Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porthtowan Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Porthtowan Tourist Park > Reviews

Porthtowan Tourist Park
Mile Hill
Porthtowan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 8TY
Tel: 01209 890256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GillianOMeara 1 review from this member

 Just had an excellent week on this site. Friendly owners, very clean and well kept site. Cars not allowed on site after 11 pm and gates open again at 8am creating a quiet environment. Shop on site is stocked with everything you need on a daily basis like fresh milk, butter etc and also carries tent supplies and gas.

Showers are always warm no matter what time of the day you go and the toilets are checked regularly. The wetsuit wash is really useful, as is the washing machines, dryers and the clothes dryer.

There is plenty of interesting places to visit from Porthtowan - we love visiting the Lizard, Cape Cornwall, St Ives and Truro. We spend many a sunny day on Gwithian Beach, Porthtowan and Crantock and regularly call at Trevance Cove in St Agnes for a drink.

Would highly recommend this campsite and its location. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nealgardner 9 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Porthtowan and we had a lovely time. The site is laid out very well and there is plenty of space between pitches. We opted for a 'super-pitch' as we prefer the convenience of the water / waste facility. Our 7 year old loved his freedom on site, the children's play area was popular, as was the games room (2 table tennis tables, with the option to hire the equipment).

In the games room there is a well stocked information area, with leaflets for all the key local attractions and a book-exchange to help while away the balmy evenings (unfortunately it rained for most of our holiday) :-(

The toilet block was always clean and it was nice to see the other users cleaning the cubicles after they used them (mop & disinfectant supplied).

There's a secure dog walking enclosure - where you can let your pooches run off their energy without the fear of them running off.

A takeaway van visits weekly on a Tuesday evening and was kept busy with a steady stream of customers.

The site went very quiet from about 1030 pm after the older children finished their chasing and screaming games, but even this didn't detract from our holiday.

We were so impressed with our stay, we've already booked to return next summer for 3 weeks and are really looking forward to it.

Thank you to the owners for a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newtonuk 1 review from this member

 Absolutely cracking site which is kept very clean and very tidy. The 'rules' seem a little onerous at first, but you soon appreciate no scooters and bikes whizzing around and folks seem to respect them. It does make for a pleasant experience after all. The play area and field is great for the kids and we've only seen our youngest when he's wanted something to eat.

Looking forward to the chip van turning up tonight and we're going to explore an alternative route down to the beach for some lunch at the highly rated Blue Bar in the village a little later today.

I think the best indication of how good a site is, is to ask if you would come back or recommend it to friends. Well, the answer is yes to both. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleepyol 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a fortnight in August 2015. The site is probably one of the best that we have stayed at. The pitches are well marked out and compared to some, the pitches are massive. The site is also well broken up with established hedges and borders, so it feels quite private without people overlooking each other. The owners are helpful when asked a question, but aren't really ones for small talk. You can walk from the site to porthtowan beach, but it's a long way if carting beach gear and its either on steep roads with no pavement, or down a steep zig zag track. We walked it once and then drove on subsequent days!

The facilities at the site are good and are kept clean. Although only 4 showers in the bathroom, we never really had to queue for too long. There is a small games room with 2 table tennis tables. This did tend to attract some moderately noisy groups of teenagers in the evening, but it wasn't too intrusive and they respected the 11:00 o'clock rule. However, if we were pitched nearer to the clubhouse, this might have been more of a problem.

There is a small general store in porthtowan, or a larger tesco store in Redruth (around a 10, I ute drive away). The site itself has a small shop, but this is only really good for bread and milk in a morning. They will also get you a daily newspaper is you pre-order.

If returning to the area, we would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TandB 9 reviews from this member

 Well laid out, clean, nice facilities, useful little shop and not far from the beach. Matches what it claims in the brochure. There is even a freecycle spot where you can leave equipment you don't need for someone else to use; thanks for the sunlounger/campbeds! You have to stick to the rules about pitching and parking but at least it makes the site look tidy. We booked for 5 nights and stayed for 9. Definitely worth another visit! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AandJ 19 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Porthtowan Tourist Park in July. It is a beautifully kept site with very clean and tidy facilities, and has a quality feel throughout. The pitches are all level and very generous, not like another big site close by that we had stayed at previously. The on-site shop keeps most of the basics you might need, but you are not far from many supermarkets anyway just along the main A30. A good location for lots of places too. We never did manage to catch Olive's Garden open, which was a shame. My only criticism and it's the only one really, is the super expensive Wi-fi. Nowadays it is a must have (for my wife's Facebook etc anyway). Apart from that, it is spot on. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kyeates 1 review from this member

 We spent three weeks in July touring Cornwall and this was our favourite camp site. The pitches were perfectly level and of a good size. The spacious layout of the site meant everyone had easy access to the gravel roadway which limited walking through wet grass on rainy days and the hedges gave privacy and shelter without making the pitches too dark. The facilities were modern and immaculately clean and I was particularly impressed by the thoughtful attention to detail, graciousness and helpfulness of the owners. We had only intended to spend one night in the area but, in our experience, the site was by far the most comfortable and best value for money so we used the easy access to the A30 to explore further afield during the day and returned to the camp site for a further three nights. Porthtowan is a lovely beach but the only negative is that it is not within walking distance for children, especially as there is no footpath but the roads are wider than many we experienced and so driving in this area was more relaxing. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkeygirl 3 reviews from this member

 This site is a popular site and we can see why for some reasons, but not a site for us. It is a very clean campsite and everything is kept picturesque. On arrival you are told your pitch number and told where to pitch your tent and how to park your vehicle, then given a piece of paper with this on to confirm. The pitches are quite small and we struggled for room for our cooking, barbeque and seating area as we have a six man tent. The only area left was in front of the tent but this was right next to the road that runs through the site and also meant nowhere to play games as your not in a field. Also as everyone is pitching in the same position, we where pitching on wet mud which smelt and was squelching underfoot under the groundsheet and tent as the week got wetter.

The toilets and showers where always clean but often had to queue. Also the lighting was on a timer (I did ask one day if they could be turned on and told no, it was a timer) and on dark days if came back and had a shower before the rush you where showering in the dark.

The site has quite a lot of rules, but these are not really adhered to and held as we had a few days of a group of children running round shouting lots quite late and most nights we had dogs barking in the night.

The shop stocks a varied variety of things (lots of sweets and biscuits) but no fresh things bar the usual milk, clotted cream (local), eggs bacon and bit of ham but all Happy Shopper. There is fresh herbs though you can help yourself too. However there are 2 fantastic farm shops within 10 mins ( 1 on the road just past the cycle hire and the other in Wheal Rose, Etheringtons, that are both great and highly recommend. You cant freeze your freezer blocks but can hire them.

The site has gates that are locked from 11pm till 8am, husband wanted to go fishing early one morning and couldn't as gates locked.

We like to cycle and walk and not be in our vehicle much, the coast to coast path cycle route is 5 mins away and great for all ages.

You can walk to the beach but it is down the main road with not a lot of pavement and blind bends and we found not very safe with children. In Porthtowan you can pick up the walking routes along the coast and can walk for miles.

There is a great bar and restaurant in Portowan called Blue, great food and a good local cider. Healeys Cider Farm isn't far to visit.

Clean, pleasant site but not a site we would go back too. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blkf1974 1 review from this member

 Wow. Just wow. What a great site, a real gem. Friendly owners and staff, the site is well set out and immaculately clean. Shower rooms have constant piping hot water. Toilets spotless, camp shop was nicely stocked with all the essentials and the visiting fish/chip van (on tuesdays) was a real treat. Had a great play area for the kids, which was clean, secure and well looked after. A real nice, clean, friendly and most of all relaxing site. It was a genuine pleasure to stay at this site 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gump1975 6 reviews from this member

 Once again, amazing. Having not returned for a couple of years due to work and family commitments, the site is as lovely as ever. The added addition of a refined restaurant next door is a super addition along with extra hard standing pitches and site wifi. The site surroundings have really flourished over the past couple of years, providing beautiful boarders between the different sections of the site - allowing you to feel relaxed in peaceful pitches that are not overlooked by all the other campers. The site owners service continues to be second to none. My son lost he most treasured teddy bear on the last day. They searched high and low, put out notices and then returned the said bear without a moments hesitation to us at home.

A wonderful site - yet to be beaten. It really does offer everything the modern camper needs. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Porthtowan Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Porthtowan Tourist Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Porthtowan Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement