Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Cowling > Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House Reviews

Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House
Ickornshaw
Cowling
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0DB
Tel: 07973 353027
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 14 and 8 bunk house beds
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 28 Reviews
                10/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 21 to 28                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pedro50 1 review from this member

 A marvellous discovery, too new to be in our Pennine way guidebook. Adrian was beyond helpful, drying clothes and shoes for us, and entertaining guests. The communal hut is marvellous and the greenhouse was a godsend for dry storage. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coultart 1 review from this member

 This is what campsites should be like - Ady's back garden! What a gem of a find!

Owner, Ady, couldn't have been more welcoming - he even phoned me back to say he'd thought of a way to fit our enormous tent (Vermont 7SA) onto his tiny site. He mowed a bit of ground and made a fire pit especially for us - it was totally fab.

Established initially for Pennine Way walkers, Ady has thought of everything, including a 'hut' to sit in with local info, an electric kettle, power to charge your phone and free 4G signal! He'll even dry your boots on his Aga and entertain you with his guitar!

Cowling had everything we needed - a chippy, a great pizza place, a local shop that stocked everything, a play park and a stream to spuddle in. The Harlequin Bistro served the best steak and kidney pud I've ever eaten. Also, the 2 hour circular walk to Cowling Pinnacle and Lund's Tower was just right for us.

We can't recommend the site (and the owner) more highly and hope to visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pownal1 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, we stay here regularly. The owner is fantastic, friendly and welcoming and always happy to help. Lovely setting, peaceful and quiet. Little shops and pubs a mile or so down the road. We love cooking on an open fire, there are firepits made from rocks on the ground, like a proper camping experience should be. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

 This is a hidden gem of a campsite. It's right on the Pennine Way, but down a driveway into what appears to be a garden, level, with a pond, landscaping and small summerhouse.

When I arrived Adey, the owner, was cutting the grass and was most welcoming and helpful. The owners have obviously spent a lot of thought into what campers need, and have provided the summerhouse with seating, electric sockets and, get this, an electric kettle! And all for 10 a night! I think the charge is per tent, but I was travelling solo so I'm not sure.

The toilet block is basic with only one shower and one toilet, but the hot water is there. It could be a problem if the site were very busy. I would have liked hand wash provided, but that is my only criticism.

Cowling is only a walk away for a pub, fish and chips, and basic stuff, and I suspect Adey would give you a lift if needed.

The 4G was excellent, despite being very rural.

Child friendly depending on your children. Campfires permitted in the right place.

Previous comments mentioned the road and the church bells, neither of which bothered me.

I'll definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RambleGamble 1 review from this member

 After walking the Pennine way last year from Hebden Bridge to Cowling and quite a gruelling section with driving wind and rain I came upon a small sign with a squirrel on it pointing down the road. I had not looked forward to a night in a field with no dry clothes and had not seen this place on the list just a farm. NEVER in my life have I been to a campsite where the owner took in all my clothes and dried them and invited me in to get warm and dry. Later I showered then sat in the communal hut and listed to some music, charged my phone and relaxed in a comfy chair. I have to say on the entire length of the Pennine way this was by far the best I remember and would not hesitate to recommend it. In the morning I went into the hut to make a drink and my warm dry clothes were folded on the table. Thank YOU! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noodidley 1 review from this member

 We cannot praise this place enough! We stayed here in the Spring Bank holidays this year with our two our two girls! The facilities are fantastic and clean complete with boot wash! Adey and is wife cannot do enough for you and are very friendly and welcoming! The village is just a short walk away with a shop and local pub! There are also some lovely woodland walks and gorgeous sights to see! We would definitely recommend this place! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Razor401 1 review from this member

 We were walking the Pennine way and stumbled upon this campsite a few yards off the walk that day over to Cowling and so glad we did, the farmers field advertised in the walkers guide did not look too good but this place had perfectly flat lawns, a hut to use to chat and charge phones and we also cooked some food in there on our stoves, the toilet and shower block is immaculate, the best I saw on the entire Pennine way. We had 3 tents on the centre lawns that were very soft and flat and easy to peg. If you are walking the Pennine way contact these guys and book in it really is a refreshing site to arrive at. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronely 1 review from this member

 Just stayed here for 2 nights, immaculate in every way. The site is tucked away in the trees and felt very sheltered and private and we camped by the large pond, the pitches are very flat and superb. Can't wait to go back in the summer with the kids when its a bit warmer. The hosts are very helpful and showed us their shepherds hut (which we will be booking at some point) as well as advice on the best eating around, they couldn't do enough for us. A very pleasant beautiful place and a must if you like nature and Yorkshire. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 28     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cowling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3938 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement