Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Site Reviews

Theobalds Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bulls Cross Ride
Waltham Cross
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
EN7 5HS
Tel: 01992 620604
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Claireapril26 12 reviews from this member

If you're looking for a cheap campsite near to central London then you can't go wrong with this site. It's well maintained and the staff are friendly. It is off the beaten track so you either need a vehicle or a very good set of legs.

Walking to Waltham Cross station takes at least 40 minutes although we discovered that we could get a bus from the t-junction, which cuts the journey by half. It's also a good walk to Turkey Street Station.

There are no facilities near to the campsite. At least a 20 minute walk to the local pub and 30 minutes to the shop.

We used the site as a base to visit London, which was fine for our needs as the playground on site is just a swing and a slide.

The site is mostly used for people working in and around London. We didn't have a problem with this and found everyone welcoming.

My only disappointment with the site is the ladies showers were closed for the 4 days we were there. Myself and my two children had to wait for one of two disabled showers at a very busy campsite. Sometimes I had to wait 30 minutes for a shower! At the time of booking no one mentioned this to us and neither were we offered a discount. Very bad planning to close the ladies' showers during half term week when you have more families on site than usual. Otherwise a good site for a base to visit London.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From Dartford direction Leave M25 at junction 25. At roundabout at top of slip road turn first left but get over into right hand lane and turn right at traffic lights into Bullsmore Lane. At end of road turn right into Bulls Cross. Continue round left hand bend and take second right, Bulls Cross Ride, just past Tottenham Hotspurs training ground on the left. This road takes you back over the motorway and the entrance to the site is on the right. Please note taking this route to the site avoids entering the London Low Emission Zone.

Theobalds Park is not far from the M25 so you will hear some noise from the motorway. It is an open site with a perimeter of mature trees. Perhaps a bit more landscaping would enhance the overall look. The site is open all year and also accepts non-members. There are 90 pitches either on grass or hardstandings although like most C&CC sites the hardstandings are not large enough for car/caravan/awning. Electric points are convenient to those pitches that are designated as electric pitches. They use CEE17 connections and are rated at 16 amps. There are a couple of services points for fresh water and grey waste disposal. The single toilet block is set in a wooded area just off from the main pitching area and is of a good standard. Showers have a pre-set temperature which does not seem to be adjustable although it was more than hot enough. The block also contains a laundry and covered dish wash area. The motorhome service point has a free drain grid so no heavy covers to move. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online. It does seem that the site is used a lot by people working from the site judging by the number of cars and vans left in the carpark overnight. This site has a storage facility. A small area of the site is given over to chalet type accommodation.

This is a handy stop off point to and from Dover. It could equally make a good place for a longer stay as there are opportunities for getting into London, the site is not in the LEZ zone. The site provides useful details on the various transport options. Fair to say that life is easier getting around if you have a car available as alterative forms of transport are some way from the site. There are various supermarkets in the area and again the site will give you details.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gadsby 2 reviews from this member

First time at this site and we wanted to test out some new camping equipment. Great location for London and Essex - It wouldn't be my choice for a long stay. I found the 'M25' quite noisy particularly at night (ear plugs would've helped).

The kids enjoyed the forest and playground. The facilities were immaculate. There wasn't a shop when we visited (apparently there will be one over summer, selling the basics) but with so much a short drive away it wasn't necessary.

I felt it was set up more for caravans and motorhomes - in our large tents we were pitched towards the bottom of the field, and meant the toilets were quite a walk, especially with small children. We had one tent with EHU and this was easy to use. The site manager was quite helpful with our pitch set up and as long as we kept 6 metres away from each tent, they were pretty relaxed about where we were and even warned us not to go too near the bottom edge as it could get boggy in rain!

We also paid for the wifi 3 a day per phone/tablet but it was pretty good and useful for the kids in the evening.

We had a great time and would certainly recommend it to others.

My one request would be to have another 'refuse' section on the site rather than just the one at the main gates.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Irvings 1 review from this member

Have been visiting this site for nearly 20 years and have visited the last 3. It is a clean, quiet site with very good toilet facilities. There is not much to do for children but great for anyone wanting a quiet site to relax in.

There are loads of bunnies which frequent the tents, so keep food stuff in sealed containers!

We drive to Cockfosters then travel into London almost daily using a very inexpensive Oyster card.

Our children are in their 20s now but for the past three years they have joined us for 4 or 5 days so they can see the London sites ~ and shop.

I would recommend this site for tenters or caravaners ~ especially if you want to visit London. I have never used the on site shop so can't comment. Onsite staff however, are friendly and approachable.

My only complaint is the chosen time to close the facilities. It's too early. Closing a toilet block between 11:00 and 12;30 is extremely inconvenient. Others campers have voiced the same complaint too. Early afternoon would be more suitable.

Overall, a site worth recommending.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monstro 5 reviews from this member

Absolutely spotless site, quality of the toilet/shower/dishwashing/laundry block is second to none and surrounded by bunnies.

Play area for the kids is a bit small but is placed in the centre of site so easy to keep an eye on kids.

Small shop but has emergency essentials and you pass the bunnies to get to it.

We had a brilliant time here, it really is a quality friendly site and have I mentioned the wild bunnies?, kids were transfixed!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 34 reviews from this member

We had camped here twice before in a Trailer Tent and folding Camper, but this time we tried the Self Catering Lodge, as we had my brother in law who has additional needs with us. Great weekend, the Holiday Site team were helpful and we were treated just the same as if we had been camping. A lot has changed over the years (previous visits in 1996 and 2005)most notably the new toilet block which makes a great difference to the site. There are also more hard Standings. I remember that the noise from the M25 was not intrusive.

Site is handy for London, you can easily get a train or underground from not too far away. Great dining at The Plough in Crews Hill and Toby Carvery at Whitewebbs House, both a short drive away.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 20 reviews from this member

Easy to find using the camp sites instructions and map available from C&CC website. Constant hum of traffic from M25 did not bother us though may be different if you are in a tent!

Well laid out site with good sized pitches, small playground area which could be over run in busier periods but well situated so that children can be seen from many pitches.

Toilet block very clean but is shut for an 1. 5 hours every day which seems a lot.

There are walks from the site but transport is needed for anything more than a stroll to the pub, good access to London by train.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whittle123 1 review from this member

Very helpful & friendly owners who squeezed me & son in with a tent over August 14 bank holiday week, after I had cocked up the on line booking. Quiet site, easy to find, pleasantly sheltered by trees, nearby motorway noise barely noticeable. Shower block modern and always very clean. Lovely countryside nearby but really convenient for Waltham Cross station, then 30 minutes into Liverpool Street. Off peak train card covers underground and river services. Plenty of shops and supermarkets near to site. Best food and friendly atmosphere at the Plough, 10 minutes away at Crews Hill. Had an excellent week's stay and would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Charlieboy2608 8 reviews from this member

Been coming here a few times during the winter for a quiet weekend away. A stones throw from the M25 and great for visiting the city. Quite a small site with a play area for the kids but nicely spaced out so never feel on top of your neightbours.

Great facilities, plenty of hot water, friendly wardens and close to good shopping business parks.

A reasonable carvery pub on the A10, five minutes away by car for that first evening when you don't want to cook ;-)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billy... 2 reviews from this member

We spent the night at Theobalds Park at short notice to try out our new caravan. The wardens were great on the phone and welcomed us to the site even though we didn't arrive until late in the afternoon.

The site is fairly small and has a combination of hard standing and grass pitches with and without electricity. We had a hard standing pitch.

There is an excellent toilet and wash block with impeccably clean facilities. There's around 1/2 dozen of each, toilets, showers and private wash cubicles. There's also a small play area for the kids and a small shop that provides a few essential items.

As usual for a Camping and Caravanning Club site it was secured by barriers and had an 11pm noise curfew. We had friends to visit and they had no problem with being allowed access and there is a visitors parking area.

The access from the M25 was easy with just a short journey from the motorway. There's a few speed humps on the way in and a couple of narrow roads but nothing too major to navigate. You can faintly hear the M25 overnight and it's not completely silent. However the noise wasn't enough to be a problem.

This is a small park with excellent clean facilities. There's not much on site but if you just want a base to stay or a quiet getaway this site is highly recommended.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019