Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Black Rock Sands
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Floyd 73 bay 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site at the end of April 2008, we enjoyed the site. With Haven sites you know what you are going to get. The beach on site black rock sands is really nice, the entertainment complex was typical Haven but not to badly priced.
The pitch on site we booked was fully serviced however the waste was as good as none existant. The toilet and shower facilities were a bit smelly and could have done with a good clean or possibly being updated. I would possibly return but it wont be at the top of my list, however for what we paid it was great value for money. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petewxm 7 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site, Its not too big, just right, you get all the factilites and entertainment from a Haven site but on a smaller scale.

We went for a long weekend in October we only paid £30 for 3 nights, what a bargain.

The touring site is small, so if you are booking for a tourer get in there quick or they will be gone, I`d say it holds about 30 caravans.

There is only 1 toilet/shower block for the tourers, I would think this gets really busy at peak season, so any extra block wouldn`t go amiss.

Black rock beach stunning!

Would I go again.

Yes! 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angslj 6 reviews from this member

 What a fab site! Really enjoyed our stay here the park is well kept and clean. Ideal place for children my daugher 2 1/2 yrs old love it here. The shop is well stocked and pub meals there was ok great entertainment at the showbar. The showers was ok and cleaned at regular basis. To top it all we had lovely weather for 3 days and the beach was only a couple minutes walk fab! Will be going back next year for sure! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MOLUSC 12 reviews from this member

 I must addmit I am not too fond of Haven sites,but as this was a cheap out of season deal we thought we would give it a go for the weekend.

Blackrock is a wonderfull beach with caves and rockpools etc and you can pay to drive onto it and spend the day.

Greenacres is situated just over the dunes from this beach(just a short stroll.)

The on site facillities are great for kids-arcades,shows,indoor pool with 3 observant life guards on duty.

The whole camp is neat and tidy.

Breakfasts are reasonably priced (but a little on the small side).

The breakfast area is nicely decorated and is relaxing.

Out of season,there was plenty of seating in the show bar and the show was very good (fright night).

The warden on the touring site was very helpful,and I saw him early Sunday morning walking around in the rain picking up bits of litter.

All in all- for a relaxing cheap out of season weekend-great.

The best Haven site I have ever been to.

8 out of 10

We will go again soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daveclark9 2 reviews from this member

 Was disappointed with the condition of the touring area, Super pitches are concrete hard standings, grass (well mud) for awnings. Sewage pumps in the corner of the touring field which were smelly, cant imagine what these are like on a hot summers day. Showers/toilets well all I can say is it did have some, really poor condition, hot water and heating problems on our stay. The park access road has lots of vicious speedbumps approx 10-15 before you reach touring area, these are definatly not caravan friendly. Conclusion - we got a bargain break with haven, our pitch was sheltered while rest of park was lashed by gale winds and rain, would probably return again out of season as long as it was cheap enough. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kiminwales1 10 reviews from this member

 This was excellent value as haven were doing an out of season offer and we paid £21 for 2 adults and 2 year old twins with EHU for 4 nights.
 
However, I have to say I wasn't particularly impressed with the touring site's suitability for a trailer tent (probably fine for caravans though).  It was muddy and had a hardstanding area of paving slabs which meant we couldn't peg the front of the tent and also hurt your knees if you knelt on them inside the tent.  However, an incline behind us meant we couldn't move the tent backwards.  It was absolutely pouring when we packed up and it was really hard to keep the mud off.  
 
Toilet and shower block was ok as far as the facilities themselves but weren't cleaned at the times stated on the doors - beware they state they are shut for 1 hour intervals 3 times a day for cleaning.  The bin in the toliet block certaintly wasn't emptied for over a day and was overflowing.  The showers also made the floors incredibly wet very quickly and didn't seem to drain which didn't mix well with the mud on your shoes!
 
3 indoor sinks for washing up.
 
On a more positive note - the site overall seems very well maintained - the touring site is very close to the main facilities - and access to a swimming pool, children's activities, indoor play area and the Rory tiger show! for £21 was fantastic value particularly on those days it rained heavily!  You do however have to walk through arcade machines and those little kiddie rides to get to these things - so beware if your child has to go on them!
 
Only a short walk to the beautiful black rock sands beach as well.
 
In summary - I would return for the facilities as the kids loved all it had to offer and are still talking about Rory tiger 4 weeks later (!) but would think twice to do so to this site with the trailer tent. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gilly1 9 reviews from this member

 Just had a week at this site and while the complex facilities were good the touring site was poor!

The toilet and showers were dirty and you were lucky to find a cubicle with a lock that worked. I suppose you could always try singing, that said there was plenty of hot water trouble was you could not regulate the tempreture and it got uncomfortably hot, I`m probably a wus.

The pitches are very cramped together, the superpitch has got a tv point but the site manager said it hasn't worked since it was installed, poor wife missed her soaps.

Overall for young children it's very good with excellent outdoor play area, splash area not pool, and good indoor pool, large entertainment complex to drain your purse or wallet also two bars, showbar for the young and one for the adults.

Would probably not choose this site again but go for another in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karen354 6 reviews from this member

 I really like this touring site, It's quite a small touring section very close to the club house.. I go there a couple of times a year but not in peak season..usually the toilets & showers are kept clean & tidy. Lots & lots to do on site for the children.. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lindseyb 2 reviews from this member

 We'd left home early to try to get a good pitch on the site, as we'd discovered that pitches were not allocated and were taken on a "first come first served" basis.

We'd found a site map on the Haven British Holidays website. This appeared to show a nice green area at the far end of the site which would allow my boys a small play area. We arrived hoping to get a pitch in this grassy area. The grassy area was actually a large calor gas storage area and apparantly there is a strong smell of sewerage.

The camp site manager was an angel. He was able to provide bowling green carpeting to cover the mud to enable us to pitch our trailer tent (the other alternative was to put the tent on the concrete hardstanding).

The camp field is surrounded by static caravans on 3 sites and the 4th site is across the road from the entertainments complex (the disco music could be heard clearly. There was a path through the camp field to the static caravans which resulted in late night pedestrians causing some noise.

The washing up sinks were located in the same block as the toilets and showers. At the time of our visit there was an issue with the boilers and there was regularly no hot water. Once the boiler was turned back on, hot water was available within minutes. It was frustrating to have to walk to the entertainments complex to ask for hot water. The "toilet promise" so prominently displayed in the pool and entertainments complex did not appear to apply to the camping field.

The toilets and showers appeared to only be cleaned once a day, and the security key pad had been broken off earlier in the season and not replaced. The bins were often overflowing and the shower area never seemed very clean.

Despite the website saying that dogs were not allowed during school holidays, there were dogs in caravans (and not all owners cleared up after their dog). The camp manager did clear up immediately when we reported dog poo near to our tent.

The rest of the campsite was well cared for (particularly the privately owned caravans) and access to the beach was a bonus. The swimming pool (free lockers) was good and my children particularly enjoyed the outdoor splash zone. There is pitch and putt (£1.50 to hire club and ball) on site.

The camp site manager, John, was a star. He happily helped first time campers and could tell you where to buy the best fish and chips in Wales.

The location was good with excellent sandy beaches within 20 minutes.

Overall, we were disappointed with the camping facilities and felt that residents of the camping field were treated as second class. Whilst we would holiday in this area again because we love it, we would not visit this park again - next time we'll camp at a campsite not a holiday park. 


Reviewer: k.murphy 10 reviews from this member

 May 2004
After eventually finding the site was told to just pitch up in any of the available pitches which there were only a few left. The non super pitches can get a little tight especially up near the toilet/shower block. However the toilets and 6 showers x male 6 x female were cleaned regularly and also a family type bathroom suitable for disabled was available. Never had to queue. Great facilities on site for the youngsters and a new out door splash zone with lots of fountain type showers to run amongst. Large amusement and leisure complex typical of Haven/BHPs.
Lovely setting with the mountains in the distance and a wide expanse of nice sandy beach on your doorstep. You can also drive your car onto the beach if you leave the park and travel a short distance up the road to the vehicle entrance. Lots of water skis use the beach at one end which is all controlled and no danger to bathers.
Nature reserve adjacent to the park amongst the sand dunes.
I would certainly return to the site. Nicely placed to visit Snowdonia and the many attractions along the coast  


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement