Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porthtowan Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Porthtowan Tourist Park > Reviews

Porthtowan Tourist Park
Mile Hill
Porthtowan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 8TY
Tel: 01209 890256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AandJ 19 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site, well worth a visit, big pitches, though some slightly sloping, very keenly priced too and well situated. The facilities are older, but are very well kept, don't let that put you off, we always seemed to see somebody cleaning. The car show at Powderham Castle is excellent, a great day out. The round-robin, steam train, ferry trip into Dartmouth is great, free parking all day at the old period station too. Stoke Gabriel is very pretty, but you couldn't park a moped there during a summer's evening. If you are up for it, a walk down would be a better idea. The pub at the end of the road, Mason's Arms? is a good alternative, genuine two for one offers, I had a mixed grill, and it was huge! Would I stay here again? definitely yes. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidandjunemuir 25 reviews from this member

 This is a great little campsite. We discovered it a few years ago, and we were pleased to go back again this year. It is really well run, has nice modern wash/loo facilities (showers free), a games room with two table tennis tables, a shop open twice a day for milk etc and freezer blocks (20p a go), and a range of tourist information. It is well located in the middle of the north Cornwall coast, not far from the A30, just north of Porthtowan. It is level throughout, and the pitches are generous in size. There is a small children play area. Most recently, there is a cafe next door, open lunch-times through to around 5pm in September (when we visited) but longer hours during the peak holiday times. Really nice little place, which you can talk into straight from the campsite. It is an easy journey into Truro, and there is a reasonable swimming pool on the road into town, as part of Truro College -- useful for rainy days. The bus from Newquay to St Ives goes right past the campsite, so you can walk out on the coastal path (about ten minutes walk to the coast from the campsite) and get a bus back. You can also drive to a lot of places in Cornwall from the campsite, within an hour. So it is a pretty useful central base. This is a genuine family-run campsite, run by people who really seem to enjoy running it. It is also not expensive; in late September we paid 10 a night for car, tent and two adults. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely week at Porthtowan - our first holiday in our rather leaky caravan.

Very glad we chose the hard standing as absolutely bucketed it down the first night and woke up to see our neighbours on the grass wading across standing water.

The park was pretty full, but generally very peaceful with kids playing happily at the play area most evenings until about 10pm. Our 9 year old was very happy, as made lots of friends and had to be dragged in every night. If you've not got kids or got smaller ones, might be an idea to be away from the playground if you want it a little quieter in the evening.

Facilities were very clean, but you'd need to be up a little earlier in the school holidays to beat the queue.

We didn't venture to the beach at Porthtowan, as drove down the first evening and something was on and parking is quite tight and pricey. Too far to be able to walk from the site and there was no path.

The beach at the next village of Portreath was lovely and we found free parking on the road.

Make sure if you are going to Flambards, ask at the desk as they have discount voucher.

Chips from the visiting van on Tuesday were nice, but allow time to order - the arrived at 5. 30, but our order wasn't ready until 6. 00 - too late for our 15 month old.

Also Pasties from the bakers at Portreath were superb! Highly recommend the ham and cheese one. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harv41 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from 10 night stay at Porthtowan. Lovely quiet site. We had a choice of near the play area or away from it and a had a nice quiet corner. Nice level pitch with generous distance between neighbouring pitches. All facilities including Toilets / Showers etc very clean however occasionally there was a queue for the loos and wash hand basins and dish washing sinks but nothing too bad. Ice blocks are provided at a 1 refundable deposit and 20p per day. On paper I thought this was a bit off as most camp sites provide a free freezing facility for your own blocks however having used the system here it worked very well with plenty of blocks available and no concerns about getting your own blocks back or them going missing. Site also in a good position, 1 mile from Porthtowan Beach and a mere 6 from Perranporth. I am happy to recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peterpimperton 2 reviews from this member

 What can we say. This site is by far the best I have been too. The owners cannot do enough for you and the two new wardens they have employed for this year are superb. The pitches are enormous and the grass is cut as soon as a unit leaves. Great toilet, shop, laundry, games room, tea rooms and dog walking area.

This was our first time visiting the area as we have friends living in Porthtowan and it won't be the last. Anyone visiting Cornwall and especially Porthtowan you have got to book in at this site. You won't regret it. We will certainly be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ah well 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights during our touring vacation in South West. We loved it here. There is a games room with 2 table tennis tables. Plus a room where you can lend swap or buy books. The walk to the nice beach is 1. 5 mile mostly down hill.

The pitches are very spacious and the view is beautiful.

Toilet and showers are kept very clean. Nice staff too. There is a tea garden which we didn't visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CORN04 1 review from this member

 Superb site ! We've been coming to this gem of a site every summer since we got our caravan in 2008.

The park is very well laid out with very large pitches. Toilet/shower block, utility room with washer, dryer, spinner, iron and board and washing up room - all spotlessly clean and excellently maintained. Pitches are mown as soon as they are vacated, ready for the next occupant. The site has hedges around and within to provide shelter.

There was a new games room for 2012 with 2 table tennis tables and a separate area with tourist information - again constructed to a very high standard. There is also a good sized field at the side of the children's play area where kids can play games.

Very friendly, helpful staff and there were 2 new wardens in 2012 who were great.

This is a quiet but very friendly site that has regular holiday makers who come back year after year - it's a real home from home and we love it.

So much so that we're going twice this year.

Can't wait ! A brilliant site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lulupoots 1 review from this member

 Just returned from another holiday at Porthtowan Tourist Park, as per usual site very clean and tidy and new games room containing two table tennis tables and library area. Small toilet block containing 4 toilets and 4 showers which are always spotlessly clean but often have to queue at busy times.

There is a no noise policy between 11 and 7, but have found some inconsiderate campers/youngsters do not comply. Owner often walks around to assure all is quiet, but some seem to have learnt to appear quiet but then re-assemble a short time later.

The site is located outside the village, within walking distance to beach but only if you only take the minimum as steep and long hill back to site! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graemep@btconnect.c 5 reviews from this member

 Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Well laid out and pitches very level.

Excellent facilities, very clean toilets, showers and washing up room. Although only 4 showers in each we never had to queue more than a couple of minutes, if at all. Also the showers had plenty of hot water and enough room in each cubicle to keep your clothes dry and get changed comfortably!

Small shop, but has basic essentials. Site is a little way out of the village so not in walking distance of any pubs, shops or beach, but that wasn't a problem for us.

It was a good base, well positioned for exploring the sites and beaches of west Cornwall. Not far from town of Redruth with it's facilities and shops (incl a Tesco).

The children's play area is great for kids, but was noisy and so not so great if you were pitched near it and want a peaceful evening or have young children trying to sleep.

Infact older kids were making noise until quite late and this would be the only fault we found (if you prefer quieter evenings ask not to be near the play area). 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dairac 2 reviews from this member

 This site was absolutely fantastic. We stayed there at the end of May. It is as another reviewer stated, spotless. The whole area is extremely well maintained.

The owners are friendly and helpful

There is a play area for children

And a newly built games room with a library.

There is a little dog walk area on the site and plenty of walks off site should you need it.

It is quite central for sight seeing the area.

We, without a shadow of doubt, would stay there again, My only disappointment was that we didn;t have the time to stay longer. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Porthtowan Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Porthtowan Tourist Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Porthtowan Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement