Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) > Reviews

Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Black Rock Sands
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Median 19 reviews from this member

 I have to be honest here and say that this is certainly not the sort of site I'd usually stay at however I was meeting family who had hired a static on site so it made sense.

On arrival the gate staff and warden were very helpful however first impressions of the touring area were not great. There are concrete bases for caravans with a wood chip part adjacent for your awning. The area around these is grass with very poor drainage and the piches are very close to each other. Our pitch had its own tap and waste point which was very useful. The woodchip was a real pain as it wouldn't hold a peg securely and no matter how hard we tried we couldn't keep it out of the van! A full awning and a groundsheet would have solved both of these issues. The 'toilet block' was a selection of portacabins, which are fine.

The site entertainment is good if you like that sort of thing with a really good pool and baby pool.

I think sites like these are mainly geared for statics and while they had obviously tried to make a decent touring area it wasn't really up to scratch.

Also if you're used to paying CC rates you'll be surprised by the cost per night here although you do get access to the entertainment block which, if you like that sort of thing, has lots to do for kids (soft play, bowling, small rides, games machines) although the outdoor play area is smaller than most. It also has a bar for the grown ups.

The BIG positive for this site is that it backs onto Black Rock Sands which is a super beach. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Missmoo11 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival on site I really couldn't believe it, a field with tourers and motorhomes in rows in the field 3 deep no room to park a car comfortably, pitches arent big enough to park a motorhome, the front/back wheels just rest on concrete, the area for awning it tree bark with sand beneath so very difficult to peg down the pegs don't hold. Showers well, clean, 3 for each sex, but no other facilities inside, after you're showered you have to go to toilet block for sink/mirrors. Toilets are separate, all the blocks showers/toilets are porta cabins, and not heated. Site swimming pool was lovely but the water not exceptionally clean, and you have to go through the arcade to get to not a good route. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Muskeym 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site during the Easter holidays.

This is a Haven site. All pitches were hard standing. On arrival we were directed to a pitch which was sited in between two rows of pitches all on its own. The pitch was really only suitable for a caravan or camper without an awning. It was certainly not suitable for a folding camper. It didn't matter which way we pitched it the bedrooms would have been in the back of both neighbours vans and no room for an awning. After 10 minutes the warden came and said he had a bigger pitch but not to tell the office as he would get into trouble for moving people around. The pitch was bigger but there was no grass in front of it just dirt. It was OK once we had pitched but when we took down the awning everything left under the camper for storage was filthy. All of the pitches were worn and little grass for awnings to be placed. When we looked later there seemed to be a number of empty pitches so don't know what the problem was.

The toilets and showers were in porta cabins. These were OK 0nly 3 toilets and 3 showers in the ladies but they were cleaned 3 times a day. I think most of the campers used their own facilities in their caravans as there was never a queue. The water pressure was very poor. There was hardly any pressure in the toilet sink and the showers were electric like you have at home so not suitable for use on a campsite of this size.

Washing up facilities were fine but not used a lot by other campers from what I could see.

The park itself was a typical Haven. Pool was clean and warm. You could get a better shower in there. Entertainment was good with lots for the kids. There is a bar selling meals which we used for breakfast one morning. Food is typical pub food. There is a fish and chip shop on site which was excellent but pricey.

Security on site good had to show passes on entering the site everytime.

Around the site there were lots of places to visit such as Barmouth, Shell island and snowdonia.

Overall the site has good facilities but the pitches poor. We have stayed at other Haven sites before where the pitches were better but the toilets not cleaned enough. Suppose you can't have it all.

Don't think we will go for hardstanding again as this limits you on which way you pitch and where you put your awning.

We tend to use Haven at Easter in case the weather is bad so you have facilities inside to use. Will not be visiting this site again but will use Haven again as it is good value for money if you can get a cheap deal. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Goomaks 18 reviews from this member

 Just come back after two weeks at this site. The touring area has been neglected compared to the rest of the holiday park. The hard stands are paving slabs, a lot of which are broken and not well maintained, the drainage (even allowing for the wet weather)was poor on the roadway and bad on the hardstands themselves.

The `heated` toilet/shower block were portable cabins - which is not mentioned in the Haven brochure. The `heating` was a fan heater screwed to the wall with no operating instructions-not exactly what you would expect for 2012.

The wardens = where were they? Apart from when we booked in we never saw them, they did not bother coming round to check and see if `there`customers were happy, should they not be the face of Haven on site. If we had been paying full summer price we would not have been happy campers. We would not go there again. If you want to go, phone the site first to see if the toilet/shower block has been knocked down and rebuilt, don`t phone the booking line they don`t know. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GMom24 2 reviews from this member

 After visiting this site recently we would not return unless they invested time and funding in the pitches and facilities. My other half does not want to return at all. We spoke to other people on site that also feel the same including a couple that have been three times but won't be going again. The awning(or tent) pitches are sand pits that are lower than the surrounding area resulting in major flooding if there is any heavy rain; so bad that units were having to be moved, completely set up, by tractor and manual labour to dryer pitches that had already had the water drained. Others such as ours that was only under a couple of inches of water were emptied and the ground sheet lifted so that the warden could fork over the area to try to drain it. It was a complete nightmare trying to dry bedding etc for the night as it continued to rain. I'm not blaming Haven for the weather but for not setting up level, or heaven forbid, raised pitches.

The waste drains, two per pitch, are located handily at the back and side of the pitch but these were blocked and also flooded into the ground (and washed into the awning area!)

The facilities consist of portacabins; 3 small cubicles and sinks each for ladies and gents. The flow of water from the taps was so low it was difficult to properly wash your hands as they turned off as soon as you let the top go though the single dryer was working well.

The showers were also small and difficult to regulate. There is a sign explaining that if any water is used it will affect the operation of the shower. - not ideal when there are at least 40 pitches sharing it. As the cubicles were small I struggled as a larger person to get washed and dried. I don't think I'd have managed to wash my toddler in there too. Also, there wasn't a drain in the drying area so when you step out of the shower to dress you are still standing in water with only one hook to put everything making it very difficult to get dry and keep your clothes dry. I noticed other, more experienced, site users coming back from the showers wearing dressing gowns and dressing in their units.

Another complaint of the site was that our neighbours had dogs which they let the kids walk who in turn let the dogs defecate all over the grass every day. Whether this was deliberate I'm not sure but despite mentioning it to someone from the site, it continued until we left (4 days before our holiday was due to end as we'd got fed up of bailing out the awning by this point!)

It is a shame the touring side of the site is let down. We stayed in a static on here and though far from perfect, it was a whole lot better than the touring section. It has all the normal features you would expect on a Haven site such as restaurant, pool arcade etc but we didn't use any of it this time.

The location is beautiful and the site has easy access to the gorgeous beach. It is also very close to Porthmaddog which is a busy town with a Tesco superstore open until midnight so that you don't have to pay the overpriced site prices. You are close to the stunning Snowdonia mountain range so the scenery is spectacular.

The only other downside to the site (and area) is the mobile reception which on both orange and three was sporadic. Which in turn meant no internet access in the van though I think there is wifi in the restaurant.

I've given the site 3/10 for facilities but only because it does have flushing toilets, electric hook up and water which I'm told other sites don't have but I also suspect that these other sites don't charge premium rates. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bafoo 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a five day stay here. Must say that after reading other reviews we were a little concerned about the suitability of this site for trailer tents. We were pleasantly surprised, as we were able to park the main tent on hardstanding and have the awning on the grass.

The drainage on the grassed areas was poor but given the amount of rain that fell, we were not surprised. The showers and toilets were spotless at all times, and we never had to queue to use them. The site warden was friendly and helpful.

The evening entertainment was great for our 4 year old, plenty of arcade machines to fleece you! Found the bar fairly expensive but didn't expect much else!

Used the pitch and putt, which was very disappointing. The beach was lovely although we only visited once due to the weather.

We only paid 82 for the five nights (half price deal) which was good value but would not have been too impressed with this site had we paid the full going rate.

Overall, a good break for very little, this site is not as bad as some other reviews have suggested. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very wet jubilee break! I have been to this site a few times over the years and not been for about 9years. It hasn't changed a lot, the location is the selling point due to the fabulous beach, however, the money we paid for the touring pitches was high in comparison to the standard that we received.

Haven need to knock the touring pitches down and start again! We have been to other Haven sites which have had new Euro pitches built and they need to invest in this site, they are a mess, we were tucked into a pitch with hardly any room, the ground is sandy and dusty and it floods in rain, we had a lot of rain it was torrential for most of the time so pitches had ducks swimming on them!

The toilets/showers are in portaloos and even though they were clean the site doesn't warrant the extortionate charges in peak times. The warden is friendly and helpful and makes the best of a bad site!

The facilities are good for families in the main complex, but, the pool also needs re doing and its not changed at all since I visited years ago, it looks quite tatty and needs re building and starting again. Haven need to invest like they have in other sites, until the touring area is re done we wont be visiting again.

The kids entertainers were brilliant and the evening entertainment was really good, we were grateful of the indoor facilities due to the terrible weather/floods that Wales has had over this break. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tarry1150 1 review from this member

 The location is great really close to the dunes and beach and so was the warden who met us as we arrived he gave us a choice of three pitches,

The weather was not looking that promising so we chose a pitch with a grass area of similar height to the hardstanding.

The toilet and shower block are still of the mobile type with 3 showers and toilets in both, they were not spotless but not dirty so 6 out of 10 for them.

The good thing about this site is the entertainment block with pub and pool and all the staff we met were friendly however this site does not offer value for money, we paid 47 per night with cc discount and I have paid a lot less for a lot more

Like others have said you get the opinion this site is set up more for the large static vans. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flimper@linzi 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 4 nights at Easter here and on arrival were greeted by the warden who let us choose our own pitch. The super pitches were of adequate size but very close together.

The mens toilets were not very clean on any of the days we were there, they mopped the floor and emptied the bins but never seemed to clean anything else. My wife said that the womens were ok but not as good as any other haven site we had stopped at.

The shower block was small and fairly clean and the water was always hot. The rest of the site was fantastic, well maintained and clean.

The complex and entertainment was of a high standard, great for the kids. The mash and barrel restaurant served top quality food and the staff were friendly and attentive.

The site is in a great location for the beach which is fantastic, great for building sand castles, the sea is also very shallow so the kids can splash about.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, they just need to clean the toilets more often in the touring area. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawnsunny 12 reviews from this member

 When we booked to go to Greenacres it was with much trepidation, and we almost talked ourselves out of it. This would not normally be our choice of site.

But we love the area and it was such a bargin at only 61 for 4 nights that we thought we would go and give it a try.

How very wrong we were.

The bad bits first.

The pitches were hardstanding.This means, on the normal electric pitches, a square of flags, and on the fully serviced a full concreted area. Awnings would be pitched on a very sandy uneven base and when it rainned got very waterlogged. We had to take our awning down after one night it was so full of water. However we moved onto another pitch and we were fine. (although it didn't rain again after the first night!)

Our neighbours told us that they have been coming to Haven for years but that the company don't really want Tourers so wont spend any money on updating the touring area, which is a HUGE shame as it could be so nice with some proper well drained pitches. The pitches are also not well marked out and some were smaller than others so it was a little haphazard as to where to put your car. But people seemed to work things out and we weren't put off by it. The loos and toilets are in porta cabins, I didn't use them myself, stayed with our own facilities, but my husband did and he said that they were clean but small and having a shower was difficult in such a small space.

The good bits.

The touring site was just across the road from the main reception pool and activity site, which was great as our children didn't have too far to go. (unlike the owners of statics.The site is SO big that they would have a very long way to go!) The staff we found to be extremely helpful and always had a smile for you. Scott always seemed to be at the heart of it all and the kids liked him.

The activities for the kids, which were arranged in age groups, had to be parent supervised, were fantastic and our girls were eager and willing to join in. The panto of cinderella was very professional, well put together and made us laugh. (we never go on sites with clubs, but we all really enjoyed the entertainment).

On another night we enjoyed the 'its not rocket science', which was both entertaining and educational. I guess too, because it was low season, we we able to do most things without too many crowds/queues.

The pool is great and there are lots of extra things you can book for, at a small charge. You can hire bikes, 4 seater bikes, play crazy golf, archery and so much more.

The children's park is free and so is the all weather football/basket ball pitch and the bouncy castle.

Blackrock sands is just at the end of the site and there is a dog walk too over a nature reserve. It was amazing to have everything so close on one site. In the morning we were woke up to the sounds of the sea and the seagulls.Perfect!.

I feel this site really brings the family together and we cant wait to return.I just wish they would update the touring pitches, then it really would be a perfect place to go for us. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement