to our pitch. There are two modern toilet blocks, a laundry and washing area. The touring pitches were flat and seem to be mainly hardstanding being reasonably spread out uniformly around the site. There is also small play park for children to play in. The site office has small shop, there is a garage selling further essentials a short walk away and just over a mile away is a large supermarket so plenty of shopping options.

As for the area, you are able to walk onto part of the Lee Valley so can walk as far as you would like. The site is in an ideal location to pick up the features of the Lee Valley such as The Gun Powder Mills and the Country Park. If you want to use the site as a base for getting into London whose sky scrapers you can see in the distance. There is a bus to the local underground and site staff can advise on best options.

The site is in a semi-urban area so the locality is not overly pretty, but the trees and the view over the reservoir belies his. On one point the entrance did have height barriers in place which had to be unlocked by staff to let us in and out. This was explained as a security precaution at the moment while some people had been entering the site that were not desired.

All in all a good campsite with good facilities, a place to stay if you had something you were visiting the Lee Valley for. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miles1966 22 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is brilliant and the wardens are extremely friendly and helpful.

However, we visited the site in winter and during a very rainy period and as such it was very muddy.

The showers are quite poor, in that there is quite a delay before the water flows and the pressure isn't great. The ladies also didn't flow away that well (not sure whether it was something to do with the weather conditions and drainage) and so you were stood in an inch of water whilst drying off.

We were disappointed that the footpath down to the reservoir was closed because of the wet weather conditions.

During the weekend, you can also hear motorbikes racing at a local trading estate apparently, which was also a bit annoying and quite noisy. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenhin 4 reviews from this member

 What an excellent camp site! The camping field was very tidy with toilets, showers and washing up facilities, all lovely and clean.

The reception staff were very helpful and told us where restaurants, shops and places of interest were.

We will definitely return next year, especially as we saw there was a bus going from the site into Walthamstowe, where I believe it is just an underground ride into London. Very useful for going to the theatre or sightseeing.

We would recommend this site to campers and people looking for static caravan rental.

10/10! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pezamb 10 reviews from this member

 At first glance a very nice, conveniently located rural ish site. However. Very noisy, airline traffic and a huge group of hen party girls arriving back at 4am. We also had a tent load of undesirables playing Loud music, drinking heavily, swearing and fighting nearby. Although we mentioned that the wardens keep an eye on them nobody did until the morning when they were thrown off. Which didn't help with our terrifying night and lack of sleep. Not a site for the camping purist. Our indeed for anyone looking for any kind of peace and quiet. Bus to the site was good and we were in central London in les than 40 mins. Toilet facilities etc were of a reasonable standard and the site shop wasn't too bad. But overall shockingly poor. Will never return 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue callis 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights at this site. We had previously stayed at another Lee Valley site - Dobbs Weir - which we liked so thought we would try another Lee Valley site. The Sewardstone site is not a particularly nice site. The area for tents is small and tucked away mostly under trees. Mostly geared up for Motorhomes and caravans - lots of hardstandings. On the plus side travel cards for London can be purchased on site and the bus to the tube comes into the campsite so makes travel into London easy and no need to use your car. Campsite not particularly well run; for example no toilet roll in a morning and bins overflowing. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

 This was one of the easiest sites I've had to find. We used it to have time in London. I don't use sat nav. I sort my own directions out before hand. I'm from up north so it was down m1 junction 6a, onto m25 leave at junction 26 and there you are easy. We pulled up onto the site via a barrier and was met by a very nice couple. They showed us where to set up and off we went.

The site is kept well and tidy. Nice play area for the kids, shower blocks were very clean and loads of hot water. The pitches are all level with 16amp hook ups. Tv signal is excellent. Loads of walks around the site around the lee valley area.

We bought a London day pas which was 8 for adults and free for under 11yr olds. This ticket allows you to go anywhere on the tube, bus or ferry boat. The bus (215) comes every 20 mins and picks you up at the camp site and takes you to the local tube station. Then its up to you where you go. We went everywhere from Buckingham palace to Trafalgar square. This site is a nice site if you want to go to London. I wouldn't use it as my 2 week holiday but still a nice site for a London weekend. Friday to Sunday cost 48 2 adults kids caravan awning and car. Then 8 for your London ticket. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chingford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement