Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > London > Site Reviews

Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone
Sewardstone Road
Chingford
London   (Browse area)
E4 7RA
Tel: 0208 529 5689
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 1 March - 31 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 116 reviews from this member

Little seems to have changed since my last visit / review of Jun 15, so to avoid repetition, I would like to generally agree with the other reviews and emphasise the following details:

High standard of customer care and site maintenance.

Bus services from gate are May to Sep only.

With 200 relatively closely spaced pitches plus Pods & Cocoons, site might very well feel somewhat crowded when nearing capacity.

Given we have a ball valve arrangement to fit into our water butt, we had a fully serviced pitch this time (£3. 50 / night supplement). It was nice not to have to carry any water.

High season nightly pitch fee for a family of 4 is very likely to exceed £40 / night. (See website. )

Showers fitted with irritatingly short (15 sec) push buttons.

To sum up: A very good base from which to visit London, but expect big city prices & population density to start here in high season.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markrollings 5 reviews from this member

When you look at the campsite's location on a map you could be forgiven for thinking you'll enjoy a nice quiet break by the lake side. The website boasts of a rural countryside location and even uses the word peaceful.

I'm afraid the reality is quite different. That lake right next door on the map is a reservoir you can't see, or indeed get anywhere near. You can try, as we did, and set off on a walk thinking there'll be access to the lake eventually. We were horribly disappointed that all we could do was walk along a busy road through estates, separated from the water by barbed wire, steel fences and a moat.

From our pitch, the distant hum of traffic was always audible, as were the planes that fley overhead for the whole duration of our visit.

If you're looking for the countryside then this isn't it.

The campsite is well presented and the facilities clean and functional. That's the best that can be said.

Finally, be warned that if you intend arriving after 5pm you'll be expected to spend your first night in the late arrivals area right next to the road. That's inexcusable. If a campsite chooses to offer its facilities in low season then it should provide a proper service.

If you're intending on using this as a base for days or nights out in London there are more rural sites, with better transport links

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 116 reviews from this member

In order to avoid repetition of previous reviews, I would just say that this is a very good site with facilities, levels of maintenance and customer service commensurate with it being 4* rated and add the following observations:

Levels of road traffic noise are surprisingly low, you are more likely to notice aircraft overhead. During our stay the site was only about 1/3 full, but given the number of pitches and the close spacing of pitches, I would guess that internal traffic movements will be significant when the site is full.

Showers (free) are to a very high standard. However firstly, they are fitted with irritatingly short push buttons and secondly, the waste from some cubicles significantly flows under the partition into the next shower. If there ever was a reason to wear flipflops/Crocks in the shower, this is it.

Be aware that during any school/Public holiday period, pitch fee for a family with 2 adults, 2 children, EHU & awning is currently £39 / night. (See their website)

Dog friendly (£2. 00 per night). There is a 'woodland walk' and foot path to Gunpowder Park (Approx 1 ½ miles). It is hard to believe you are this close to central London.

Public transport to central London could not be easier. There are three buses an hour directly from the gate. These will take to to Walthamstow Central Underground, and the total journey time to central London is very approximately one hour.

Other than on site shop, there are no shops within convenient walking distance, but about 1 ½ mile in Chingford direction is everything.

A personal recommendation: Breakfast at either of the green kiosks at High Beach. The one on Cross Roads as on a Sunday morning it is frequented by many bikers and is a great bike show.

To sum up: If you are coming from the North or East of England to visit London it would be hard to imagine a better base.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna Michelle 12 reviews from this member

'Stayed at Lee Valley Caravan Park Sewardstone in March 2015 for 2 weeks. I stayed in a touring caravan on a non serviced hard standing pitch, price was expensive for what you get but I suppose that is because it is close to London. There is just enough room for a van so due to grass area being very muddy I decided not to put up the awning as the ground was too soft. A bit of work could be done to tidy up the site and make it a bit more scenic, behind our caravan was wooden pallets that had been thrown into the hedges. A lot more positives than negatives on this site, the showers/toilet blocks were very clean. The laundry machines was the best I have used so far on a site and worked out the cheapest too. I loved the rabbits that played all over the site and even the fox amused me when it ran off with my bin lid. I have a dog and just out of the bottom gate of the park I could let my dog have a good run off the lead next to the river. The local pubs are not dog friendly so they didn't get my business. Free parking at Chingford train station and the train into London takes 30 mins. All the staff I met was very nice, polite and helpful. I would definitely stop here again

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just spent a night in one of the cocoons on this site.

We had initially wanted to travel in our campervan, but seeing the offer (40% off) decided to use the cocoon instead. It worked out slightly cheaper, at £15 / night.

Regarding the actual site, this seems an excellent place to stay, for a visit to London.

During the summer months, a bus goes from the site entrance straight to a nearby railway station (Walthamstow). At other times the option seemed to have been a 15-20 minute walk to the nearby bus stop, then a bus to the station.

Making some enquiries though, I found that there was plenty of free car parking near the Chingford Station, about 2 miles away from the site. From there, it only takes about half an hour to Liverpool Street.

The cocoons were quite small, especially with the two single camp-beds in position.

We found the camp beds to be rather uncomfortable, a bit wobbly and very squeaky. There are woodland cabins on this site, which have bunk beds and a sofa bed. Maybe the site owners should consider having sofa beds in the cocoons too, or at least in some of them. Hopefully the sofa beds wouldn’t squeak.

The facilities at the site were very clean and seemed well looked after.

The wardens (a married couple) are pleasant and very (x10) helpful. You sense they would do anything to help.

We would have no hesitation in returning.

Just one (maybe petty complaint). We had to return home early, less than 24 hours after arriving, but were told no refunds were possible. We left the site at 11:45 am.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Colinandpete 1 review from this member

We wanted to stay on a London site that was not within the dreaded Low Emission Zone and picked this site at random - we will definitely be coming back again. The staff on site are very friendly and helpful. There has been a lot of very heavy rain so having a slightly sloping tarmac pitch for the motorhome is an absolute blessing. Travel into central London is not quite as simple off season as there is no bus service to the site but once you access the bus or tube system it is an absolute breeze. The site is kept very clean and tidy. My only niggle is the lack of WiFi on site. The mobile phone reception is not good and trying to access the internet via your mobile is frustrating and slow. I understand the site is run by the local authority which would explain why there is no WiFi - having worked for a local authority I know it takes 500 people who know nothing about the site to have a debate about when to think about having a meeting to decide whether or not to vote about having WiFi put in!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PEPSIFARR 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the kids half term, great site. Staff were extremely friendly and made us feel at home from the word go. Site has everything you need for staying around London, easy access to London staff again really helpful on best ways to get in and they also sell travel tickets. The site itself is lovely and well kept, pitches not on top of one another and level with plenty of space. The one little area for improvement are the shower facilities at the entrance, the showers whilst clean and smart looking aren't very effective, that said there is a much better and bigger block close by (We were just to lazy to walk the extra 50m). Would highly recommend this site for those visiting London and will be top of our list when we are down that way again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timpaul63 4 reviews from this member

We had a really good weekend here and will without a doubt be returning again, the staff were so helpful and the facilities were all very clean and tidy. Like has been mentioned in other reviews, the shower flow is a bit low and with the push button types only gives 15 seconds of flow but a minor criticism really for what is a really well managed site. Access to London and the day travel tickets from the on site shop were cheaper than an Oyster Card, a bargain at £8. 90. If you want to stay near London then this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kareny 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite primarily for its position and easy travel into London.

Friendly and informative greeting prior to being shown to the field primarily for tents. Advised where to pitch but no pre designated pitches which was nice (hate uniformed pitches where you have to pitch within a centimetre of the circumference!)

Great children's park next to the field which our children loved. Facilities were plentiful and clean. We did not have to wait for the showers once despite it being over a weekend in August.

There are a lot of campervans and caravans on this site but to be honest you barely notice them when you are on the tent field

The campsite itself feels rural despite its location-we saw several foxes, ducks/ geese and even went blackberry picking. If you do leave the campsite to go on the woodland walk, don't get caught out like we did. The gate does lock shut and if you do not have the pass code you cannot re-enter- worth checking the pass code number if you are going to leave the campsite on foot via this exit.

We encountered no excessive noise on the campsite and were able to sit outside our tent until late with no interruptions. We found the managers and wardens friendly, polite and helpful

The campsite is a little gem for getting to London- could not be easier. You can purchase travel cards in the reception, with the bus coming every 20 minutes at the entrance. The bus takes you to Walthamstow tube (Victoria line). It takes just under an hour from leaving the campsite to being in central London. The return bus was not as reliable ( waited upto 45 minutes for this) but the bus station does have a little shop on it and toilets so not to bad to wait in). For those camping there is a Tesco express just next to the bus station. Another great idea on this campsite is that a takeaway van comes 3 times per week. We had a chippy tea which was delicious and very inexpensive (£16 for 4 meals)- well worth a try

So thanks very much and we will return

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louizebedz 5 reviews from this member

Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities very good. We will return! We chose this sight as it was close to an Underground station and we wanted to spend a couple of days exploring London. We weren't disappointed! A bus comes into the campsite and takes you straight to Walthamstow Central station which is included in the £8. 90 day travelcard. The site was very busy (very popular!) but we never felt cramped, plenty of room for everyone. :)

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019