Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hatchers Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Hatchers Farm Reviews

Hatchers Farm
The Street
Preston
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 1ED
Tel: 07873 597295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 27 March --20 Sept 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 36 Reviews
                10/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: CraigNess 2 reviews from this member

 I can highly recommend this campsite. We visited as a socially distanced group of friends with year 5 children who had not seen each other for 12 weeks.

The facilities were clean, and very regularly cleaned in line with current regulations. Hand sanitiser was ready available as well as wipes in the toilets.

There are fridges and freezers for campers to use, which was great as it was so hot during our stay. Free veg was left for the campers to help themselves to, and fresh eggs and other fruit and veg were available to purchase.

The pitches were very generous, and the trees gave lovely shade. The owners were very helpful and accommodating to juggle things for us so we could all come together.

Would definitely recommend and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mummy2147 2 reviews from this member

 My 4th time visiting this site over a few years and I have to say it's a lovely place, the pitches are a nice size,

The owners are lovely and the toilet block was spotless(was cleaned near enough every hour during the day), wonderful to be able to use a fridge/freezer and has usb/plug charging points too.

We had older children with us but for younger children there is nothing for them to do and we had a few issues of a group with children running around early in morning making noise (being kids) and a baby crying in the night 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: EJR1501 3 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site, a working farm with hens and geese. The generously-sized pitches are in the picturesque cherry orchard.

The facilities are very clean, the people are nice, and you get to buy freshly-laid eggs for breakfast!

All within striking distance of Margate and Canterbury, and with a pub across the road.

We couldn't ask for more. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Tracyruss 1 review from this member

 Been to this site many times and went with a friend as both retired as well as fishing as mates.

This site is as good as it gets for me. Toilets showers fridge charging sockets farms vegetables these are what they grow and from there chickens.

Tents only and small camper vans vws Camping between either plum trees or cherry trees And plenty of space.

This site needs to be tried and comments received.

Brilliant many thanks. Russ. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Samha58759xhv 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site with all the fruit trees around you. We picked and ate the cherries and plums around the site.

The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and the owners very friendly. Lots of pub walks nearby but we didn't really need to go anywhere.

With huge pitches amongst the cherry trees and a fire pit in the evening we didn't want to leave. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tina Blanchard 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, won't repeat what others have already said, just have enough to agree with them

I was concerned that there were only 2 showers and 2 toilets. But we never had to queue.

However, if it got busier, I'm not sure if, this would be the case !

So much to see and do nearby, several zoo's, lovely towns and beaches plus castles etc etc

We visited ramsgate, sandwich and deal.

Deal ( on recommendation from the framers wife ) was a lovely quaint town with miles of pebbled beach.

Local pub food was lovely.

Had a lovely, chilled stay, in the heatwave, but the orchards did provide a nice lot of shelter

Loved the geese and the chickens

Excellent campsite kept so clean we hope, to return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Emhava 3 reviews from this member

 Our second time. Very nice camping site, large plots, under trees. Very clean toilets, regularly cleaned.

Friendly and very helpful owners. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leftcrankz 1 review from this member

 Hatcher's Farm was a welcome final stay on the St Augustine Camino pilgrimage trail, from Rochester Cathedral to the new shrine of St Augustine in Ramsgate.

As a solo backpacker, the campsite was ideally suited for my needs and budget.

The pitch amongst the plum trees was perfect for me, scenic, quiet and private, but reassuringly close to the farm amenities. The communal facilities were well maintained and the working farm atmosphere is charming. The shop in the village was only a short walk away, allowing me to resupply for my final days walk.

The owner John, and his wife, truly went above and beyond to make me feel a welcomed guest, and I unreservedly recommend Hatchers Farm to all fellow passing pilgrims. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eveningshift 2 reviews from this member

 If you want to go camping in Kent, Hatchers Farm has to be on your shortlist.

We arrived at the site, and John met us. He told us we were the only ones on site, and we could have whatever pitch we liked.

Now, when I say 'pitch', it's not a small rectangle in a field. This is a field with rows of cherry trees. The pitches run the full width of the field, in between the rows. I'm sure when they're busy, this might change, but this is what we had the use of.

The bathrooms are immaculate, almost everything you don't know you've forgotten is available (washing liquid and such), and they have no issue with you charging your phone or powerbank. There are also fridges for you to put your milk and such in, so they don't go off.

The Half Moon and Seven Stars is a 60-second walk away, and does excellent food. There is a family butcher another minute away, and a convenience store another two minutes after that.

All in all, it's a lovely site, with no restrictions placed upon us. We will definitely be going back, as it was so in-the-middle-of-nowhere, but handy for most of Kent.

Thanks for a great weekend! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allan family 1 review from this member

 We spent a wonderful weekend camping at Hatchers farm as a group of 5 families. We stayed in a lovely spot at the end of the cherry orchard and felt like we had our own private space. It was the first weekend of the school holidays, so peak time, however the layout of the campsite meant it did not feel busy.

There was sometimes a queue for the toilets and showers (hence the 9/10 score on facilities) however bearing in mind the peak time, this would not not put us off returning. The facilities were always spotless. Plenty of space in the fridge freezers and also good washing up sinks. There was always hot water.

The free veg and honesty box for eggs etc was a lovely touch - delicious corn on the cob to cook on our fire. Fire pits are scattered around to use for free and there are also some BBQ grills for the fire to borrow for free too. Dogs are welcome.

Some lovely walks from the campsite, step outside the site and you are seconds walk from a lovely pub with good food and a beer garden, corner shop, butchers and garden centre! A perfect small, friendly, peaceful campsite, we'll definitely return! 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hatchers Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hatchers Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hatchers Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement