Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Waltham Cross > Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bulls Cross Ride
Waltham Cross
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN7 5HS
Tel: 01992 620604
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whittle123 1 review from this member

 Very helpful & friendly owners who squeezed me & son in with a tent over August 14 bank holiday week, after I had cocked up the on line booking. Quiet site, easy to find, pleasantly sheltered by trees, nearby motorway noise barely noticeable. Shower block modern and always very clean. Lovely countryside nearby but really convenient for Waltham Cross station, then 30 minutes into Liverpool Street. Off peak train card covers underground and river services. Plenty of shops and supermarkets near to site. Best food and friendly atmosphere at the Plough, 10 minutes away at Crews Hill. Had an excellent week's stay and would recommend to anyone. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charlieboy2608 8 reviews from this member

 Been coming here a few times during the winter for a quiet weekend away. A stones throw from the M25 and great for visiting the city. Quite a small site with a play area for the kids but nicely spaced out so never feel on top of your neightbours.

Great facilities, plenty of hot water, friendly wardens and close to good shopping business parks.

A reasonable carvery pub on the A10, five minutes away by car for that first evening when you don't want to cook ;-) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy... 2 reviews from this member

 We spent the night at Theobalds Park at short notice to try out our new caravan. The wardens were great on the phone and welcomed us to the site even though we didn't arrive until late in the afternoon.

The site is fairly small and has a combination of hard standing and grass pitches with and without electricity. We had a hard standing pitch.

There is an excellent toilet and wash block with impeccably clean facilities. There's around 1/2 dozen of each, toilets, showers and private wash cubicles. There's also a small play area for the kids and a small shop that provides a few essential items.

As usual for a Camping and Caravanning Club site it was secured by barriers and had an 11pm noise curfew. We had friends to visit and they had no problem with being allowed access and there is a visitors parking area.

The access from the M25 was easy with just a short journey from the motorway. There's a few speed humps on the way in and a couple of narrow roads but nothing too major to navigate. You can faintly hear the M25 overnight and it's not completely silent. However the noise wasn't enough to be a problem.

This is a small park with excellent clean facilities. There's not much on site but if you just want a base to stay or a quiet getaway this site is highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Bag 5 reviews from this member

 Just left theobald campsite where we stayed for 7 nights on our visit to London. As other reviewers have said it is immaculately kept and fab facilities. However there are no ball games allowed. The toilet block is all closed at the same time for an hour and a half, 1100 to 1230. My daughter was mid shower and was asked to leave. Now rules are rules and that's understandable however theobalds need to lighten up a little. Perhaps close male facilities for a clean and then the female ones for cleaning? Must be difficult for families in a tent with small children. The bins are only located at entrance to the campsite and there are no recycling facilities.

The noise is apparent from the m25 but you do get used to it. We travelled to London via turkey st and preferred this to the waltham cross option as you don't have to pay for parking on nearby side street and is a zone less on your oyster card.

Please be aware of the large speed bumps on the approach to site. Fellow touring camper wrecked his jockey wheel and we experienced some unwelcome contact noises. Also lee valley is great for safe family cycling but the route there is tricky and busy. If you turn right on exiting campsite you can get access to a cycle route that only involves 2 tricky junctions. The pied bull pub does fabulous food and very family friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

 A well looked after campsite, NOW with friendlier staff members. The one couple as been removed.

Yes its nice to see this campsite finding a smile again. Still needs to find that friendly family feeling and atmosphere but over all ok.

Toilet an showers are clean with plenty of hot water. The surrounding area does let the place down a little as you would expect with being on the M25 belt!

Over all I'll give this place a 7/10 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

 Newly designed one way around the site making it very safe. Friendly Wardens at Theobalds with brilliant immaculate showers and toilet facilities again recently added. Went just after the Olympic period so plenty of room. Small shop for essentials on site. Hard to find with map and Sat Nav tell you rightly you are travelling off road when you get there. Some good dog walks into the land of the De Vere hotels Theobalds Park and the site office gives a leaflet outlining many more along the New River and also to the local pub The Pied Bull.

