Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Cowling > Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House Reviews

Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House
Ickornshaw
Cowling
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0DB
Tel: 07973 353027
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 14 and 8 bunk house beds
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 28 Reviews
                10/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lcpsi02 1 review from this member

 Went as strangers, left as friends.

Fabulous stay in the Shepherds Hut, tea, coffee, milk and toiletries all provided.

Very warm welcome, couldn't ask for more.

Thank you Ady & Kim, can't wait to come back for another visit. 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Joolst 1 review from this member

 A really pretty, peaceful site with well-spaced out cabins and a relaxing atmosphere - just what we wanted! It has a cozy little bar with wood burner, serving up great homemade wine and home cooked meals, for reasonable prices.

Just off the Pennine Way and with ample opportunities for walking in beautiful surroundings, it's in a great location for enjoying the great outdoors, and for getting to on foot, as we did, for a green, car-free and relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 27 reviews from this member

 This is not open all year round closed early October

However Eddie open up a hit for us one night as all closed down No facilities like showers, would be nice site when open. Very friendly chap running. The rules are common sense so no issue there

Small site just off pennine way going south to north turn right on as you come on road just past other campsite winterbarn 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessicaw80 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite will not be for everyone, check you are happy with the rules before booking! However my family were perfectly happy and the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

The site is well located to everything in the area and the owners are happy to suggest things. Facilities were basic but perfectly fine. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vivturner 1 review from this member

 Beautifully and lovingly kept camp ground with manicured lawns for tents. Lovely little lodges too; a pond with fish and a hut with a kettle, tea coffee and chairs for campers to gather in inclement weather.

The owner, Adi, was extremely friendly and obliging. He simply asks that you obey his rules. Sounds fair to me.

The site is located close to a busy road, but far enough away that the noise wasn't a problem. The town within walking distance, is small, but there is a pub and a Chinese restaurant.

For the time I visited, I would give the site 10 out of 10, but if there were more people camping I imagine the one shower, one toilet and one dish washing sink would get pretty busy.

My niece and I had a fantastic visit and would recommend it highly.

Vivien 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma Campbell 1 review from this member

 Amazing campsite! The owners are lovely and really helpful. We have just been for our 2nd time and we cant wait to go back next weekend.

The facilities are really clean and the power shower is beautiful. The grass and grounds are very well kept. Plus when you get a bit chilly they have an amazing little indoor seating area with a log fire.

Would highly recommend this hidden gem! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikehg 1 review from this member

 Great site. Lovely added facilities, cabin with wifi hut to sit in with charging points, good showers and washing. Ady the owner was so helpful. Directed to pub a few minutes down the road in Cowling for a very pleasant evening.

Thoroughly recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimthewalker 4 reviews from this member

 Highly civilised and helpful.

We saw the campsite advertised as we dropped off the Pennine Way from the South and thought we'd give it a go. Nobody was there when we arrived, so followed the instructions to 'pitch in zone A' and half an hour later the owner's partner arrived and made us welcome.

There was a problem with the water pressure, but the owner soon fixed that for the shower - by that time, unfortunately I'd finished. The shower was clean and the water was warm for me - just feeble. Given everything else I'd guess that the shower would usually work well.

The pitch is very sheltered and flat, with short grass - we could hear the wind really blowing the trees whilst our tents didn't move.

What makes it very civilised is that there is a little campers' communal hut with sockets, chairs and a table, lights and an electric kettle and teabags. It's a seemingly small thing, but made the stay far more enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyEmma 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say about this amazing site. Marks out of ten would have to be a twelve. Site owner Ady could not of been more welcoming and so helpful he even gave us advice on how to keep midges away. It works.

It is a very lovely quiet site our pitch was very private with a fire pit. Toilet and shower was very clean pot washing sink with warm water. There is a wooden summerhouse with comfortable seating.

Plug sockets to charge phones and an electric kettle for all to use. I can not recommend this site enough. We will be back for another weekend. Thank you Ady for your hospitality. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicky3abc 1 review from this member

 What a little gem of a place. Ady and Kim were fantastic hosts and really made you feel welcome.

Ady even took the boys fishing. A beautiful well maintained site. Will be going back as soon as we can. Thanks for having us. Live the hibberts xxx 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cowling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1773 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement