Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Larches Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Larches Caravan Park > Reviews

Larches Caravan Park
Mealsgate
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 1LQ
Tel: 01697 371379
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Batson 1 review from this member

 What a lovely place to stay!

We found the Larches purely by accident as we had been let down at another site nearby. We would have to agree with everything positive that has been written below. The owners were really friendly natural people and nothing was too much trouble.

The toilets were indeed spotless and we loved having little cubicles with shower, toilet and basin - much like an en suite at home!

You leave a deposit for the gate key so that you can get in and out - we could quite understand that. We weren't quite sure why we had a key for the toilets but maybe they have had problems in the past, I didn't ask. It's a lovely quiet, mature site with no kids and we'll go there from now on every time every time we're in the Lakes.  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TracyHi 2 reviews from this member

 We drove past this site and after quickly checking out the reviews using my Blackberry, we decided it would do nicely, especially as it was adults only!

We were given such a friendly welcome and the shop seem to have any camping spare you could need, we were delighted to get some small hinges we'd been after for a while! We could even order a newspaper which for collection the next morning.

The site was very quiet and we were shown to a hard standing, probably wouldn't have been our choice of pitch, but the view was amazing and to be honest I am sure if we'd asked to move it wouldn't have been a problem. As we were only staying one night it didn't seem to be worth it.

Toilets were fab! On entry they felt a bit dated, but that's just due purely to the tiles. They were completely spotless and what a great idea to have your own shower room, complete with sink and toilet - definitely something that other sites should think about.

Overall a great find and we will definitely stay again when we're in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campalots 16 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, well thought out and No Kids.

We loved our stay here, we received a warm friendly welcome.

The facilities were great, small rooms containing a shower, loo and sink, plenty of room and hanging space as well as separate toilets. Also a laundry with washer £1, dryer 50p, also use of iron and sink to wash up and another for clothes. They even had a fenced off area for you to let your dog off. The owners are very friendly and offer lots of advice about local area and places to go.

The site was well maintained and mostly motorhomes or caravans but plenty of grass to pitch and all pitches have hook up and a tap close by and lots of room between pitches. They are currently in the process of completing a covered pool and have a little cabin with books you can borrow or swap also a shop on site for the basics and caravan parts. Overall really happy with this site and can't wait to return, as a previous review stated a freezer would make it even better but other than that it was great! 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morganste 2 reviews from this member

 A great adult only campsite!

If youíre looking for a peaceful, friendly site - then this is certainly a site you should consider.

On arriving at the site we were greeted and shown to our pitch with EHU which was easily accessible by the tarmac roads around the site.

Our pitch and most of the pitches for that matter had EHU, running water and a waste water grid. Pitches were really spacious and if other people were around us we'd have still been around 20/30 metres apart.

Facilities on site were great. I'll start with the 'Laundry room' which had coin operated washing machine, tumble dryer and iron, along with a clothes rinsing sink and a pot wash sink.

The toilet blocks were probably the best Iíve used on a campsite. There are (i think) 6 separate cubicles in the menís and 8 in the womenís with plenty of room to get dressed etc. Each cubicle has its own shower, toilet, sink, mirror with shaving point and hairdryer. And I must say the hot water from the showers was HOT!

When you arrive at the site, you are requested to give a £10 deposit for a set of keys, one key for the shower block and one key for the gate. The front gate on the driveway is locked after dark, which we thought was a brilliant security measure.

The on site shop is well stocked with caravan equipment, but I canít really comment on this as we didnít really venture into the 'treasure trove for caravanners'. Across from the shop is the indoor swimming pool, but again I can't comment on this as it isn't open until the summer time.

On one of the nights of our stay we visited The Greyhound pub in Bothel. If you have a big appetite then you'll feel right at home here! The meals are MASSIVE and the pub is well worth a visit. If you have your heart set on eating here, it may be worth booking as it gets busy after 7PM.

Judith and her family made us feel very welcome at this site, giving us information on places to visit and things to see.

We'll definitely be returning to this real gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshwizard1971 2 reviews from this member

 More of the same really, the facilities are superb, the best I've have ever come across by miles. The site is sheltered and landscaped with tarmac roads leading to the pitches, and due to the landscaping, each pitch is unique and mostly screened and sheltered. Our pitch after the first night didn't have anybody within 50m of us due to their policy of not overcrowding, so it was really quiet and spacious, and this was the August bank holiday weekend! The owners, both generations, live on site and are friendly and approachable. There is a shop, but it's not normally manned, but they'll be around on site somewhere and easy to find. A great site, far from the cheapest, but you definitely get what you pay for and here you get the quietest cleanest best equipped site. Oh, maybe a freezer for freezing cold packs could be provided? There, I found a negative! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Margaret299 4 reviews from this member

 A wonderful, adults only, campsite! This site has spacious pitches, well kept grounds, large spotless showers and a charming and friendly owner. Access is easy from a main road but most pitches are far enough from the road to avoid noise. It is well placed to visit the Lakes and the lovely towns and villages of the Solway Coast. Thanks to the helpful owner, we located great markets and fairs. She also encouraged us to visit Carlisle Castle which was a real find. There are not really any close shops or eateries but this does mean it is very peaceful. I heartily recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobs 5 reviews from this member

 We agree entirely with the reviews already given about this campsite. It is a clean, quiet top-notch campsite.

However, we do have one big disappointment. When we rang to reserve a pitch for the bank holiday weekend, it was insisted that we book for 3 nights even though we could only stay for 2. We were prepared for that since it has happened to us before with popular sites and we felt we were fortunate to find a pitch so close to the weekend. The Friday night we couldn't make it and so we did ask if we could pay for just the pitch and not the electricity. No, we had to pay for the electricity we weren't going to use as well as the pitch we weren't going to use!

Total was over £56 for two nights.

Whilst there we noticed that there were plenty of un-used pitches on the campsite. Also, one or two campers stayed for 1 night only. We can't imagine them paying approx £56 for three nights and only staying one but apparently they did! Or, perhaps there's a different rate if you just turn up on the off-chance???

It sounds very miserly but these are times when we all have to be cautious over money. It has left a bitter taste in the mouth! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say about this site that hasn't been said before ??? I am loathe to say how good it is in case it gets too busy and we won't be able to get in again !

We went this Easter with friends who have a Caravan and the very friendly owners put us together. The ground was wet as it had been raining all the week before so was to be expected.

The toilets are the best we have ever seen and the views are great small dog walking area but as we took the dogs out through the day it was just for early and late walks so that was fine. There is a small indoor pool but that wasn't open when we were there

Easy to get to anywhere and we went to Silloth and to another Beach area where the dogs could have a good run on the sand

All in all it was a great site and will be going back

It was so lovely and quite with just the bird song in the morning and we hope it stays an Adult only site

We loved it 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mass16 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say about this campsite that has'nt already been said ! It is absolutely fantastic, a small pocket of heaven ( no kids ). The shower blocks are the best Ive seen yet and believe me I am very particular about cleanliness,Staff were extremely friendly without invading your privacy and always ready to answer any questions,
If you like to shop as I do then the best place to go is Carlisle or Keswick, the only down side we had was a visit to the Sun Inn were we found the staff to be very very ignorant, we didn't even stay to order a meal it was that bad.
Other than that the rest of the place is fab and we will definitely be revisiting soon 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Animal168 1 review from this member

 Our first time here. Very friendly reception from Judith, a really nice lady. We had a choice of pitches so we picked a quiet corner. Our own tap and hook-up if we needed one. Very quiet place which suited us down to the ground. As I am a photographer and the surroundings were very 'back to nature' I was over the moon with the photo opportunities. We stayed up late and had a little drinky poo and the whole camp was deadly quiet. Brilliant!

The washing facilities are the best I have come across while camping. The gents had urinal and sink and 5 wet rooms containing sink,toilet and shower, plus a hair dryer if that's your thing?. The ladies was the same I think. All was spotless and a credit to the staff. There was a utility room for pots, a washer, tumble dryer and microwave. All in all the facilities are top marks.

The only drawback with the place is the 4 am dawn chorus, beautiful to hear but not for those who like a lie in :)

Verdict. We will be going as often as possible, we love peace and quiet. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Larches Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Larches Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Larches Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3323 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement