Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Larches Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Larches Caravan Park > Reviews

Larches Caravan Park
Mealsgate
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 1LQ
Tel: 01697 371379
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P3rky 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed at the Larches Caravan Park the first week of July. Judith greeted us very warmly and showed us to our pitch; we had chosen a fully serviced one so everything was laid on. She was very helpful setting up the pitch. Toilet and shower block were more than adequate and clean. The views were stunning. The site is adults only therefore very peaceful. Aladdin's cave of caravan and camping accessories, no shop for food on site but ideally located for the Lakes and surrounding country, close to the village of Wigton where there are numerous shops and cafes. The Sun Inn is a few miles down the road, huge portions, be careful when ordering as we wereted a lot of food; Mootas garden centre do a great breakfast. We're newbies to touring and this was a great first impression and we'll definitely be going to Larches again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cassap 2 reviews from this member

 The larches caravan park had a lovely warm welcome. I had phoned up before hand to ask if it were ok to bring a rather large tunnel tent (as most sites don't take them) said it was fine. We had a great selection of three pitches where we could have the tent and plenty of room. The toilets were immaculate and I see they have put new suites into the toilets (been years ago). The little camping kitchen with the micro wave was a great help for cooking for four adults and two dogs.

The shop was heaven to get all the parts for the caravan and tent. This is the only shop we come too for all our accessories, if Judith did not have it in she ordered it for us, couldn't ask for better service.

The site is a brilliant place to be at for the Lake District and the Scottish Borders. We spent two days in the lakes and two days over the border.

There some nice little pubs either way of the site, one just at bothel and one outside of Wigton good home cooked food for a good price.

I must admit it is nice to see a adult only site where couples, family or friends can get together for a quite and relaxing time. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bordercollies 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were greeted at the reception/shop which looked a little chaotic inside, the swimming pool clearly hadn't been used forever as it bore all the signs of a dumping ground, one of its selling points gone! But we were greeted by a friendly and chatty lady who escorted us to our pitch. This was a large area that had no marked out pitches, was pure 'hardstanding' and had no grassed area like the pictures shown on the many websites this caravan site is listed on. All in all we were very disappointed with our pitch despite it being fully serviced, we can only assume we were given that pitch as we were only stopping three nights; others arrived after us and were given more favourable pitches. The on site facilities e. G. Toilets, showers and laundry were perfectly acceptable, clean and warm. There were signs of it becoming a caravan graveyard with caravans having been left in various locations clearly never having been used and being allowed to fall into ruin. Whilst there is limited evidence of improvements it is such a shame that this site has been allowed to deteriorate. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HJN1 5 reviews from this member

 We are brand new to caravanning and used this site as a 'try out', having been long term campers. Wow what a find, we couldn't have been luckier.

Lovely quiet adult's only, tucked away in the north lake district. Easy to navigate our way to and spacious really well equipped pitches.

The site owner was friendly and an absolute mine of information couldn't have made it easier for us. Nothing was too much trouble.

The shop on site is amazing; very reminiscent of the old fashioned hardware stores -except this one is for caravaners (no food provisions). Didn't try the pubs but the menu looked good and just a short drive away.

Now I am really fussy and whilst I agree with others that the tiles etc are a bit dated, the showers, loos etc. Were immaculate the whole time we were there ( although my husband found the shower a little too hot!). We have already re-booked. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucky sweep 1 review from this member

 My wife and I spent two full weeks at this site in June 2012.

If your like us and enjoy your own space, then this is the site for you.

Our Motorhome is based on a lorry and was built really for bike racing, but no silly length restrictions at this site, we were made very welcome by Judith and her mum and dad.

The toilet block was spotless, and having cubicles with shower, toilet and sink together is the best.

We travelled about the lake district by motorcycle, as the truck is a bit big to run around in and when the weather became too bad, we got the 600 bus to Carlisle one day and Cockermouth another day.

A path along to get the bus would make the walk a little less worrying, as the road traffic is fast, but most campers would probably be driving away from the site, so not really too much of a problem.

Carlisle is worth going to, and Francos in the town centre serves the best Italian food you'll ever eat.

Cockermouth is good too, visit the Brewery and Wordsworth house etc, eat and be merry!

Wigton for your food supplies, Lidl etc

The Sun Inn for 16oz t bone steak unbelievable for 12. 95

We'll be back to this fab site asap 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 71Scottie 7 reviews from this member

 A great campsite from start to finish!

A friendly welcome greeted us as we arrived and we were shown to our pitch.

Because the weather was forecasted to be wet and windy we were given a nice sheltered pitch next to the amenities block with the added advantage of hard standing for our car and trailer.

The area allocated was large enough for us to chose our preferred siting of the tent without encroaching on anyone else. We noticed an abundance of water points and EHU's in the area.

The toilets/showers are as good as every reviewer has stated and is immaculately kept. The rest of the amenities is to the same standard. Even visiting them at 4am was no problem as there is exterior lighting supplemented by solar powered 'marker' lights to guide you. The central heating was a welcome benefit!

Admittedly you can hear the traffic on the main road but that is no more than a distant rumble which is easily forgotten. The dominant noise is the birds form dawn chorus until the night time owls - fantastic.

The only negative we found is that the walk to the nearest village is via a road verge not a footpath, however everything is within easy reach of a short drive.

Credit must be given to the owner who makes you feel welcome and relaxed. Often seen around the site with a friendly greeting and chat but was never obtrusive. It was nice to see her assist other campers and you just know she would do the same should you need help. Regulars and first timers are all treat with the same pleasant manner.

If you want somewhere to pitch, relax and be left to enjoy your time without any kids, safe and secure with the right amount of facilities without over doing it this is the place.

When we return to the lakes minus the kids we will be using this site again, hopefully soon to enjoy some better weather! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silver Storm 5 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. The owners were so nice and friendly and the site is only around a 10 min drive from Keswick.

The weather while we were there wasn't very good and so the site was very quiet. It was very wet and windy, but we managed to find a pitch where we were well sheltered from the wind.

The facilities were fantastic. All heated, and the ladies and gents both had several spacious bathrooms with a loo, sink & shower! This proved most useful when trying to change into warmer / drier clothing. :)

We didn't us the camp kitchen, but we did see there were plates and cutlery available to borrow if you had forgotten to bring yours along. A sink indoors and also washing machine and drier. There wasn't a freezer though.

As the lack of freezer is my only negative, I believe that makes this a great site! We will be returning to see the Lakes without the wind & rain. :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roadsterles 6 reviews from this member

 Really helpful and friendly, shame pool wasn't open,

Road noise, need speed restrictions on road,

Facilities great, gents has 5 individual cubicles with shower, toilet, whb and hair dryer,

Really windy last night of stay, owners offered to put their disco in front of our tent to block wind,

Will def be back,

Great base to tour the lakes, top notch.

When we arrived we had to get fuel, went to wigton to get fuel and dinner, 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bennyboy3172 3 reviews from this member

 We received a very lovely welcome and given a good choice of pitches to choose from.

The site is well maintained through out. The site facilities included separate mens and ladies toilets but even better was the fact that there were 6 individual rooms all comprising a toilet, shower, sink + instant hot water. There was a mirror with working over light above each sink and a hair dryer.

Then there was the utilities room which had 2 sinks 1 for hand washing clothes 1 for crockery. This also had a washing machine, dryer, ironing board. All the electrical items had a very small cost but still good value for money.

The next room was small in width but long in length and had a work top and a microwave which was free to use, with a couple of stools so yo could eat in.

There was a fully accessible disabled toilet too.

The site also had a out door ping pong table.

A library were if you take 1 book you leave 1 book.

Oh and a indoor heated swimming pool for a small fee.

We didn't use the on site shop but when we went in to book in it seemed very well stocked up.

We asked about some where to eat out and were given 3 good pubs to go to all with in a 10 minute journey :- the sun inn, the kelsey, the grey hound inn(may pay to book first as very busy and we never ate there as a result. The other 2 did lovely meals).

Fantastic scenery all around and will be certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BobandPam 14 reviews from this member

 We were welcomed like old friends and nothing was too much trouble. We were given plenty of information about the site and region and further information was available from a summer house, which doubled as a book library.

The heated pool was undergoing maintenance but we don't swim anyway.

Newspapers were available to order but the shop was a big disappointment. If you needed any kind of camping, caravan equipment, I feel sure you would have got it, but not once did they have basics like milk or bread. The nearest town was Wigton (Co-op)or further away was Cockermouth with a Sainsbury's, but both some distance.

Our pitch was hard standing but with plenty of grass too and each pitch had water and electricity. The site was huge, but with few visitors.

The views from the top of the site were wonderful - we pitched mid-way up and there was no traffic noise whatsoever, absolutely peaceful, you could hear a pin drop.

The facility block looked tired on the outside with little outside lighting. If I used the ladies after dark, it was essential to take a torch just to see where to put the key in the lock - yes, each camper had a key. Broken tiles on the floor of the washing up/laundry room had been glued unsuccessfully - much modernisation is needed BUT the washer and dryer worked and were both cheap. There was only one washing up sink but an iron and board also provided. Alongside was another small room with a microwave - a nice touch for tenters.

The toilets, showers were exceptionally clean and some of the sanitary ware was very new and it was very nice to have your own heated spacious bathroom. The tiling was dated but it did appear that the owners were trying to update the site but slowly. Although the water was hot, there was a problem with the supply. My friend was washing her hair when someone started to use the bathroom next door and her shower decreased to a trickle. Such a system would not cope if the site was busy.

Although a dog walk was provided, it was down a potentially muddy track which was quite dark due to the trees and several old cars were parked along the way too. With so much space on this site, there could easily be another area provided. Much of the lighting was by small solar lights, not very effective. This site has huge potential, but needs a lot of investment. As it never appears to be busy, the facilities are adequate. This is a rural site, in a good location and is certainly peaceful and clean. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Larches Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Larches Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Larches Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement