Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Larches Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Larches Caravan Park Reviews

Larches Caravan Park
Mealsgate
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 1LQ
Tel: 01697 371379
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jillca 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this campsite before it is excellent we would not go anywhere else now.

Peaceful, plenty of space for our large tent and the owners are so friendly and helpful and the shower blocks are excellent, lovely and warm and extremely clean.

We always enjoy our stay here.

Looking forward to going back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donna Dean 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 days at this site last week and words could not do it justice! This is my favourite site by a mile! It is so peaceful. Also adult only. Judith and her family really care about this place and it shows. The pitches are huge!

There are mature trees around, lovely cut lawns. Judith and her family seem to really value and care about visitors enjoying there stay. And nothing is too much trouble. (Even when our duvets and mattresses would not fit back in the car!

Thank you Judith for taking them off our hands!) The site is super dog friendly and our crazy Cockapoo loved the views and walks down to the doggie area. Showers are free, hot and there are plenty of them. There is a cooking kitchen, with things to use.

A washing up room too with ironing board, iron and washer.

Wigton is 5 mile away and has Coop and Lidl. Also a BnM, fantastic butchers and bakery. A fab Chinese too. The Greyhound in Bothel has superb food and highly recommend. Also dog friendly. Close to the Lakes and Hadrians wall.

Gretna Green is only half hour away as is Carlisle. I cannot recommend this site enough and wish we could have stayed a lot longer.

I cannot wait to return! 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Proud69 1 review from this member

 Fantastic. What can I say. So relaxing and good chill time and made to feel very welcome.

Also great pub called the greyhound just 2 miles away in bothel. Will definitely be going back and recommend them.

Very helpful and great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vanncamper 3 reviews from this member

 Have known site for 40+ years, know owners, used to live near, we stayed for first time in August, peace personified !

Wonderful place, a bit run down, toilets and showers spot on, pool ! well enough said. ! A great peaceful retreat. Site could be a gold mine, if I was 20 years younger I would buy it.

The big bonus, adult only, no kids, bliss. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gpjw 12 reviews from this member

 A peaceful, quiet site but starting to get a little rundown.

Overpriced, however Judith the owner was very friendly and helpful.

Toilet block spotless and all in all suited us being adult only and within easy reach of northern part of lake district. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bncampn 2 reviews from this member

 Are you looking for peace and quiet in a countryside setting with views (depending where you pitch) plenty of wildlife especially rabbit, and add the warm welcome from Judith and family and their helpfulness and information regarding pubs, restaurants, local shopping, sight seeing then this maybe the place for you.

Facilities are excellent with a heated shower block with private enclosed cubicles which have shower, hand-basin, toilet, shaver-point, hairdryer and always clean, tidy and smelling nice*. The washing area is good and includes a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and board available at a small charge, and a drying line outside.

Whether you want a holiday in The Lakes or travelling further then The Larches is the ideal place to stay. I stayed twice as toured The Highlands and had stayed at their sister site (or brother) Northern Lights at Badcaul on the banks of Little Loch Broom. Like his sister the Warden always has a warm welcome for you and is knowledgeable with the surrounding area, many thanks will return. Will also return to The Larches.

(Footnote)

A big thank you to Judith who arranged a car brake repair at Jacksons Garage on A595 a big thank you to them also.

* Based on Male Shower/Toilet 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P3rky 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed at the Larches Caravan Park the first week of July. Judith greeted us very warmly and showed us to our pitch; we had chosen a fully serviced one so everything was laid on. She was very helpful setting up the pitch. Toilet and shower block were more than adequate and clean. The views were stunning. The site is adults only therefore very peaceful. Aladdin's cave of caravan and camping accessories, no shop for food on site but ideally located for the Lakes and surrounding country, close to the village of Wigton where there are numerous shops and cafes. The Sun Inn is a few miles down the road, huge portions, be careful when ordering as we wereted a lot of food; Mootas garden centre do a great breakfast. We're newbies to touring and this was a great first impression and we'll definitely be going to Larches again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cassap 2 reviews from this member

 The larches caravan park had a lovely warm welcome. I had phoned up before hand to ask if it were ok to bring a rather large tunnel tent (as most sites don't take them) said it was fine. We had a great selection of three pitches where we could have the tent and plenty of room. The toilets were immaculate and I see they have put new suites into the toilets (been years ago). The little camping kitchen with the micro wave was a great help for cooking for four adults and two dogs.

The shop was heaven to get all the parts for the caravan and tent. This is the only shop we come too for all our accessories, if Judith did not have it in she ordered it for us, couldn't ask for better service.

The site is a brilliant place to be at for the Lake District and the Scottish Borders. We spent two days in the lakes and two days over the border.

There some nice little pubs either way of the site, one just at bothel and one outside of Wigton good home cooked food for a good price.

I must admit it is nice to see a adult only site where couples, family or friends can get together for a quite and relaxing time. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bordercollies 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were greeted at the reception/shop which looked a little chaotic inside, the swimming pool clearly hadn't been used forever as it bore all the signs of a dumping ground, one of its selling points gone! But we were greeted by a friendly and chatty lady who escorted us to our pitch. This was a large area that had no marked out pitches, was pure 'hardstanding' and had no grassed area like the pictures shown on the many websites this caravan site is listed on. All in all we were very disappointed with our pitch despite it being fully serviced, we can only assume we were given that pitch as we were only stopping three nights; others arrived after us and were given more favourable pitches. The on site facilities e. G. Toilets, showers and laundry were perfectly acceptable, clean and warm. There were signs of it becoming a caravan graveyard with caravans having been left in various locations clearly never having been used and being allowed to fall into ruin. Whilst there is limited evidence of improvements it is such a shame that this site has been allowed to deteriorate. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HJN1 5 reviews from this member

 We are brand new to caravanning and used this site as a 'try out', having been long term campers. Wow what a find, we couldn't have been luckier.

Lovely quiet adult's only, tucked away in the north lake district. Easy to navigate our way to and spacious really well equipped pitches.

The site owner was friendly and an absolute mine of information couldn't have made it easier for us. Nothing was too much trouble.

The shop on site is amazing; very reminiscent of the old fashioned hardware stores -except this one is for caravaners (no food provisions). Didn't try the pubs but the menu looked good and just a short drive away.

Now I am really fussy and whilst I agree with others that the tiles etc are a bit dated, the showers, loos etc. Were immaculate the whole time we were there ( although my husband found the shower a little too hot!). We have already re-booked. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Larches Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Larches Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Larches Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3911 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement