Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Waltham Cross > Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bulls Cross Ride
Waltham Cross
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN7 5HS
Tel: 01992 620604
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 41 to 49                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sarahjane&jason 29 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week before moving onto somerset and I can honestly say we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Considering how close it is to the m25 you hear hardly any noise at all and the wild life was a real bonus, every morning we were greeted by squirrels and bunnies and several bats in the evening.
As previously mentioned the toilets are prefab but are very clean and we didnt find them an issue.
An ideal base for visiting London and we will defenate return 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harwoody 11 reviews from this member

 This site offers a great location, just off the motorway network & ideal for exploring all the attractions of London. A really friendly site makes you feel at 'home' straight away. Only one drawback, if you have anyone that sleeps in the bedroom annex of the awning, they will probably be kept awake by the constant motorway 'drone' of the M25. This could also be a problem if you have a tent. In a caravan, the noise can hardly be heard. This is a small site, offering good value for money for the area. Average facilities & you have to make your own entertainment as there are not many things for the kids to do. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Esprit 2 reviews from this member

 We live local to this site and visit regularly through the season. Having two boys with lots of energy we find that the open areas in the centre of this site are great for ball games. The facilities are adequate and if you like a lot of space around you get a pitch down the bottom end of the site where it seems to be less busy.
The local chinese delivers to this site which can be useful if you can't be bothered to cook one evening. Through the woods at the far end of the site you can walk out and follow the river Lee navigation, but remember you are not allowed to fish here for perch and pike(nudge nudge/wink wink).
Overall we really look forward to setting of on a friday night for a weekend at Theobalds Park. 


Reviewer: Paulonthepc 1 review from this member

 July 2005
I'm really glad we didn't let the previous review put us off from visiting this lovely site. Having read it we expected the worst, but were extremely pleased with the standards of the site throughout. The staff were welcoming and warm, always had a smile and some time to chat, were very knowledgeable about the area and places we could visit locally.

The showers and toilet blocks were perfectly adaquate, exceptionally clean and the washing up facilities were of an equally high standard.

We took our 2 Jack Russells with us who were intrigued and excited by the 'Watership Down' appearance of hundreds of rabbits and a few squirrels mid-afternoon. The rabbits didn't bat an eyelid at them.

The Scottish family next door with the 3 extremely well behaved children were a welcome addition to the weekend, with smiles whenever we passed and in spite of the rain on the Sunday afternoon, kept the atmosphere of our part of the site very happy.

Looking forward to returning soon, Paul & Steve 


Reviewer: Andyl 5 reviews from this member

 June 2005
I have just returned from a five-day camping break at Theobalds Park. Campers be-ware but Caravaners may enjoy it more. My family and the group of friends we were with all agree it was horrible and here are some of the reasons: - The toilet block was of the pre-fab type and were very seedy compared to other C&C sites. The cubicles were so small that if you had long legs or were slightly larger than average this could have been very uncomfortable. The showers were some kind of throw back from the Second World War, again tiny cubicles that never allowed you enough space to wash under your arms. There was no hot or cold choice you got what came out of the spray located above your head (pointed straight down about two inches from the wall with no adjustment). Unfortunately for me I never saw any hot water at all during my stay (apart from when washing up) although others in my party did. The two totally inadequate washing up sinks were in an area so small that two people filled it and any drying up needed to be done outside. Strangely enough the clothes washing facility was palatial by comparison but as far as I could tell no one used it. While on the subject of hot water it was supplied by the type of water heater that granny used to have in her bathroom, I think there was probably about eight in total.

The field was clean and tidy. To summarise we had a great time but ror a C&C site this was well below par.

P.S. The hum of the M25 was so far down on the list of annoying things it doesn’t even get a mention, although I could tell the make of the cars from there engine noise. Also way down the list, shutting the complete toilet block for an hour and a half of cleaning and the over strict camp warden. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: laurahj 6 reviews from this member

 April 2004
Nice site, little oasis on the outskirts of London.
We used this site as a base to visit the sites of our capital. Good rail links. Good clean, warm shower and toilet blocks that never seemed over busy (prefab constuction). Friendly site wardens. Good sized pitches.
Would visit again as a touring base. 


Reviewer: Sue Skinner 2 reviews from this member

 April 2003
We use this site when we are visiting London but there are lots of interesting places locally as well.
It is a typical camping and caravanning club site with the normal facilities although they are in portacabins not permanent buildings.
You can walk to Turkey street station, takes about 20 mins, and travel on a over ground train. Some people take their cars to the tube at Cockfosters. Either station is within the travel card region.
Take a torch if you are walking back to the site at night, the lane has no street lights.
As well as the main camping field, there are smaller quieter hideaway areas but watch out for the rabbits! 


  Confirmed Booking
Reviewer: Ratty 259 reviews from this member

 May 2003
A very pleasant site just 5 minutes from the M25 although this created a constant hum of traffic in the background, but after a few minutes you just switch off to it. The site itself is large with many pitches and electric hook-ups. I was disappointed that the Warden seemed to insist on putting all the units that needed electric right on top of each other. I agree with the all the above comments although the kids play area was a bit sparse with just a slide and two swings.

I was most upset by the lack of hot water in the showers, I went to have a shower at about 2pm on the Sunday, when most people were out and the showers in general had not been used for a while, and there was no hot water at all. The facilities were cleaned regularly and generally well maintained.

There are plenty of waste water disposal points, although one of them did not drain well at all and resulted in there being a bit of a swamp where people had poured their waste down the drain, for it to all overflow.

The area has everything you need close by with Enfield being a 5-minute drive away and the A10 with numerous retail parks is no distance at all. There is Lee Valley Country Park a junction down the M25 and there are many footpaths and nice walks from the site, so no need to drive anywhere for a wander.

All in all this is quite local for me and I would come back again for a local weekend away. 


Reviewer: dolly 3 reviews from this member

 Easter 2002
Spent Easter 2002 at Theobalds Park a Camping&Caravan site. Such a nice place considering it is virtually in the heart of the M25 ! but truthfully it was a real pleasure. A nice old pub down the road serving good food, loos and showers fine. There was a large room for meets that the holiday site managers arranged a quiz on easter sunday in. Large open field where you could also get into the edges away from it all or be at the centre of things. Nice childrens play area right in the centre but field large enough for this not to be a problem with at all. Also just down the road a pretty little garden centre. A cinema complex and lots of shops and eaterieswere a short drive away. All in all a brilliant site 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 49     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Waltham Cross      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3292 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement