Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Waltham Cross > Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bulls Cross Ride
Waltham Cross
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN7 5HS
Tel: 01992 620604
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mefifi 4 reviews from this member

 I have just come back after 2 nights at Theobalds Park in a tent.

I live about 45mins from the site, but just fancied getting away for a few nights with my child and newphews.

The facilities were excellent - new and clean block that were never busy and mostly clean. They are cleaned 11-12. 30 daily, so by 10am they need a good clean! Always had hot water and toilet paper.

There are roads in the site that are all one-way with a 5mph limit, but most vehicles sped so it was a case of yelling out to the kids to get out and stand right back.

The play area was good and right in the middle of the site. Reasonable amount for them to do. There was also some woodland that was nice.

The pitch itself was level but full of stone and a total pain to pitch. I have hard ground pegs which were not going through. I did a bit of 'digging' and it was just riddled with stones. I have never experienced so many stones under grass before.

The worse thing though was the noise. This is a seriously noisy site. The loud traffic noise of the M25 was incredible. However, it did drown out the noise from the 2 night party that was occurring somewhere very close to the site. Very frustrating.

This is not a peaceful site. However, if there was some way to stop the noise from the M25 this would be pretty ideal! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 15 reviews from this member

 This is an lovely site that has clearly had a lot of money spent on it. The toilets, showers, pot wash and chemical disposal point are all brand new and the site has new fencing throughout.

One criticism I have of the facilities are, they get very hot inside with the slightest hint of sun. The doors are on a self closing arm which doesn't really allow any air flow.

The site assistants were brilliant and they gave us the choice of pitches when we arrived.

The ground is lovely until you get down around four inches deep, then it becomes very rocky and difficult to use. This is probably the worst ground I have ever pitched a tent on, make sure you take rock rock pegs, you will need them.

Although there are several well placed water points around the site, the only bins are up at the site entrance. It is a long and lonely walk from the bottom of the site to the top when laden with bin bags.

The children's play ground is good, but my children spent more time in the wooded area making camps.

The M25 is very audible 24/7 but you do get used to it. The dog walk on site is good, but there are plenty of walks in close proximity.

There a number of supermarkets close by, but nothing that isn't a car drive away, this includes any attractions. I can recommend Whitewebbs Motor Museum which is approximately 1. 5 miles away from site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jack69 1 review from this member

 We chose this site as it was only half an hour away from home and we wanted to try out our new camping equipment. We were pleased with our choice. Lovely site, helpful staff and fabulous refurbished amenities. Good clean warm and spacious toilets and showers. The site catered for everyone. The only two slight negatives was the close proximity to the M25 which created a continuous drone. However I believe that helped us sleep well for the two nights we were there! And the dog walk area seemed a little hazardous to me. There were old rusty fencing and barbed wire lying on the forest floor. As you can see I am being picky and would definitely return to this site and would heartily recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robertb174 16 reviews from this member

 This site is superbly situated for access onto central London. Cockforsters tube station is about 15minutes drive away or alternatively a short drive to a main line station will get you into Liverpool Street within 30 minutes.

This site is about 5 minutes from J25 of the M25 and whilst previous reviews have mentioned road noise, I must say it did not bother us. Yes you can hear the motorway if listening for it, but if not you don't tend to notice it.

The site staff were very friendly and obliging on arrival pointing out where everything was and getting us quickly to our pitch. The only downside of the hardstanding pitch was that I bent 4 rock pegs trying to put my awning up because the sub base was very hard. I am sure that this will improve as they get more use and it loosens up a bit.

The site has clearly undergone a lot of refurbishment in recent month. There are new hard standings, new roads, car park, barriers and there is also a superb new amenities block. The toilets are clean, spacious, warm and boast a good number of showers. There is a family room (which I used to shower with kids) and it has toilet, sink, shower, baby changing facilities as well as a shower seat for less able guests.