Very many places and Parks to Visit, Capel Manor, Myddleton Gardens both outstanding for their flora. Forty Hall with free admission and large grounds to walk around. Whitebebbs Park, Trent Park Hilly fields. The list goes on. An oasis on the NW of London and so easy to get into the City. Many pubs around serving lunch and Mc Donalds and toby carveries near by. No need to say we had a great time! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rarebear224 5 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stop over to Norfolk as we were travelling from the South Coast. I did ring beforehand to make sure they had space and we arrived quite late in the day. The manager was very helpful and said just to pick a convenient space as we were only staying the night.

Toilets were new, very clean and tidy. Only facility we used really. Doors very heavy to get in and out though, which made it difficult for our 7yo to get in on her own. We didn't get a map of the site on arrival and subsequently couldn't find the water points in the dark! Also very expensive for one night at 26 pounds. Wouldn't be able to stay for a fortnight due to costs.

Nice site layout and clean and tidy. Road not too much of an issue but you are aware of it. Road from motorway has some very large speed humps which are almost impossible to not bump the caravan on even at 5pmh. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kcok 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for the first time with friends over the Bank Holiday. Speedy book-in, pre-noon also welcome as chance of rain was forecast so didn't want to pitch in the rain.

Shown to grass site and allowed to pitch front to front with our friends which was nice.

Site is lovely, with small play area in the middle, a couple of walks into the woods, and a few from outside the site round the canals/lakes via Pubs.

Toilet block excellent, as new. Only problem was cleaning 11am-12. 30pm. Miss your early morning slot, or on day or departure and it's a long wait.

Couple on the reception helpful, at a push but seemed a bit 'off' the weekend we were there.

Shop could do with expansion, to offer other food stuffs. Managed to buy milk, but only 4 eggs Sunday morning at 8. 30am when the shop opened, and that was it.

Freezer full of ice lollies may be better with sausages, burgers and hash browns!

I didn't think the M25 noise would be a problem, but it is a constant drone 24/7, and even the A10 which is closer turned into a race track on Sunday night. Too noisy for a week, but fine for a long weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

 We booked this a bit last minute, and I was rather sceptical as this was the only C&CC club site within a couple of hours from home that still had availability for the bank holiday weekend. However, we were very pleasantly surprised!

The site is situated up a lane just off the busy A10, and while we could hear the noise from the M25, it never became an issue. Once on site, the reception staff were extremely helpful, and were able to site us right next to our in-laws who came along in their motor home.

The toilet/washing up block is exceptionally clean! In addition, the chemical toilet disposal is inside and has hand washing facilities other sites could learn a lot from this! The Reception sells the odd basic bits but there is a Sainsburys, Morrisons and Tescos all close by.

We cycled to the Lee Valley Park, and what a surprise! We stumbled upon a beautiful stretch of canal, where we watched the canal boats go through the various locks, and stopped for a well deserved beer at the YHA. Passed the Olympic white water arena on the way home and overall had a smashing day, with lots of flat cycling for the kids. If for no other reason we would definitely return to Theobalds Park. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 3 nights at this site, which was our first visit. It was a very well located site for us as we were going to Wembley for the R. L. Challenge cup final.

Check in was very quick and efficient and the young couple who dealt with us were very friendly and helpful. We were taken onto the park and were allowed to choose our own hard standing pitch and then shown where the various facilities were.

The toilet block appeared comparatively new and is excellent. As mentioned by other reviewers there is some noise from the nearby M25 but it did not bother us at all.

On the Friday we went to Camden, which is only 12 miles away and we had a fantastic day there, I have never seen so many food stalls in my life. It is well worth a visit.

I would recommend this site to anyone who is visiting London and using their caravan or tent etc. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Waltham Cross      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3460 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement