Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Squirrel Wood Camp Site And Bunk House
Ickornshaw
Cowling
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0DB
Tel: 07973 353027
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 and 8 bunk house beds
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 25 Reviews
                10/10 from 25 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jessicaw80 2 reviews from this member

This campsite will not be for everyone, check you are happy with the rules before booking! However my family were perfectly happy and the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The site is well located to everything in the area and the owners are happy to suggest things. Facilities were basic but perfectly fine.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vivturner 1 review from this member

Beautifully and lovingly kept camp ground with manicured lawns for tents. Lovely little lodges too; a pond with fish and a hut with a kettle, tea coffee and chairs for campers to gather in inclement weather.

The owner, Adi, was extremely friendly and obliging. He simply asks that you obey his rules. Sounds fair to me.

The site is located close to a busy road, but far enough away that the noise wasn't a problem. The town within walking distance, is small, but there is a pub and a Chinese restaurant.

For the time I visited, I would give the site 10 out of 10, but if there were more people camping I imagine the one shower, one toilet and one dish washing sink would get pretty busy.

My niece and I had a fantastic visit and would recommend it highly.

Vivien

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma Campbell 1 review from this member

Amazing campsite! The owners are lovely and really helpful. We have just been for our 2nd time and we cant wait to go back next weekend.

The facilities are really clean and the power shower is beautiful. The grass and grounds are very well kept. Plus when you get a bit chilly they have an amazing little indoor seating area with a log fire.

Would highly recommend this hidden gem!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikehg 1 review from this member

Great site. Lovely added facilities, cabin with wifi hut to sit in with charging points, good showers and washing. Ady the owner was so helpful. Directed to pub a few minutes down the road in Cowling for a very pleasant evening.

Thoroughly recommend the site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimthewalker 3 reviews from this member

Highly civilised and helpful.

We saw the campsite advertised as we dropped off the Pennine Way from the South and thought we'd give it a go. Nobody was there when we arrived, so followed the instructions to 'pitch in zone A' and half an hour later the owner's partner arrived and made us welcome.

There was a problem with the water pressure, but the owner soon fixed that for the shower - by that time, unfortunately I'd finished. The shower was clean and the water was warm for me - just feeble. Given everything else I'd guess that the shower would usually work well.

The pitch is very sheltered and flat, with short grass - we could hear the wind really blowing the trees whilst our tents didn't move.

What makes it very civilised is that there is a little campers' communal hut with sockets, chairs and a table, lights and an electric kettle and teabags. It's a seemingly small thing, but made the stay far more enjoyable.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AndyEmma 1 review from this member

Well what can I say about this amazing site. Marks out of ten would have to be a twelve. Site owner Ady could not of been more welcoming and so helpful he even gave us advice on how to keep midges away. It works. It is a very lovely quiet site our pitch was very private with a fire pit. Toilet and shower was very clean pot washing sink with warm water. There is a wooden summerhouse with comfortable seating. Plug sockets to charge phones and an electric kettle for all to use. I can not recommend this site enough. We will be back for another weekend. Thank you Ady for your hospitality.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vicky3abc 1 review from this member

What a little gem of a place. Ady and Kim were fantastic hosts and really made you feel welcome. Ady even took the boys fishing. A beautiful well maintained site. Will be going back as soon as we can. Thanks for having us. Live the hibberts xxx

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cowboy mcrue 1 review from this member

Well what can you say about this site apart from absolutely AWESOME, Felt so relaxed, chilled and completely happy, came home today but really didn't want to. The owners made us feel really welcome and was such a pleasure to know them. Will defo be going back in the future that's for sure. Thanks for everything Ady n Kim.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coldnwet 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights in the camping barn while walking the Pennine Way in atrocious weather conditions. Had teenage boys with us so really were tired, cold and miserable at end of the day. Thank goodness we stayed here as Ady’s welcome was warm and friendly and his kindness overwhelming. Boots were dried, shower was hot and he even had spare guitar for impromptu jam session. With hearts and feet warmed we were able to continue on our journey. Definitely recommend this campsite particularly to long distance walkers.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tombas 1 review from this member

Great little place, I stopped here out of season on the Pennine Way and despite their being closed I was greeted by the owner who was happy to put on the hot water and the electric so I could stay the night!

The site is well protected from the wind and facilities were exactly what I needed for a good night's rest.

I was particularly pleased that they reopened just for little old me! Thanks!

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0969