Nearby is Crews Hill with plenty of garden nurseries and Wildwoods which is a fish shop where kids can stroke the Koi Carp. The King and Tinker pub nearby has superb food as well as a great childs playground. Also about 20-30 minutes away is Greens Farm Riding School if you are into Horse Riding or simply want to try. Lessons for all abilities are catered for at very good prices.

The investment really improved the site massively. I will be staying here again as it is only 20-25 minutes from home. This site comes highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moonstone 9 reviews from this member

 Living within a 30 minute drive from Theobald's Park we chose this site to test out our new weekend tent for a couple of nights. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and swiftly shown to our pitch at the bottom of the field. The shower and toilet facilities were absolutely spotless and couldn't be faulted at all. To the side of these facilities was the dish washing area. There were also washing machines on site for clothes and a freezer for the freezing of freezer blocks. Both the drinking water tap and grey water disposal are located centrally, plus there is a small children's play area and dog walk.

As a base for visiting London this site is perfectly situated, but a quiet site it isn't. It may have been quieter for those camping at the top of the site, but at the bottom where we were pitched the traffic noise from the M25 (just hidden behind the trees) was very loud and continuous. For this reason alone Theobald's Park isn't somewhere we'd return to for an actual holiday, but it deserves to be rated highly even so. Putting the obvious noise issue to one side this is a clean, friendly and well looked after site which most definitely fills a camping niche. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cook Campers 2 reviews from this member

 A nice site generally, a little road noise in the early morning. Child of 2 perfectly safe and happy to wander about.

The playground area was a little to high for a toddler but we managed - a good playground for 3 / 4 yr old upwards I would say.

Facilities were always clean and never had to wait for the ladies shower but husband had to wait a short time for gents shower.

Friendly welcome from the campsite owners. All in all a pleasant site to use. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SUDZ 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four night stay at this campsite as a base for exploring central London.

The campsite is easy to find and good instructions can be found on the website.

Travelling into central London wasn't too difficult. At weekends we found it better to travel to the next junction of the M25 and park at Cockfosters tube station carpark and tube straight into the centre. During weekdays this carpark is very busy as commuters use it and if you arrive outside peak hours (after 9.00am) you run the risk of not been able to park. With this in mind, it is easy to use the bus from Cambridge Road (about 5 minutes drive and walk from site with free parking -ask the wardens for directions)to Turnpike Lane tube station and then get on the tube into central London.

Generally this is a good campsite with friendly and helpful wardens although in my opinion a couple of things let it down. The site office is not open all day (not really a problem unless you want emergency supplies of milk etc) and the toilet block although always clean, was basically a portaloo and the surrounding area was uneven and not well lit at night time. Apart from this I would recommend this site and will most probably return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights.

Very warm welcome on arrival and because we were fairly early arriving we were allowed to choose our pitch.

Although we had a map and directions it was (very) easy to miss the approach road - not well signposted!

Site is fairly flat, has a mixture of grass pitches and hard standings. There is no motorhome service area, so we had to carry our 'grey' water off site. Not a huge problem.

Portacabin facilities block caused raised eyebrows but they were spotless, although the power generators had a few hiccups while we were there.

Evident noise from nearby M25 not a problem in a motorhome, but could have been intrusive for those in tents. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lankybob 2 reviews from this member

 We both think that this is an excellent site. Though it is close to the M25 it is fairly quiet with only a low pitched hum 24/7. We were greeted by the Warden who was a mine of information, and who took us to our pitch for the week.The toilets looked grim but were in spotless condition.We took our dog who enjoyed the dog-walks and attempting to chase the rabbits.

Our only complaints were that the campsite should have been more plainly sign-posted from the main A10 and there were two quite big and deep pot-holes on the lane from the M25 bridge (which OK were not the site's fault and had been reported but still gave my suspension a fair whack). 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wilburpig 3 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to find with a printable map from the Caravan and Camping Club site. Quick and efficient check in and then we were taken to a pitch near the small play area so my 7 yr old could be independent.

Facilities were all very clean and well signposted. There is work going on around the site and some areas are fenced off, but there was no work going on when we were there (Saturday and Sunday). Very quiet, green and flat. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Waltham Cross      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement