Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > London > Site Reviews

Lee Valley Campsite Sewardstone
Sewardstone Road
Chingford
London   (Browse area)
E4 7RA
Tel: 0208 529 5689
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 1 March - 31 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 115 reviews from this member

Little seems to have changed since my last visit / review of Jun 15, so to avoid repetition, I would like to generally agree with the other reviews and emphasise the following details:

High standard of customer care and site maintenance.

Bus services from gate are May to Sep only.

With 200 relatively closely spaced pitches plus Pods & Cocoons, site might very well feel somewhat crowded when nearing capacity.

Given we have a ball valve arrangement to fit into our water butt, we had a fully serviced pitch this time (£3. 50 / night supplement). It was nice not to have to carry any water.

High season nightly pitch fee for a family of 4 is very likely to exceed £40 / night. (See website. )

Showers fitted with irritatingly short (15 sec) push buttons.

To sum up: A very good base from which to visit London, but expect big city prices & population density to start here in high season.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markrollings 5 reviews from this member

When you look at the campsite's location on a map you could be forgiven for thinking you'll enjoy a nice quiet break by the lake side. The website boasts of a rural countryside location and even uses the word peaceful.

I'm afraid the reality is quite different. That lake right next door on the map is a reservoir you can't see, or indeed get anywhere near. You can try, as we did, and set off on a walk thinking there'll be access to the lake eventually. We were horribly disappointed that all we could do was walk along a busy road through estates, separated from the water by barbed wire, steel fences and a moat.

From our pitch, the distant hum of traffic was always audible, as were the planes that fley overhead for the whole duration of our visit.

If you're looking for the countryside then this isn't it.

The campsite is well presented and the facilities clean and functional. That's the best that can be said.

Finally, be warned that if you intend arriving after 5pm you'll be expected to spend your first night in the late arrivals area right next to the road. That's inexcusable. If a campsite chooses to offer its facilities in low season then it should provide a proper service.

If you're intending on using this as a base for days or nights out in London there are more rural sites, with better transport links

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 115 reviews from this member

In order to avoid repetition of previous reviews, I would just say that this is a very good site with facilities, levels of maintenance and customer service commensurate with it being 4* rated and add the following observations:

Levels of road traffic noise are surprisingly low, you are more likely to notice aircraft overhead. During our stay the site was only about 1/3 full, but given the number of pitches and the close spacing of pitches, I would guess that internal traffic movements will be significant when the site is full.

Showers (free) are to a very high standard. However firstly, they are fitted with irritatingly short push buttons and secondly, the waste from some cubicles significantly flows under the partition into the next shower. If there ever was a reason to wear flipflops/Crocks in the shower, this is it.

Be aware that during any school/Public holiday period, pitch fee for a family with 2 adults, 2 children, EHU & awning is currently £39 / night. (See their website)

Dog friendly (£2. 00 per night). There is a 'woodland walk' and foot path to Gunpowder Park (Approx 1 ½ miles). It is hard to believe you are this close to central London.

Public transport to central London could not be easier. There are three buses an hour directly from the gate. These will take to to Walthamstow Central Underground, and the total journey time to central London is very approximately one hour.

Other than on site shop, there are no shops within convenient walking distance, but about 1 ½ mile in Chingford direction is everything.

A personal recommendation: Breakfast at either of the green kiosks at High Beach. The one on Cross Roads as on a Sunday morning it is frequented by many bikers and is a great bike show.

To sum up: If you are coming from the North or East of England to visit London it would be hard to imagine a better base.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna Michelle 12 reviews from this member

'Stayed at Lee Valley Caravan Park Sewardstone in March 2015 for 2 weeks. I stayed in a touring caravan on a non serviced hard standing pitch, price was expensive for what you get but I suppose that is because it is close to London. There is just enough room for a van so due to grass area being very muddy I decided not to put up the awning as the ground was too soft. A bit of work could be done to tidy up the site and make it a bit more scenic, behind our caravan was wooden pallets that had been thrown into the hedges. A lot more positives than negatives on this site, the showers/toilet blocks were very clean. The laundry machines was the best I have used so far on a site and worked out the cheapest too. I loved the rabbits that played all over the site and even the fox amused me when it ran off with my bin lid. I have a dog and just out of the bottom gate of the park I could let my dog have a good run off the lead next to the river. The local pubs are not dog friendly so they didn't get my business. Free parking at Chingford train station and the train into London takes 30 mins. All the staff I met was very nice, polite and helpful. I would definitely stop here again

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just spent a night in one of the cocoons on this site.

We had initially wanted to travel in our campervan, but seeing the offer (40% off) decided to use the cocoon instead. It worked out slightly cheaper, at £15 / night.

Regarding the actual site, this seems an excellent place to stay, for a visit to London.

During the summer months, a bus goes from the site entrance straight to a nearby railway station (Walthamstow). At other times the option seemed to have been a 15-20 minute walk to the nearby bus stop, then a bus to the station.

Making some enquiries though, I found that there was plenty of free car parking near the Chingford Station, about 2 miles away from the site. From there, it only takes about half an hour to Liverpool Street.

The cocoons were quite small, especially with the two single camp-beds in position.

We found the camp beds to be rather uncomfortable, a bit wobbly and very squeaky. There are woodland cabins on this site, which have bunk beds and a sofa bed. Maybe the site owners should consider having sofa beds in the cocoons too, or at least in some of them. Hopefully the sofa beds wouldn’t squeak.

The facilities at the site were very clean and seemed well looked after.

The wardens (a married couple) are pleasant and very (x10) helpful. You sense they would do anything to help.

We would have no hesitation in returning.

Just one (maybe petty complaint). We had to return home early, less than 24 hours after arriving, but were told no refunds were possible. We left the site at 11:45 am.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Colinandpete 1 review from this member

We wanted to stay on a London site that was not within the dreaded Low Emission Zone and picked this site at random - we will definitely be coming back again. The staff on site are very friendly and helpful. There has been a lot of very heavy rain so having a slightly sloping tarmac pitch for the motorhome is an absolute blessing. Travel into central London is not quite as simple off season as there is no bus service to the site but once you access the bus or tube system it is an absolute breeze. The site is kept very clean and tidy. My only niggle is the lack of WiFi on site. The mobile phone reception is not good and trying to access the internet via your mobile is frustrating and slow. I understand the site is run by the local authority which would explain why there is no WiFi - having worked for a local authority I know it takes 500 people who know nothing about the site to have a debate about when to think about having a meeting to decide whether or not to vote about having WiFi put in!

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in London   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0859