Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hatchers Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Hatchers Farm Reviews

Hatchers Farm
The Street
Preston
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 1ED
Tel: 07873 597295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 27 March --20 Sept 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 36 Reviews
                10/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IngridCat 1 review from this member

 We visited Hatchers Farm as a group of three families and had a wonderful weekend. The site is a working farm with a central access track flanked by a plum orchard and cherry orchard. The pitches are strips of short, soft grass between the fruit trees.

We were greeted by John who showed us round and we ended up pitching at the far end of the cherry orchard which was perfect for a larger group. Although we had had trouble finding a site for the weekend due to relatively short notice, Hatchers Farm was quiet with only 3 or 4 other tents some distance away.

The children had loads of space to roam free, climb trees and the grass strips are perfect for games of football. The orchard setting was just idyllic, surrounded by talll hedges which give it a real quiet and secluded character.

There is a small toilet and shower block which was beautifully clean, with hot showers, hand wash and even soft loo roll! There are two fridges and free veg to help yourself to.

John the owner was so laid back and friendly, letting us pick cherries from the trees, introducing the chickens and geese to the children and generally lending a chilled out vibe to the place.

The site is well placed for the Kent coast and we had a great day out in Margate. There seemed to be loads of nice looking pubs in the area and a farm butchers right next to the site which we didn't get the chance to use.

Can't recommend this site highly enough and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BillyOcean VWCali 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Hatchers Farm for 2 nights in April 2017 in our campervan.

Idyllic site, very relaxed setting with long and level pitches (around 10 in total) each located between rows of cherry trees. We 'hired' a fire basket and a big basket logs for open fires both nights - bliss!

Toilets and showers are in a converted ban and are kept clean.

A lovely vibe about this place, owners on-site and very friendly.

Perfect for striking distance into Canterbury, Broadstairs and the Kent coast.

We will definitely return and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boroughonian 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, really pleasant. Some really nice touches from the owners, such as the constant radio playing in the shower/toilet area, quite comforting. Bits of fruit and veg left out for 'sharing', corn husks runner beans, marrows, plums.

Unfortunately I missed the cherries, I will plan my trip better next year!

John and Tanya cannot do enough for you, you can tell that they are taking this seriously, not always the case with farm sites I find.

Great butchers in the village, I kept buying their 'three amigos' burger, forgot to ask why three Amigos. Nice sausages too. Village shop is adequate and fairly priced.

All in all a 10 from me. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KewGardener 12 reviews from this member

 This could be my perfect site. The pitches are flat, large and spacious with the fruit trees forming green rooms for shelter and privacy. Probably the nicest pitch I've ever stayed on. The owner puts out home grown fruit and veg for the campers to share. There's a pub just across the road and access to the coast and Canterbury is easy. There are clean showers, loos and washing up sinks with plenty of hot water. The problem for me is a large groups was accepted and there was drunken shouting and laughter well into the early hours rather spoiled an otherwise lovely weekend camp for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campleaderlara 1 review from this member

 My friends and I were kindly accepted on this campsite after being turned down by many places due to the fact that we were a large group of 18 year olds. We found that the owners were very welcoming and accommodating, whilst giving all campers the ability to do their own thing unless help was needed.

The campsite is lovely and each pitch, located between the rows of the orchards, offers lots of space. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the site and loaned a fire pit which the owner had reserved for us. Although in a rural setting, the facilities aren't basic. Instead they are well kept and up to date, with separate shower and toilet cubicles for privacy. There are also two washing up stations and a communal fridge-freezer and large fridge for campers to store their food and drink. On our walk down towards these facilities there are also chickens which offer great interest, especially for children and those that like animals. Plums and other produce are available freely by the fridge area and an honesty box for the purchase of certain items such as chutneys and fresh eggs.

Whilst washing up one of the owners suggested places locally that we could go such as a near by woodland walk and the local butcher for bbq supplies. The walk was lovely and offered an adventure like aspect to our trip.

All fellow campers were very friendly and the general atmosphere on site was brilliant and very laid back. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hatchers Farm and have already started planning our return within less than a week of leaving! I would definitely recommend this campsite and cannot express enough how grateful myself and my friends are to have been allowed to stay there.

Thanks for giving us a chance and having faith in the youth of today! We loved it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nosha35 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights, What a gem, a wonderful campsite, HUGE pitches set in orchards, the biggest we have seen so far, immaculate toilets and showers, very friendly hosts, we felt very much at home staying here, we were made to feel very welcome, the local shop was only a 5 minutes walk away and the prices was very reasonable. We didn`t try the local pub or butchers but we will next time.

We went to broadstairs (viking bay) which is only about a 30 minutes drive away, lovely beach, and had fish and chips from the high street (star of the sea chip shop) and walked to the beach to eat it, best fish and chips we have had in a long time.

Wingham wildlife park was a great day out too, only about 3 miles away from the campsite.

We are looking forward to camping at hatchers farm again, for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KentCat 1 review from this member

 My husband and I visited Hatcher's Farm with friends of ours for a weekend. The site is beauitful, very picturesque camping amongst the cherry orchard. The cherries are coming into season and it was an added bonus to be able to pick them straight from the tree.

It was really easy to book via email and John who run's the site was incredibly friendly and helpful. The site has one communal block with two toilets, two showers and two washing up points. They also have electric and usb phone charging points. The communal facilities were very clean, some of the best I've seen and whilst not the most powerful of showers there was always hot water.

The farm is at the edge of a village making it a short walk to the local farm shop, butchers and pub. We didn't go to the pub but I can vouch for the butchers, in particular their mint marinaded chicken legs.

A simple camepsite perfect if you're content to spend an evening sat around an open fire. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick85 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite on a farm with very large pitches set in orchards - the trees separating the pitches gave some privacy and allowed parking next to your tent. On arrival we were greeted by the owners, shown our pitch and offered a fire pit and logs (which we took). The facilities - two very good showers with hot water, two toilets and a urinal for men, two washing up sinks with hot water and a fridge freezer - looked brand new and were kept spotless throughout the weekend. The owners were lovely, gave great advice on what to see and even gave us a bunch of freshly-picked carrots on our last day!

Over the weekend we: visited Margate and thoroughly enjoyed the Turner Contemporary (although it may not be to everyone's taste); had a great morning in Whitstable / Tankerton Beach, followed a superb roast at The Tyler's Kiln pub a couple of miles away and then a walk round Canterbury Cathedral; went on a very nice walk from Broadstairs to Joss Bay, explored Sandwich and then Richborough Roman Fort & Amphitheatre. All of which were only 20-30 mins drive away.

Also had a very good pints at the village pub which was two minutes walk from the campsite. Unfortunately we didn't make it to the local butchers but plan to next time. There's also a garden centre next door but we didn't go there either. Overall we'd highly recommend Hatchers Farm for exploring East Kent! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Izzy1459 1 review from this member

 Wow.

Absolutely fantastic is as previous reviews say. Brand new toilets, brilliant owners, fantastic camping in fantastic grounds between trees very peaceful and within 2 minutes of pub but did not use, fire pits and wood to purchase very cheap. Fridge freezer to use and usb points, washing up facilities with liquid and cloths plus much more. If your happy to not have ehu then this farm is a must.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay and will be back soon.

Russell. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chapmans 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent May Bank holiday at Hatchers Farm. What a lovely campsite. We were in amongst the cherry trees which were in full blossom. The owners have gone to great length with the site. Toilets and showers are brand new and spotless Campfires at night and dawn chorus of birds in the morning. We will be back again. Also lovely pub 50 yards away. Marc Sharon and Frankie 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hatchers Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hatchers Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hatchers Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1285 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement