Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Larches Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Larches Caravan Park > Reviews

Larches Caravan Park
Mealsgate
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 1LQ
Tel: 01697 371379
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 31 to 39                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bilberry 2 reviews from this member

 We can't praise this adults only campsite highly enough. We stayed over the Easter Bank Holiday, there were quite a few caravans and motor homes and some tents. The site has a airy feeling, it's well kept and well laid out over 2 levels, with plenty trees around and open pitches here and there. Being early in the year, the site wasn't full, but it gave us the feeling that even in high season it doesn't get cramped. Indeed, the owners confirmed that this is not their policy.

The toilet block is indeed amazing, and the cubicles, each with sink, toilet and shower are really clever. Clean and warm too!

There is a utility room for washing up, laundry and ironing. They also provide a microwave oven with microwavable plates for the use of guests (which must of course be washed up and returned after use!). Maybe there should be an additional washing up sink, at present there is only one.

The shop is well equipped and sells a bit of everything, including newspapers which can be ordered the day before.

There is a small dog toilet, but the campsite is big enough and pleasant enough that after doggie had been to the toilet there were plenty of places within the campsite to walk him for 15-20 minutes or so first thing in the morning and last thing at night (obviously he had the real walks during the day around the Lakes!).

The owners are incredibly friendly, helpful, and always around with a smile, without being intrusive.

There isn't much within walking distance, but the Lakes are a short drive to the South, and Wigton is only 5 miles to the North (a 10 minutes drive), where there are pubs, shops, banks, the Co-op, a Somerfields, petrol stations and above all some amazing butchers, which came in handy for a couple of BBQs we had in the evening in front our tent.

If you want peace and quiet with basic clean amenities in wonderful surroundings and plenty of room, this is the ideal campsite for you, as it was for us. We avoid 'commercial' sites like the plague!

Can't wait to go back in August now! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dooker 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over the August bank holiday in a Vango Orchy 400 tent.

The staff was very friendly from the word 'go' and we were shown a nice wee spot to pitch our tent. One of the things we noticed was how quiet it was and no kids running around which was perfect for us since we left our kids at home to get away from it all.

As the previous reviewers said the shower cubicles are amazing with each having their own shower, toilet, sink, hairdryer. The showers are power showers and a breath of fresh air on a campsite.

The area is really nice with the lakes just a short drive away.

In summary, this is a campsite I would absolutely recommend, especially if you are looking for that quiet break, and will definitely be returning to it in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: XandriaHersha 1 review from this member

 This was the second time we had stayed on this campsite, but this was the first time we had stayed during high season.

It was not at all busy and we had plenty of space to pitch our two (two man) tents. The toilet block was great if slightly seventies looking! The showers were good, but actually too hot in the morning, so we couldn't shower properly!

The site itself was well kept and the family who runs it are super-friendly and always cheery! Its has a small swimming pool on site which we didn't use, but my brother used last year and he said was nice and warm.

There is not much within walking distance, but loads to do within a fairly short drive. We were given packs when we first got to the campsite telling us what there was to do in the area and these were helpful.

Overall, quite pricey but you get what you pay for.

We will be going back next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Pigginshelly 6 reviews from this member

 Type of unit - Caravan (Small 2 berth), Tent (large Vango Vista 800), Tent Small (backpackers style).

Adults only site, so it is perfect for us. Nice and Quiet.

Toilets and Showers are wonderful. We found them to be warm, with plenty of hot water and very clean, with a mop on hand to mop up after yourself. Excellent cubicles with shower, toilet and sink in one. Also hairdryer in cubicle.

Pitches are plentiful, some are defined with trees etc, or full serviced pitches others are more open. They definitely do not cram them in.

The site is family run.The family are extremely friendly and are about with a Good Morning or advice when needed. (When we had a problem this last visit and they even brought a some coffee over so we could have a brew while trying to sort it out.

The shop is a bit of an Aladdin's cave. Full to brimming with camping stuff! All reasonably priced too.

The nearest food shop is in Wigton a little drive away, so need to come prepared intitally. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timbers 1 review from this member

 just got back from three nights at this adult only site. Rang and booked four days before the Easter weekend and had no probs getting a pitch, in fact we were the only tent there(dont know if weather put people off). toilet facilities were v good, several individual cubicles containing loo, sink and free shower, also radiator and loo roll , radiator v welcome as was a bit chilly on mon morning. Mainly set up for caravans, but large open top field available for camping- pitch where you want on this field. Several privately owned statics. Very peaceful whilst we were there. Owner trying to renovate site so looked a bit scruffy but should be nice when finished. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Y3JES 1 review from this member

 This is a really pleasant, quiet site (as you'd expect with no kids allowed!). The toilet/shower block is absolutely fantastic (see other reviews). One day all sites will be made this way!

The hosts were exceptionally friendly and helpful (order your newspaper the day before, and it's waiting for you in the small shop in the morning).

However, there is not a lot within walking distance, even food is a dodgy walk along a busy, pavementless road, so transport is fairly essential for getting around. (ie. if you've a motorhome like us, you're having to pack away everytime you want to do anything other than stay on site). That said, Keswick and Cockermouth are only twenty minutes drive away, and well worth visiting. All in all, a lovely small site. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Groovygran 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, quiet and relaxing (no kids) with helpful and friendly staff. An added bonus is a small swimming pool (50p for 1/2 hour) which we had to ourselves. The toilet block, laundry and dishwashing facilities were all exceptionally clean. I have no hesitation in recommending this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Guidovuk 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely, relaxing weekend at The Larches. Family run, and a very friendly place, you get a nice welcome and we were shown 3 vacant sites and left to choose where we wanted to pitch our tent.
Having settled in, we sat down with a cuppa and noticed for the first time the reason why we chose this site - the complete lack of noise other than the singing of the birds and the very distant sound of traffic from the main road.

The toilet blocks are separated into "suites" with each one having a washbasin, shower and toilet - a fantastic idea and one which we would love to see on other sites.

There are a couple of nice pubs nearby - The Greyhound and The Sun where you can get a nice pint and a hearty meal at a reasonable price.
So all in all a super campsite which we will certainly be returning to and one which we can recommend without hesitation.  


Reviewer: Trish Howett

 Secluded, peaceful, very clean and friendly Adults only site. Easy to find and get around from. Close to Keswick / Cockermouth.

Owners of site very friendly and helpful. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 39     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Larches Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Larches Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Larches Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement