Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Llandow Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Cowbridge > Llandow Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Llandow Touring Caravan Park
Llandow
Cowbridge
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF71 7PB
Tel: 01446 794527
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wazer1 5 reviews from this member

Been camping for over 15yrs and never knew of this little jem. Only 1/2 hour down the road. Clean, very well run. Nice area for kids to play in and lovely rabbits (petting area). We went down to try new tent out as we wanted to make sure all good (eurohike tent not good)before season finished. The Eisteddfod was on in next feild which was noisy but did not stop us (2 adults and 3 kids)having alovely break. Gold star for the toilets. Will go back this year for a few weekends as its close and the beaches are only 10 mins away. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamski666 3 reviews from this member

I spent one sunny day in this camp-site and can honestly say they truly deserve their 4 star status. As soon as we arrived, we were shown where everything was within the park and shown to our spot. As my friend and I went alone as two adults, we were kept well away from the noisy children and the play area.

The electric points were well positioned and with a minimum space between each tent or van, there was a real sense of privacy.

The toilet block was immaculate with plenty of toilets and showers to accommodate several people at once. Some small touches like flowers by the sinks and heated blocks made all the difference.

The shop was well stocked and had every necessity you may have forgotten to bring along and the owner was more than willing to help when I couldn't find the item I wanted.

The field across the road which is usually used as a dog walking area was closed for an Eisteddfod, but there were several places nearby to go instead. Again, the owners were very helpful in pointing out places to visit and were very flexible about what time we could return to the camp.

I had such a wonderful and relaxing time, this is what camping is all about. I would definitely visit again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site to others.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slackey 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this site quite a few times, in both our tent and our caravan.

This site is very local to me and ideal for a short notice weekend away (if pitches are available)

The site is very well maintained. There is an electronic barrier with key code for access and automatic barrier for exit.

On arrival you will be shown to your pitch by George, who is very helpful and can always be seen pottering around should you require anything. The pitches are all level and mainly grass, although there are some hardstandings but these seem to be for the larger RV type motorhomes.

The tent area is separate from the caravans but equally as well maintained and equipped.

The showers and toilets are superb. Very clean, free and quite modern. There is also plenty of room. The chemical disposal point and washing up area are also very well maintained and more than adequate.

There is a little shop that has all the essentials you may need and is well stocked with various camping supplies.

There is also a small children's play area that is away from the main site so the noise is not annoying to other campers.

One thing I have noticed is that if the weather is wet, the electrics can trip, it only happened twice to us, so was not too much inconvenience, however it is happening regularly then I can understand it becomes frustrating. The fact it is tripping proves the RCD works so that is reassuring in a way. I would suggest the site owners have tis looked at though as it would suggest an ingress of water somewhere (it must be taken in to account that nuisance tripping could be due to other campers having hook up cables that are faulty or allowing the ingress of water at the plug/socket)

It is usually very quiet on the site, however there is a Go-Kart track adjacent to the site and this can cause it to become quite noisy, especially at weekends. Fortunately we have always stayed at the opposite end of the site so it has not bothered us to much.

There is a whole myriad of things to do in the surrounding area. Ogmore, PorthKerry and The Lays all offer dog friendly beaches (Ogmore Central being the best), the Brecon Beacons is a short drive away, Cardiff is about 20-25 mins and LLantwit major (the nearest town) has lots of little shops and some fantastic coastal walks.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone, the noise from the go-karts and the fact the electricity trips has caused me to lower my score, otherwise this would have been a 9 or 10/10.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newcamper76 4 reviews from this member

Not the greatest of welcomes, a guy told us to pitch up in a very boggy area but there had been a lot of rain in the days previously. We were told that we would be in trouble if it rained again. We eventually sorted ourselves out and all seemed well.

The toilet block was close and clean, the water and disposal areas too which were nice and accessible. Our children (7 & 5) were able to go to the park, which was in view of the van and were able to ride their bikes around without any worry really. They made some nice little friends.

The problems really started soon after setting up whereby the electrics tripped and having spoken to a fellow camper, this had happened many, many times over the last few years. On the first afternoon the electrics tripped over 50 times. This continued into the night and made our stay pretty miserable. It did not let up during our three days and for this reason alone I would not return.

The final straw for me was the sheer noise from the Karting track on the other side of the fence. It was unbearable for me, but others have seasonally pitched their vans there so maybe I am too fussy?

We were offered a free nights stay which was pointless as we have no intention of returning, but was at least a gesture of goodwill. The wardens were not particularly apologetic but we did email the owner who was very helpful and apologetic and gave us a full refund after we asked for it. Despite this we will not be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campgnu 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a night on Saturday. We are local Cardiff & Barry people (3A, 2C & 3 dogs) and decided on a whim as it was sunny, to go stay close by and chose Llandow for its reviews and website. You turn in past the noisy Karting Centre to a 'pleasant' (NOT!) view to an Ind Estate Area road.

Reception was fine with a friendly welcome and a small shop with basic supplies. Given a code for the security barriers (good if you have a caravan, not necessary for a tent, as the perimeter of the camping field doesn't have a secure fence around, just bushes and trees you can 'literally' walk through to the noisy roads beyond!) Also if you ask you get a code for the free WiFi, which is good.

You're shown to your pitch by friendly George, who gives you all the necessary info regarding the facilities of the site.

It was a Saturday afternoon and the Karting Centre was in full flow and yes very noisy. Especially when you're in the playground and can hear the karts screeching around the bends.

The tent 'field' is a triangular corner of the tightly rowed caravan park and has roads either side.

The shower/toilet block are absolutely fine and kept clean the time we were there.

All in all, nice people and an average site but the roads and karts make you feel you're camping on a busy roundabout. Will not be returning sorry.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catlover 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week in August and will definitely be back. Fabulous flat quiet campsite, brilliant hot showers and always clean.

The camp shop is open long hours and the wardens were always available to help. The regulars we very friendly as well, offering advice what to do and see.

There is so much to do in the area we will have to go again to fit it all in. The St Fagans Natural History Museum is supberb. The beaches nearby are close.

The local train station has free parking and a quick ride into Cardiff. Can recommend this campsite and area without hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cullbaggie 5 reviews from this member

The park facilities are very good - the water was always hot in the showers! and never had to wait once during the 6 days we stayed. The pitches are flat and well maintained, noise levels were low - despite the cart track next door!

I have never holidayed in this area - we go further towards the Gower! But what a surprise this area is.

Porthkerry country park was an unexpected surprise, especially for us dog owners, as expected most beaches are out of bounds to dogs!

For dog owners here is a list of places were they are welcome

Ogmore by sea, Bryngarw country park, Porthkerry country park, Portcawl sand dunes - I am sure there are a load more, but Bridgend Ti were not that helpful as to which places are!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toddy tent 3 reviews from this member

Got to admit this site was pleasant enough at the start of our holiday last July 2011, cannot fault the facilities or the wardens all good. What lets this site down is that they jammed people onto the tent field so close that we came back to find our tent cheek by jowel with somebodies toilet tent, which they obviously could not be bothered to empty. Our neighbours also had a live fire bucket within 2 metres of their own tent, we did send off a letter when we got back, but no answer

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam2108 1 review from this member

It is a brilliant campsite we visit there regularly & they are very understanding with the fact we have a loud classic car and are very good with the children. The play area is spectacular and the cleaning facilities etc are very clean & I also like the fact they have even provided a large sink in the ladies toilets to wash the baby in because he is to young to be taken into a shower !

I will certainly be visiting there again I am even thinking of storing my van down there so we can go there more often without the hassle of towing it there all the time !

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vangoodings 5 reviews from this member

We didnít bring the children with us to this site so I can only comment on what looked like to be great facilities for them. They had a whole field, fenced off for kicking a ball and some swings etc. So no shouting at them to get away from someoneís pitch or car with their ball.

A gated off site so very secure too and the warden was very friendly and very much in appearance if you need him.

We went during a buy time and we were a bit higgledy piggledy with the pitches which usually throws me as I like a properly demarcated pitch - HOWEVER we had plenty of room and a super flat pitch so I have no complaints at all.

Lovely site and lovely people.

Facilities did the job, basic but clean and enough hot water. The washing up area was indoors, there and the back wall was covered with tourist info which was really helpful.

Itís quite close to a karting track and we were warned that there might be some noise, but writing this review retrospectively, I can remember IF there was any so I canít have been bothered by it!

Well situated for exploring the area - Cowbridge is worth a visit, as is the coast here.

Again Ogmore, Southerndown and the coastal path are all worth a visit. We looked in on Dunhaven, a little bay - beautiful.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5669 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019