Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Chingford > Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone Reviews

Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone
Sewardstone Road
Chingford
London   (Browse area)
E4 7RA
Tel: 03000 030 623
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sproz 8 reviews from this member

 Superb site, a great find with very easy links to the city, the bus stop is on site which takes you to the tube, travelcards can be bought in the shop, around 13 for 2adults, one 14yr old and a free 10 yr old. (under 11s free)

Site is quiet, countryfied! and managers are very helpful, we arrived BH weekend. Wasn't happy with the allocated pitch as someone had pitched too close so walked around and just found a secluded spot, no problem. Showers ok and clean, site well drained (it rained a lot!) shop ok.

Recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craigeaseman 5 reviews from this member

 A great site if you are visiting London, yes it is as easy as they say to get into Central London!

Buses run till around 11 back to the campsite (but check before you book).

The site itself is spread over two to three fields, the larger field is flatter. The smaller field is on a slope so be carefull where you pitch due to the rain. Under the Oak Tree isn't a good idea in the rain unless you want your tent covered in twigs and tree like things falling in the wind!

The site itself is very clean and well kept, two large toilet and shower blocks around 10 toilets and showers in each. Hot water not a problem any time of day or night, just keep pushing the button! Reception and shop on site selling more than most when it comes to food!

Reception closes over lunch (didn't know this) and you need to leave a 5 cash deposit for the gate secruity key so make sure you check out and get your cash back when reception isn't closed!

Went to the park on Sunday, a great place for family's, picnics, walks, bird watching with or without dogs! Take a look if you want some peace and quiet or a day out with the kids.

Will be returning at some point this year, it's so much cheaper than having a hotel in London and great being in the countryside!

Have Fun! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twowheelsonmywagon 6 reviews from this member

 Facilities excellent, toilet and showers very nicely done and clean. Staff brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Useful little shop on site. We found a Morrisons Supermarket a couple of miles away in Chingford mount, which is on the No.215 bus route.

This site is perfectly situated as an overnight stop for tourers travelling between the UK and the continent.

We stayed for 4 nights and used the site as a base for exploring London, as stated by other reviewers, the No.215 bus stops on the campsite and takes you to Walthamstow Central tube station which is on the end of the Victoria line.

Be careful when heading back from Walthamstow, some buses stop about a mile short of the site for some unknown reason. We found the journey in and out of London a bit tedious, but we don't use public transport often enough to draw a true unbiased comparison.

You can plan travel using the London Transport web site to get an idea of journey times at www.Tfl.Gov.Uk

Car parking is available at Walthamstow near the tube station, also at Seven sisters and Tottenham Hale tube stations. We chose to leave the car on site and take advantage of the travel cards, which at off peak (after 9:30am) cost around 7 for an adult and 2 for under 10's. Under 10's can travel free when accompanied by an adult with a travel card but we found this awkward on the underground as you have to keep passing cards back and forth at the turnstyles to get the kids through. Some turnstyles would not register the card twice, so on later trips we paid the 2 to avoid the hassle. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oops a daisy 5 reviews from this member

 Only stayed here for 2 nights so can not give a full account but from what we saw and used at this site I would definitely return. Security wise there is a card entry to the site and a key for the toilets and showers (refundable deposit of 5 paid for the card and keys).
The staff were very friendly and helpful at check in and then showed us to our pitch which they changed without problems when I asked for a more secluded pitch.

We did not visit the pub but drove past a large Tesco about 2 miles from the site. The site has a small shop which was well stocked with food, sweets and cooking items - again not used but all seemed clean and not over priced.

The toilets and showers were kept clean and to a high standard. Pitches a good size with well kept grounds, bin areas kept tidy and emptied regularly plus recycling facilities. A good childrens play area on site - but not used by us as my daughter is a bit old for that.

