Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) > Reviews

Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Black Rock Sands
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Millie23 1 review from this member

 We hired our caravan by private owner. Immaculate caravan and decking area fully equipped for our needs. We have fallen in love with the place. We are on our third visit.

Itís a very dog friendly caravan park but I was disappointed this time round.

The first visit no dogs allowed in the Mash and Barrel restaurant but on our second visit they had provided an area so we could eat in the restaurant.

This time round on our third visit the Mash and Barrel restaurant/Bar closed at 8. 15pm and we were told to go to Marine bar for our drinks only to be told no dogs allowed. What a disappointment that was so we had to return to our caravan.

We only have a small dog that is more than happy to sit on our lap or under a table as long as heís with us. I seriously think they need a small area for dogs instead of turning customers away because they have a dog.

Apart from that we still enjoyed our holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CurlyEric 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Greenacres.

A great site and location.

The secret is to go out of school holidays and midweek.  


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CurlyEric 5 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our 4 night campervan stay. The touring park is well situated on this huge site just after the main entrance and close to the main amenities.

We had a hard standing pitch with Electric Hookup - the pitches were level and well maintained.

The location is a couple miles from Porthmadog and is great for exploring the Llyn peninsular and the west coast (we particularly enjoyed trip to Barmouth).

If you are looking to take advantage of the on site facilities there is plenty to choose from. The stunning beach is just a 5 minute walk away and directly accessed from the site. You also have a well stocked shop, a large indoor swimming pool, a pub/restaurant, two other bars, a fish & chip shop and a Papa Johns takeaway pizza. There is also the normal amusements and cheesy evening entertainment.

We ate at the pub and the takeaway fish and chips and both were very good (not Michelin star but good for what we paid).

Whilst a Haven site may not be for everyone there was a very marked difference between the weekend and the weekday experience - with the later being much quieter. I would definitely consider staying again mid week and out side of the school holiday period. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helen84 3 reviews from this member

 Always enjoy coming here. Haven keep the caravans to generally high standards & up to date. This time a few drawbacks but would still return to try again.

On arrival staff very nice. Caravan great&clean except for the roll out sofa bed which hadn't been touched in a while. Not hoovered, cleaned etc. Sweet wrapper etc. Decided not to sleep on it.

Otherwise inside they had done a good job. It did smell of dog though and the windows could have been left open especially in covid times. A torn open dog poo bag just under decking clearly visible, loads of fag butts and enough litter on grass for it to be noticeable was disappointing. I reported dog mess to reception however nothing was done about it. I was only really bothered due to children going in and out of caravan.

Swimming sessions fully booked for the week, when we asked on second day. Nowhere to exchange tickets won for the kids in the arcade, sent to different places.

Good beach, had fun on the go kart buggy but thought bit expensive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sidecutter 22 reviews from this member

 Very clean and tidy site,

Touring area toilets/showers clean,

Main facilities excellent

Swimming pool great,

Shop on site,

5 to 10 mins walk to blackrock sands,

Lots to do in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Carawynne 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous family holiday. Stayed in a caravan for 5 nights, 2 children / 3 adults.

Children loved swimming pool and golf course, food at The Mash and Barrel was lovely and good prices.

Bar was great, site was well kept.

Lots to do, would go again anytime. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Focus61063 6 reviews from this member

 First time to this particular site but we were pleased, greeted at the main entrance by the touring site warden, brief chat on basic rules and regulations then shown a few pitches before choosing one. All pitches are hard standing with a gravel base for awning and grassed around the edge of plot with a dedicated waste point, fresh water point, tv hookup and 16amp mains electric.

Touring park is handy for the site facilities and has the usual range of attractions common to Haven parks, toilet block is obviously recently built but a little disappointing due to availability of showers & toilets within the building all cubicles are modular so lack the space some may be used to.

The park itself is the usual Haven type with Mash & Barrel for food, various takeaways, children's entertainment, shop and hire facilities.

Access to the beach is through the site and over the dunes but what a beach and dunes great for family play.

There's plenty of places to explore and enjoy locally and the site reception had a well stocked information stand.

No real negatives a busy site obviously a bit pricey this time of year with lots of children playing and being kids making a little noise but we didn't mind as its to be expected during school holidays. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandra19 1 review from this member

 The site has recently been refurbished and the pitches are hard standing with a shingle base for the awning. The toilet and shower facilities are adequate.

The site is great if you have children as they are able to play safely near the pitches and there is a small play park.

There is lots for everyone to do at the park with a pool, amusements, soft play area, mini golf and evening entertainment.

There is a shop, pub/restaurant and chip shop on site and only a few minutes walk from the camp is a fantastic beach.

There is a regular bus that comes into the camp that will take you to Porthmadog, but be prepared this is a bit of a rollercoaster ride down the country lanes.

This is a great family park with nice pitches and beautiful scenery. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights and from the moment we turned into the site we were mightily impressed. Dave, the camp manager immediately came across from the glamping tents to greet us by name and give us our choice of the remaining pitches. The site is obviously brand new, with the stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains.

We had booked a fully serviced hard standing pitch and chose one near the facilities block. To me none of the available pitches gave me any concerns regarding their size.

Each pitch had concrete pad adjacent to a similarly sized stoned area, a small strip of grass with a planted border to finish. To the rear of the pitch was a good sized grass area, ideal for bbqs and sitting out. At the moment the hedging is obviously small, but in time will give a degree of privacy.

The site is situated close to the main entertainment area which has all the usual Haven facilities (fast food, bars, amusements and supermarket) but in a position that provides a degree of separation from the rest of the camp users.

The facility block as stated was new, and looked great from the outside. Inside was a slight disappointment as it was of modular construction with slightly small shower and toilet cubicles. It was spotlessly clean, and with about a 50% pitch occupation more than adequate. What it will be like with a full site I am not sure.

The chemical waste disposal is a bit of an afterthought and consists of a toilet bowl, in the open on the end of the block.

Children are catered for on the main site with several play areas just a short walk away. A lovely beach is about ten minutes walk away. Be aware that cars are allowed to drive on this beach. It has a 10mph speed limit that was routinely ignored during our stay!

A bus runs an hourly service from the site to Porthmadog, which has a good range of shops, supermarkets and pubs. Porthmadog has a nice harbour and a station for steam train trips up into the Welsh mountains. We had a brilliant stay, great weather and at this time of year great value for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heatonfan 2 reviews from this member

 I wasn't sure what to expect from this site, as I knew it was a very large static site with a limited touring facility and with some dubious reviews.

We stayed in the newly opened touring area. All earlier reviews likely relate to the previous touring area which was sited much closer to the central entertainment area.

The new touring area has 41 full service pitches and they were working on about 6 glamping pitches.

The touring area is close to the entrance, so easy to get on and get set up.

Plants have been planted between pitches, but not yet established.

Really quite small pitches, though good quality hardstanding. If you are staying at this site you are likely to spend quite a bit of time away from the caravan so size of pitch is not perhaps as much a problem as it would be elsewhere.

Toilets were pretty good. Was concerned by the limited numbers: 2 gents cubicles, 2 urinals and 3 showers, but in practice even when the site was busy there was no queuing. I suspect it is a matter of timing and many will save their showers for after swimming in the pool. Was clean save was not cleaned one day for some reason. The toilet/shower/washing up block consists of a group of wooden clad Portacabins. Looks good from outside because of the cladding, and is all new inside, but think they have been a bit mean on space so to fit a few more pitches in.

The main thing to note is that this site is great for families: the central entertainment area had a really good pool, amusement area (if you like that sort of thing), bar/restaurant and some reasonable evening entertainment in a cavernous arena. The staff in and about the facility were excellent - gave a really good impression. We saw a comedian off Britain's Got Talent (it was still in easter holidays) who was a pro act and very impressive, even having a few decent caravan jokes. Full shop (with expected prices), bar/restaurant etc. Activities for kids were reasonable value if you book a multiple credit with the site in advance as we did.

Other highlights: really it is the location. Greenacres abuts a wonderful miles long beach (which you can take the car onto if you want the experience of driving on a beach). Go to each end of the beach and round the corner there is another stretch of beach, probably unoccupied. Sea is calm and great for paddling. Mountain/hills backdrop which is very impressive.

7 minute drive to Portmadog which has steam railways, shops etc and another 10 minutes to Portmerion which is well worth visiting even if you haven't seen 'The Prisoner'. 30 minute drive to the base of Snowdon. We did that and some of us took the steam train back into Portmadog.

Earlier reviews complained of noise. On a few nights we could hear a faint 'thump thump' from the entertainment to about midnight, but it wasn't so loud as to prove troublesome. It isn't a site if you want 'piece and quiet' at least during main holidays - it is on a fairly high quality family holiday resort. If that is want you want, great; if you don't, probably best elsewhere.

Also: excellent value for money if you book well in advance: 7 nights for £266 (2 adults, 3 kids, dog) including free use of entertainment and a 12 point activity pass which costed £75, included in the £266, which allowed us to do fencing, swimming pool kayaking, some bike hire and more for no extra charge) 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2948 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement