Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Porthtowan Tourist Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Porthtowan Tourist Park
Mile Hill
Porthtowan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 8TY
Tel: 01209 890256
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 1st April Until 13th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (23) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janice Scott 1 review from this member

What a gem! The owners are so friendly and the site /facilities spotlessly clean. We have met so many nice people we are booked for next year to meet up again. Looking forward to seeing you all then.

Janice Tom and Pat

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taffsgal 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here a few times last year. It is s lovely, well maintained site with level pitches.

The facilities, toilets, showers, dishwashing facilities are kept very clean, even during peak season. It is close to Porthtowan village and beach, which is a bonus. We will definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend the site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs mouse 9 reviews from this member

Porthtowan tourist park is a great site. The owners are helpful, friendly and welcoming offering us a drink of cold squash on arrival while checking in. The pitches are the largest we've stayed on, they are level and well marked, there are shrubs and trees to provide privacy and the layout of the site is lovely. There is a barrier at the entrance with a keyfob for access and it is locked from 11pm to 8am with space to park in the entrance area if needed. The site is so quiet during the night and with low level lighting it makes for a good nights sleep. There s a good children's play area in the centre of the park, there is also a games room with a table tennis table and also an information area with leaflets and games and books to borrow. The facilities block is kept very clean and although not large I never saw anyone having to wait for a shower. The showers are push button style but with good pressure and always warm. There are privacy cubicles for a wash, much nicer than a row of sinks in full view of everyone. There are also two family/disabled rooms and a laundry and pot wash room. The site is within walking distance of Porthtowan but it is downhill along a fairly busy road with no pavements and obviously steep uphill on the return, despite this we walked in several times. The Unicorn pub in the village did lovely meals. Lots of places to visit in the area and being Cornwall, nowhere is very far to travel. Will certainly return to the site if we return to this area and cannot praise it enough.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Snowbird 7 reviews from this member

An absolute gem that is hard to beat. This peaceful and friendly site is easily one of the best, if not THE best we have visited in 40 years of caravanning and camping. Immaculately kept attractive grounds, very generous level pitches at reasonable prices, spotless and modern toilet/shower facilities with two family/disabled bathrooms, laundry room, fast and efficient wifi (paid for) spacious games room, small shop selling reasonably priced essentials, well planned and maintained play area and lots of other nice and/or useful touches such as a wet suit wash area, free cycle and recycle points, the dog walk is a secluded fenced off grassed paddock so you can let your dog have a proper run about off the lead. The thing that really makes this site so special however are the owners Andrew and Angie who go more than the extra mile to ensure you have a great holiday and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. They work really hard to keep standards high, take pride in what they do and are completely dedicated to making Porthtowan Tourist Park the very best site in the area. We cannot wait to return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GillianOMeara 1 review from this member

Just had an excellent week on this site. Friendly owners, very clean and well kept site. Cars not allowed on site after 11 pm and gates open again at 8am creating a quiet environment. Shop on site is stocked with everything you need on a daily basis like fresh milk, butter etc and also carries tent supplies and gas.

Showers are always warm no matter what time of the day you go and the toilets are checked regularly. The wetsuit wash is really useful, as is the washing machines, dryers and the clothes dryer.

There is plenty of interesting places to visit from Porthtowan - we love visiting the Lizard, Cape Cornwall, St Ives and Truro. We spend many a sunny day on Gwithian Beach, Porthtowan and Crantock and regularly call at Trevance Cove in St Agnes for a drink.

Would highly recommend this campsite and its location.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nealgardner 8 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Porthtowan and we had a lovely time. The site is laid out very well and there is plenty of space between pitches. We opted for a 'super-pitch' as we prefer the convenience of the water / waste facility. Our 7 year old loved his freedom on site, the children's play area was popular, as was the games room (2 table tennis tables, with the option to hire the equipment).

In the games room there is a well stocked information area, with leaflets for all the key local attractions and a book-exchange to help while away the balmy evenings (unfortunately it rained for most of our holiday) :-(

The toilet block was always clean and it was nice to see the other users cleaning the cubicles after they used them (mop & disinfectant supplied).

There's a secure dog walking enclosure - where you can let your pooches run off their energy without the fear of them running off.

A takeaway van visits weekly on a Tuesday evening and was kept busy with a steady stream of customers.

The site went very quiet from about 1030 pm after the older children finished their chasing and screaming games, but even this didn't detract from our holiday.

We were so impressed with our stay, we've already booked to return next summer for 3 weeks and are really looking forward to it.

Thank you to the owners for a lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newtonuk 1 review from this member

Absolutely cracking site which is kept very clean and very tidy. The 'rules' seem a little onerous at first, but you soon appreciate no scooters and bikes whizzing around and folks seem to respect them. It does make for a pleasant experience after all. The play area and field is great for the kids and we've only seen our youngest when he's wanted something to eat.

Looking forward to the chip van turning up tonight and we're going to explore an alternative route down to the beach for some lunch at the highly rated Blue Bar in the village a little later today.

I think the best indication of how good a site is, is to ask if you would come back or recommend it to friends. Well, the answer is yes to both.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sleepyol 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for a fortnight in August 2015. The site is probably one of the best that we have stayed at. The pitches are well marked out and compared to some, the pitches are massive. The site is also well broken up with established hedges and borders, so it feels quite private without people overlooking each other. The owners are helpful when asked a question, but aren't really ones for small talk. You can walk from the site to porthtowan beach, but it's a long way if carting beach gear and its either on steep roads with no pavement, or down a steep zig zag track. We walked it once and then drove on subsequent days!

The facilities at the site are good and are kept clean. Although only 4 showers in the bathroom, we never really had to queue for too long. There is a small games room with 2 table tennis tables. This did tend to attract some moderately noisy groups of teenagers in the evening, but it wasn't too intrusive and they respected the 11:00 o'clock rule. However, if we were pitched nearer to the clubhouse, this might have been more of a problem.

There is a small general store in porthtowan, or a larger tesco store in Redruth (around a 10, I ute drive away). The site itself has a small shop, but this is only really good for bread and milk in a morning. They will also get you a daily newspaper is you pre-order.

If returning to the area, we would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TandB 8 reviews from this member

Well laid out, clean, nice facilities, useful little shop and not far from the beach. Matches what it claims in the brochure. There is even a freecycle spot where you can leave equipment you don't need for someone else to use; thanks for the sunlounger/campbeds! You have to stick to the rules about pitching and parking but at least it makes the site look tidy. We booked for 5 nights and stayed for 9. Definitely worth another visit!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AandJ 9 reviews from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Porthtowan Tourist Park in July. It is a beautifully kept site with very clean and tidy facilities, and has a quality feel throughout. The pitches are all level and very generous, not like another big site close by that we had stayed at previously. The on-site shop keeps most of the basics you might need, but you are not far from many supermarkets anyway just along the main A30. A good location for lots of places too. We never did manage to catch Olive's Garden open, which was a shame. My only criticism and it's the only one really, is the super expensive Wi-fi. Nowadays it is a must have (for my wife's Facebook etc anyway). Apart from that, it is spot on.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019