There is a nice walk by the reservoir just round the corner from the site which also leads into more of the Lee Valley Park. Laundry room was kept clean and all in working order. The only slight problem (but wasnt a problem for us) was that they only had 1 washing up sink in use for the whole site - I am sure that they will have that sorted out for busier times though. The site shop/reception also had a lot of tourist information and were very helpful with campers who wanted to take a trip into London on the bus/tube. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosemaryp 15 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, so unexpected to turn off the M25 and within 10 minutes to feel like you are in the middle of the countryside. Very clean and well-kept, good toilet and shower facilities and a small shop for all the usual basics. Also laundry facilities which we did not use but looked to be in good working order and a small children's play area.

Would be an excellent base to visit London, with a seasonal bus service which picks you up at the campsite gate and takes you directly to a tube connection. A bit of a walk (20ish minutes along a fairly busy road) to the nearest pub and quite a bit of aircraft noise but considering how near London you are that is probably to be exepected. The Lea Valley has lots to offer with some very good cycle and walking routes.

Would certainly recommend this site and will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nubian 4 reviews from this member

 As a relative newcomer to camping I would not include myself among the most experienced. Nevertheless, from the modest numbers I have experienced so far this must surely be among the best sites!

All staff are extremely helpful and seem to go out of their way to help. The toilets and showers are clean and well maintained with no nasty surprises in sight!

A new childrens play area has recently been built leaving you fully confident in leaving them to explore the site in safety since it is entirely secure and enclosed.

It has a surprisingly tranquil, rural atmosphere for a site so close to London with frequent glimpses of scampering rabbits and regular hoots from tawny owls adding to this effect.

It has virtually every amenity you could ask for and I genuinely struggle to find anything worthy of serious criticism!

Would I return? Absolutely! This place is a must for both visitors to London and for locals like myself who crave the odd spell "away from it all" without having to actual travel any great distance. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janso100 11 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite. Very friendly staff. The shower blocks and toilets are very modern with free showers and water is always hot.plenty of them also.

Very good transport links to visit London with the buses stopping right on the campsite. They sell travel cards inside the camp shop, which is quite small but adiquate and there is a garage 3 mins walk away which sells newspapers.

Only downside is that it is on the Heathrow and luton flight path's but that didn't bother me,but could some people.

It is extremely cheap at 6.75 per person. Also they never asked if you require electric hookup but you could pitch on one. This might have been oversight as I arrived latish on Friday evening. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hongkonguk13 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned after spending the Easter bank holiday at this site.

The site is a good size and very easy to find from the M25. The staff were on hand as soon as we arrived and were so helpful. We were allowed to choose the pitch we wanted, there are electric hook ups all around the edges of the site and the only rule they have is that you leave 6m between each pitch.

The facilities on this site were very clean, and there are more than enough for the size of the site. The showers are a comfortable size and the water is lovely and warm.

Despite being on a flight path there was very little noise at this site, and you certainly wouldn't know you were only down the road from the M25!

Trips to London were incredibly easy from this site and the shop onsite even sells the day travel passes which enable you to travel on the trains, buses and the tube into and around London.

On the whole I would rate this site as excellent and would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Benhur110 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site ! We stayed 4 nights over the heatwave and found the site to be very quiet, extremely clean and tidy and staffed by very friendly and helpful people.

The bus-route to and from London worked extremely well with the bus stop being literally 20 feet from the site entrance barrier, a 35 minute ride to Walthamstow Central station and a 30-45 minute underground ride to central London. Travelcard (bus, train and underground within zones 1-4 all day) 5.40 per adult with kids going free.

The only noise on the site was joy-riders/street racers on the other side of the reservoir late at night. No problems on site though just a slight annoyance particularly over the weekend nights.

Lots to do round and about the area as well.

Will definitely use this site again and cannot recommend enough to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hollow 1 review from this member

 Have just spent two nights here and thought it was a lovely campsite. Small, clean, quiet and friendly. Really lovely for young children - ours had a ball.

The toilet and shower blocks were exceptionally clean. The staff were helpful and friendly.

I would especially recommend this site to those living in East London who want to get away for the weekend. This site is 15 minutes drive from our house but felt like we had really left London! We will definitely be going back - soon! 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chingford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement