Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) > Reviews

Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Black Rock Sands
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robertb174 16 reviews from this member

 A very well positioned site. Great for exploring Snowdonia, with Mt Snowdon only being about a 40 minute drive through some beautiful villages and countryside.

The Bad Bits

Bins were constantly overflowing. I complained 3 times and was told the site was checked 3 times a day. Clearly not the case as the bins were left overflowing for 36 hours at least on one occasion!

Toilet block is a Portable cabin with 3 showers and 3 WC's. Toilets were quite often smelly and dirty with no way for people to clean them after use. Showers were dirty and again no mop/bucket to clean them after use.

Would not recommend Haven at this point in time as this is the 2nd poor experience on their sites. It is a real shame because the facilities are superb when away from the touring site and with a very small amount of effort they could deliver a really good all round product. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paul Quantock 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were told to pitch wherever we liked however during the night we had heavy rain & were awoken at 3am soaking wet only to find 3' of water in the tent due to poor drainage. By daybreak nearly all the pitches were flooded & being sandy the pegs holding the tents & awnings were coming out. On contacting reception we were told there was nothing they can do about the weather however the warden did bring us a spare mattress from her own caravan as ours were soaked we had to spend 15 to dry our bedding etc in their launderette & was not offered any help with this cost. Although this is a Haven site we were very disappointed with the entertainment as we saw the same shows on two days in a weeks break, entertainment was ok for younger children but our teenagers found very little to do other than spend money in the arcades. In our opinion this site is not suitable for trailer tents 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Familycokes 2 reviews from this member

 We booked Greenacres for 7 nights last August, 2 adults and 2 children and stayed an extra night.

On arrival we were met by the warden and there were only two pitches left to choose from, so glad we chose the one in the trees as next morning due to the amount of rain that fell overnight (12 hrs worth) the caravan next to the pitch we could have been on was surrounded by a moat!

Not much space around us and couldn't use middle awning doors as next caravan very close to us. Toilets and showers ok - always had hot water, very clean if you were first in after they'd been cleaned but later on not the case.

Think they try to get too many tourers in such a small space, more evenly spread out would be much better.

Haven facilities very good, carpet was soaked morning after the 12 hr rainfall due to a leak in the roof even after trying to dry out carpet there was a smell in the club, our children enjoyed themselves and went to the kids club a couple of times with us, once they made a telescope and the other time a trip down to the beach to make sandcastles.

We went into the club a few evenings to see the family entertainment which was ok. Used the swimming pool, had a couple of meals at Mash & Barrel - nothing to write home about but perfectly adequate.

Weather wasn't great however did improve so we booked an extra night, that's the way to do it if you can take the chance they have space as it was only 25 per night whereas when we booked it online it was 47 a night if I remember correctly.

We would go again as children really enjoyed themselves and that's what its all about. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy1kenobe 1 review from this member

 We had a great 3 night break here. We had a super hard standing pitch with electric and water hook up and drainage too. This was cheaper than the standard pitch with electric hook up when we booked on-line!

We were greeted by the friendly and helpful warden and given a choice of available pitches along with our information pack and passes.

The pitches are nearly all flat and there is room for an awning and to park your car. The touring site was almost full when we were there but still plenty of space around the pitches.

There are portacabin style toilets, showers and dish washing area which were new this year. Plenty of hot water and the showers are the proper electric type and not the push button every 20 seconds for water. There is a well stocked shop which is not too pricey. Make sure to use your own carrier bags as they do charge 15p for them!

Typical Haven entertainment for the kids and adults. Usual amusements, pub with sky tv, play areas and swimming pools as well as various other things to do such as golf and archery.

The park is on a great location next to the sand duned beach which, if you turn left as you come out of the site drive to the beach and take your car onto as well.

For us, a 3 night stay was not long enough and we will book again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jharvey 2 reviews from this member

 Very disappointing - new shower blocks were portacabin's which although modern were cramped & always blocked so stood in dirty water after a few seconds. Men's urinals always overflowing so major problems with the drains I would say. Our 'super pitch' was a small area of concrete for caravan to stand on with mud patch next to it & 'drainage' (small piece of plastic pipe poking out of ground blocked all week).
All of touring area was muddy & not very well kept.On a good note splash zone great for kids, mash & Barrell new & modern & not too bad for a bite to eat. Shop not very well stocked for size of site & very expensive. Surrounding area absolutely lovely but would not return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marietheresa 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on and off for a few years, touring pitches are not that good, a few are cramped into one area and not very spacious. Liked the complex facilities as lots to do on rainy days.

Haven tend to focus on their static caravan owners holding special days having a bbq for their static caravan owners which is situated along the main walkway to the complex, which is rather off-putting to us touring van owners.

Facilities in the complex are okay although there is far too may slot machines that cost a family with more than 1 child a fortune, most of the games the children play can play on when they win they are given tokens to exchange for a gift, you need a good few tokens to get a good prize.

Have heard whispers that Greenacres are to close their touring park as from next year ! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angslj 6 reviews from this member

 Just had four nights at this site. What can I say. The little one really enjoys herself when we visit it's our 3rd year in a row now.
They have new toilets and shower facilities for the touring fields. Also the bar and outside play area has had a revamp. Much better than what it was.Mash bar- the chicken melt is a must try if you are to have a meal out.
We had a couple of nice days so the outside water play was in use. Fab. Will be going back again next year. 


Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greenacres 1 review from this member

 Greenacres has new shower and toilet facilities on the touring field for the 2009 season. The old facilities have now been removed and replaced. Also there has been a big investment programme into the entertainment facilities with a new adventure golf area and large cafe bar over looking the adventure golf, swimming pool and splash zone.  


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madtrucker 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in July 08. Toilets were OK could be cleaner, bars and shop price were fair. Entertainment was good my kids loved it. Pool good and warm. Beach great, either walk on or drive on for 3 and take BBQ and seats and make a day of it. Warden was ok, overall good site and as long as you don't book in the school holidays it's cheap 140 for a week on hardstanding with water hook-up and waste. Bargain. We have booked for this year in June 120 can't fault price. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Macarw 25 reviews from this member

 I suspect the previous post is referring to a different site - there were no tents there when we were there, and the toilets certainly were not very clean.

Just got back from a week here, and had an awful time.

We arrived on the Sunday, and parked near the tourers but couldn't find a warden. We went to main reception only to be told that the warden was off today, and were told to choose a pitch. We had a super pitch, but couldn't find the waste water drainage. Hubby found it 2 days later by accident overgrown by the grass.

The toilets and showers were horrible, there was an overpowering smell of mould and mildew, especially first thing in the morning. A notice on the door stated that the facilities were cleaned 3 times a day, and the floors and surfaces may have been, but the toilets definitely were not - there was excrement on one toilet seat for more than 24 hours, and round the rim of the toilet for longer. There was only hot water in the tap for washing hands on one occasion during the week - obviously a regular occurrence as signs were up advising people to contact reception in the event of no hot water. The showers were the smallest I have ever been in, push button but ok if you don't mind the smell.

The site itself was grubby and badly maintained with many areas in need of repair. The baby pool was closed 'due to maintenance', and as the door entering it was locked I had to negotiate 2 flights of stairs with a pushchair to the main pool area. This was also in a bad state with flooring coming up, and paint flaking off. It was also cold.

Half the kiddies play area was fenced off - the slide was broken, and the safety flooring was coming up in patches and crumbling like tarmac does.

The toilets in the main complex were in need of repair with broken locks, toilet seats missing or broken and they were generally grubby. There were holes in the walls around the complex in places, and it was generally in need of maintenance, a good clean and repair.

We would have taken some photos, but our camera disappeared - we think it was stolen from the net bag in the buggy, as a hand sized hole had been cut in it. (sadly we had photos of our baby saved on it)

I found the staff to be miserable at best, and rude at worst (I have to say I'm not surprised having to work there - I expect they get complaints every day). The exception was one of the Burger King managers, who greeted us with a smile and was chatty and lovely.

One lady in the shop when I asked for 2 fives in my change instead of a 10 said she couldn't give me change, but I could get change in the booth in the arcade 'That's what it's there for' she said nastily. I was quite taken aback!

We are fans of Haven sites, Littlesea was fantastic by comparison, immaculately clean with cheerful friendly staff, fantastic touring wardens who couldn't do enough for us. We visited Greenacres about 6 years ago, and it was lovely, and we are very sad to see how it has gone downhill.

On the plus side the beach is great (unfortunately we didn't have the weather to enjoy it properly) and the area beautiful. The little train from Porthmadog was a lovely trip. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement