Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Cowling > Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House Reviews

Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House
Ickornshaw
Cowling
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0DB
Tel: 07973 353027
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 14 and 8 bunk house beds
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 28 Reviews
                10/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Cowboy mcrue 1 review from this member

 Well what can you say about this site apart from absolutely AWESOME, Felt so relaxed, chilled and completely happy, came home today but really didn't want to.

The owners made us feel really welcome and was such a pleasure to know them. Will defo be going back in the future that's for sure. Thanks for everything Ady n Kim. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coldnwet 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights in the camping barn while walking the Pennine Way in atrocious weather conditions. Had teenage boys with us so really were tired, cold and miserable at end of the day.

Thank goodness we stayed here as Ady’s welcome was warm and friendly and his kindness overwhelming. Boots were dried, shower was hot and he even had spare guitar for impromptu jam session. With hearts and feet warmed we were able to continue on our journey.

Definitely recommend this campsite particularly to long distance walkers. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tombas 1 review from this member

 Great little place, I stopped here out of season on the Pennine Way and despite their being closed I was greeted by the owner who was happy to put on the hot water and the electric so I could stay the night!

The site is well protected from the wind and facilities were exactly what I needed for a good night's rest.

I was particularly pleased that they reopened just for little old me! Thanks! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LyndonJ 1 review from this member

 Stayed on this site whilst walking the Pennine Way and on the back end of virtually constant rain from Edale.

And what a tonic it was. An owner whose primary concern is evidently the comfort of walkers/campers with somewhere to hang and dry wet clothes and a hut with lighting, comfy chairs, kettle, tea bags, milk and also sockets to charge your phone!

On top of this a lift into the village and back to get some food and wet boots taken off me and returned dry in the morning.

Clean and well lit toilet and hot shower made this one of the best sites I have stayed on.

A short distance off the PW (the second site that you come to on the main road off the Way) I can't recommend it enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coffee maker 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic camp site.

As a walker covering the pennine way it provided all the basics:

- clean and hot showers

- flat pitches

- located on the pennine route

However the campsite also provide some very pleasant surprises:

- Large summerhouse with comfy chairs

- Washing line

- beautiful surroundings

Clearly Ady loves providing a great camping experience. It costs a bit more than some other camp sites, but definitely worth it. They make you feel at home the moment you arrive. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GemDeanBill 3 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a campsite with pretty surroundings, a secluded location and plenty of space to pitch up. The facilities are good including a really decent free shower. Having the communal hut and air compressor is a great idea. It's also a bonus to have the fire pits. The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough to help. The local area is stunning with good walks, playgrounds and pub. Highly recommended! We will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbeard 1 review from this member

 This is a small and peaceful campsite. It is secluded with good sized pitches. The facilities were basic but clean and tidy with a good shower and free hot water. However there may be a wait at busier times as there was only one toilet and shower for the site.

The owner was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. He recommended places to visit in the local area.

We had a lovely weekend with the added benefit of a fire pit. We would not hesitate to return again and maybe even stay in the cosy shepherds hut!

Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesCowper 1 review from this member

 Great campsite. Lovely atmosphere. Really nice location and its like camping in a beautiful garden by the woods! But with a kettle, and a hot shower available whenever you need them! Also its very sheltered, and there is a calming lilly pond to look out upon. Very nice guy who runs the place. More than happy to give me a lift in his van to the train station. Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ed Johnston 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend's family camping at Squirrel Wood - brilliant little campsite. Great location, great facilities, lovely atmosphere and owner is very welcoming and helpful. It's a beautiful little site with just a handful of pitches, easily accessible from main road but secluded and quiet. Toilet and shower are clean and well maintained. Warm running water and outside sink for doing the dishes. Communal hut with easy chairs, lighting, mains electricity and a kettle. Real fires are allowed in the fire pit. Most importantly - really nice atmosphere, relaxed and welcoming. Site rules say no music unless you make it yourself - so no radios or stereos, but guitars round the campfire are encouraged. Couldn't recommend this place more. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

 I've stayed here several times now and what is most impressive is the owner's willingness to listen to comments and make improvements. I mentioned that a hook would be useful for my washbag and next time it was there. There is now a washing up sink with hot water.

When I go camping I'm looking for good basics without the extravagances of large holiday sites. This spot is, to my mind, perfect.

And that electric kettle in the shed is genius! 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cowling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4285 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement