Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porthtowan Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Porthtowan Tourist Park > Reviews

Porthtowan Tourist Park
Mile Hill
Porthtowan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 8TY
Tel: 01209 890256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mattbeck 2 reviews from this member

 What can I say 'Fantastic' Owners were very friendly and wendy and her hubby (Maintenance/cleaning) were above and beyond. Everything was immaculate as they were always out and about cleaning, emptying bins etc and nothing was too much trouble.

Excellent toilets/showers, used the washing machine regularly - very easy. We were supposed to only stay a week but decided to stay on for the two as the site was central for most areas.

Playground is central and ideal as caters for all. Plenty of room on pitches, handy on site shop, dog walks, fantastic central location, stunning surrounding areas, overall best site we have visited ! We will definitely be going back  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The cartwrights 5 reviews from this member

 This site is very well maintained and very clean. It is in a fantastic location and the kids loved the play area. Unfortunately for us we prefer it to be a little quieter in the evening. We were pitched opposite the play area which was used by children until after 10 in the evening. On some evenings teenagers congregated there after the games room was closed at 10.30. The site is very open plan and could benefit from some hedging but there is some planting, so this may not be a problem in a couple of years. We would not stay here again but if you are after a vibrant, exceptionally clean site, this is the one for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Acmadhouse 1 review from this member

 This has to be the cleanest site we have ever been to! It is a lovely, fairly small site which has a good play area which our 5yr loved (perhaps not much for toddlers though). We'd requested to be in view of the play area and this request was honoured making our stay very easy and enjoyable (despite occasional rain).

Although a small toilet and washing up block, I did not have to queue once and as everything was so clean, all visitors seem to respect this and make an effort to maintain it (ie No food left in sinks and showers mopped out after use!).

We will visit this site again as we couldn't fault it and a good location for exploring. It is a rather long walk to the beach for a 5yr old and parents carrying 'stuff' and so you tend to need to drive and pay for parking. Porthtowen beach is nicer for families on the right hand side with good rockpools and the Blue bar does great food and take out coffee. We also visited Gwithian beach (National Trust Godrevy car park)which is also lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davina30 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, fantastic owners, fantastic town!

I'm not normally a lover of marked out pitches but at Porthtowan Tourist Park it really works. The campsite is fantastic, so well maintained, excellent facilities and shop with wonderful owners.

For families you can camp close to the playground and ball game area so you can easily see your children and relax at the same time - those without children need not be near the playground and can camp in peace!

Fantastic atmosphere of regular visitors to Porthtowan tourist park all with only positive comments!

Great location for sight seeing in Cornwall with the local beach only a couple of miles away and utterly beautiful! Loads and loads to do couldn't compliment the site and owners enough. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gump1975 6 reviews from this member

 Amazing. We've been coming back to this site for years, and every year we are still more impressed. A definite must. If you want peace and quiet this is a must for you.

Owners are delightful - helpful, friendly and welcoming. Pitches are huge. Plenty of space between units, lovely well maintained country feel with lots of hedges, grassy banks, flower boarders etc. Well stocked shop open at just the right times.

Toilet block is second to none. Modern, super,super clean, lots of hot water etc. We've been in peak and out of season and the cleanliness never wavers - always 100%. Brand new playground which is brilliant for full age range of children, Noise curfew in peak season is stuck too tightly - good news with young children. Good drainage as well and the owners are always working to improve drive ways to the units.

The surrounding area is great - lots of lovely beaches and walks. Chapel Porth beach is a must along with St Agnes bakery pasties and cakes.

We've been campers for years and years, are well travelled, and still have to beat this whole package. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J4CNF 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed 9 days at this park, which we found to be really nice. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome by the owner and also her staff. The pitches are very generous in size and the facilities were very good including a wetsuit wash area. The shower block is modern and VERY clean with good family rooms. There is a play area and grass area for the children and a room with two table-tennis tables in.

The shop sells the basics but there are plenty of supermarkets within a 10 minute drive of the site, also a food van visits on a Wednesday evening which we had a very good 'fish and chip' meal from! Porthtowan beach is a mile away which could be walked to but with all our beach gear we drove!

We enjoyed our stay at the site and would recommend it and return to again. Thanks for a great base for our 2008 Cornish Experience! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ro55ifumi 1 review from this member

 Quailty family run site large pitches, excellent flat layout, minimal entertainment but hey who needs a bar when you can take your own.
Excellent facilities and well run, dog walking area, large play area.
Excellent beach just down the road.
Lots of attractions to visit within the area from Padstow to St Ives.
We are returning for our 3 year which speaks volumes of the site.
Will meet with people who have attended the same weeks for the last 5 years.
Have looked at other sites and this is definitely the best in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pepsi118 4 reviews from this member

 I said I would return to this site and again had a great time, a couple of slightchanges this year (small tarmacked area where muddy road used to be and some of the large trees have been cut back giving more light to shaded areas)
As previous visits the children love the open space of the play area and played with other children until dark.

Clean , quiet, and very well managed.Great!

 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pepsi118 4 reviews from this member

 If you are looking to escape from all the commercial money driven sites then this is it. It is a lovely clean tidy site that is level and well spaced. The facilities although small are spotless.This wasthethirdvisit of2006 tothis siteandwill be back again.I have 2 young children (5 & 8) and both enjoy it here. there is no bar or club and a small play area is in the centre of the main field where mainly families are pitched.
This isa verywell managed and friendlysitewhich isclose togreat surfingbeachesand will definitelybeon thetop ofmycampingsites fora longtime.

 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merry Terrier 16 reviews from this member

 What a great family site!

If you're looking for a small to medium sized - its got 50 pitches - good quality, shelteredlevel site that'sonly a mile fromthe beach and very reasonably priced then this is it.

Helpful and welcoming owner managers who apparently have improved this site a lot already and plan to do more. Newly refurbished amenity block - very pleasant and clean. Laundry, family rooms, wetsuit facility etc. Handy little shop with good choice of useful stuff. Icebrick hire facility, with deep frozen icebricks (some sites only manage to half freeze them before hiring them back out). Dog walk. Games room with table tennis tables.

The site has been very carefully laid out, with the park divided into severalareas of differing natures eg someare more caravan-oriented/childfree than others. Lots of mature trees and hedges aroundto provide shelter from the North Cornish winds. The main field where we were was very well designed, with a really goodoutdoor play area in the middle with various climbing frames etc in the middle. Because of the size of this field, most tents were set well back from this area but parents could still keep an eye on their children. Excellent.

Not for families who want a swimming pool, club house etc but brilliant if your children want to run and play with others in safety.

I don't have any small children any more but plan to return to this site because it is so pleasant, wellrun and handy for the beach at Porthtowan.  


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Porthtowan Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Porthtowan Tourist Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Porthtowan Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3590 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement