Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Black Rock Sands
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helen84 2 reviews from this member

 Always enjoy coming here. Haven keep the caravans to generally high standards & up to date. This time a few drawbacks but would still return to try again.

On arrival staff very nice. Caravan great&clean except for the roll out sofa bed which hadn't been touched in a while. Not hoovered, cleaned etc. Sweet wrapper etc. Decided not to sleep on it.

Otherwise inside they had done a good job. It did smell of dog though and the windows could have been left open especially in covid times. A torn open dog poo bag just under decking clearly visible, loads of fag butts and enough litter on grass for it to be noticeable was disappointing. I reported dog mess to reception however nothing was done about it. I was only really bothered due to children going in and out of caravan.

Swimming sessions fully booked for the week, when we asked on second day. Nowhere to exchange tickets won for the kids in the arcade, sent to different places.

Good beach, had fun on the go kart buggy but thought bit expensive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sidecutter 8 reviews from this member

 Very clean and tidy site,

Touring area toilets/showers clean,

Main facilities excellent

Swimming pool great,

Shop on site,

5 to 10 mins walk to blackrock sands,

Lots to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Carawynne 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous family holiday. Stayed in a caravan for 5 nights, 2 children / 3 adults.

Children loved swimming pool and golf course, food at The Mash and Barrel was lovely and good prices.

Bar was great, site was well kept.

Lots to do, would go again anytime. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Focus61063 6 reviews from this member

 First time to this particular site but we were pleased, greeted at the main entrance by the touring site warden, brief chat on basic rules and regulations then shown a few pitches before choosing one. All pitches are hard standing with a gravel base for awning and grassed around the edge of plot with a dedicated waste point, fresh water point, tv hookup and 16amp mains electric.

Touring park is handy for the site facilities and has the usual range of attractions common to Haven parks, toilet block is obviously recently built but a little disappointing due to availability of showers & toilets within the building all cubicles are modular so lack the space some may be used to.

The park itself is the usual Haven type with Mash & Barrel for food, various takeaways, children's entertainment, shop and hire facilities.

Access to the beach is through the site and over the dunes but what a beach and dunes great for family play.

There's plenty of places to explore and enjoy locally and the site reception had a well stocked information stand.

No real negatives a busy site obviously a bit pricey this time of year with lots of children playing and being kids making a little noise but we didn't mind as its to be expected during school holidays. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandra19 1 review from this member

 The site has recently been refurbished and the pitches are hard standing with a shingle base for the awning. The toilet and shower facilities are adequate.

The site is great if you have children as they are able to play safely near the pitches and there is a small play park.

There is lots for everyone to do at the park with a pool, amusements, soft play area, mini golf and evening entertainment.

There is a shop, pub/restaurant and chip shop on site and only a few minutes walk from the camp is a fantastic beach.

There is a regular bus that comes into the camp that will take you to Porthmadog, but be prepared this is a bit of a rollercoaster ride down the country lanes.

This is a great family park with nice pitches and beautiful scenery. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights and from the moment we turned into the site we were mightily impressed. Dave, the camp manager immediately came across from the glamping tents to greet us by name and give us our choice of the remaining pitches. The site is obviously brand new, with the stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains.

We had booked a fully serviced hard standing pitch and chose one near the facilities block. To me none of the available pitches gave me any concerns regarding their size.

Each pitch had concrete pad adjacent to a similarly sized stoned area, a small strip of grass with a planted border to finish. To the rear of the pitch was a good sized grass area, ideal for bbqs and sitting out. At the moment the hedging is obviously small, but in time will give a degree of privacy.

The site is situated close to the main entertainment area which has all the usual Haven facilities (fast food, bars, amusements and supermarket) but in a position that provides a degree of separation from the rest of the camp users.

The facility block as stated was new, and looked great from the outside. Inside was a slight disappointment as it was of modular construction with slightly small shower and toilet cubicles. It was spotlessly clean, and with about a 50% pitch occupation more than adequate. What it will be like with a full site I am not sure.

The chemical waste disposal is a bit of an afterthought and consists of a toilet bowl, in the open on the end of the block.

Children are catered for on the main site with several play areas just a short walk away. A lovely beach is about ten minutes walk away. Be aware that cars are allowed to drive on this beach. It has a 10mph speed limit that was routinely ignored during our stay!

A bus runs an hourly service from the site to Porthmadog, which has a good range of shops, supermarkets and pubs. Porthmadog has a nice harbour and a station for steam train trips up into the Welsh mountains. We had a brilliant stay, great weather and at this time of year great value for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heatonfan 2 reviews from this member

 I wasn't sure what to expect from this site, as I knew it was a very large static site with a limited touring facility and with some dubious reviews.

We stayed in the newly opened touring area. All earlier reviews likely relate to the previous touring area which was sited much closer to the central entertainment area.

The new touring area has 41 full service pitches and they were working on about 6 glamping pitches.

The touring area is close to the entrance, so easy to get on and get set up.

Plants have been planted between pitches, but not yet established.

Really quite small pitches, though good quality hardstanding. If you are staying at this site you are likely to spend quite a bit of time away from the caravan so size of pitch is not perhaps as much a problem as it would be elsewhere.

Toilets were pretty good. Was concerned by the limited numbers: 2 gents cubicles, 2 urinals and 3 showers, but in practice even when the site was busy there was no queuing. I suspect it is a matter of timing and many will save their showers for after swimming in the pool. Was clean save was not cleaned one day for some reason. The toilet/shower/washing up block consists of a group of wooden clad Portacabins. Looks good from outside because of the cladding, and is all new inside, but think they have been a bit mean on space so to fit a few more pitches in.

The main thing to note is that this site is great for families: the central entertainment area had a really good pool, amusement area (if you like that sort of thing), bar/restaurant and some reasonable evening entertainment in a cavernous arena. The staff in and about the facility were excellent - gave a really good impression. We saw a comedian off Britain's Got Talent (it was still in easter holidays) who was a pro act and very impressive, even having a few decent caravan jokes. Full shop (with expected prices), bar/restaurant etc. Activities for kids were reasonable value if you book a multiple credit with the site in advance as we did.

Other highlights: really it is the location. Greenacres abuts a wonderful miles long beach (which you can take the car onto if you want the experience of driving on a beach). Go to each end of the beach and round the corner there is another stretch of beach, probably unoccupied. Sea is calm and great for paddling. Mountain/hills backdrop which is very impressive.

7 minute drive to Portmadog which has steam railways, shops etc and another 10 minutes to Portmerion which is well worth visiting even if you haven't seen 'The Prisoner'. 30 minute drive to the base of Snowdon. We did that and some of us took the steam train back into Portmadog.

Earlier reviews complained of noise. On a few nights we could hear a faint 'thump thump' from the entertainment to about midnight, but it wasn't so loud as to prove troublesome. It isn't a site if you want 'piece and quiet' at least during main holidays - it is on a fairly high quality family holiday resort. If that is want you want, great; if you don't, probably best elsewhere.

Also: excellent value for money if you book well in advance: 7 nights for 266 (2 adults, 3 kids, dog) including free use of entertainment and a 12 point activity pass which costed 75, included in the 266, which allowed us to do fencing, swimming pool kayaking, some bike hire and more for no extra charge) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Median 17 reviews from this member

 I have to be honest here and say that this is certainly not the sort of site I'd usually stay at however I was meeting family who had hired a static on site so it made sense.

On arrival the gate staff and warden were very helpful however first impressions of the touring area were not great. There are concrete bases for caravans with a wood chip part adjacent for your awning. The area around these is grass with very poor drainage and the piches are very close to each other. Our pitch had its own tap and waste point which was very useful. The woodchip was a real pain as it wouldn't hold a peg securely and no matter how hard we tried we couldn't keep it out of the van! A full awning and a groundsheet would have solved both of these issues. The 'toilet block' was a selection of portacabins, which are fine.

The site entertainment is good if you like that sort of thing with a really good pool and baby pool.

I think sites like these are mainly geared for statics and while they had obviously tried to make a decent touring area it wasn't really up to scratch.

Also if you're used to paying CC rates you'll be surprised by the cost per night here although you do get access to the entertainment block which, if you like that sort of thing, has lots to do for kids (soft play, bowling, small rides, games machines) although the outdoor play area is smaller than most. It also has a bar for the grown ups.

The BIG positive for this site is that it backs onto Black Rock Sands which is a super beach. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Missmoo11 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival on site I really couldn't believe it, a field with tourers and motorhomes in rows in the field 3 deep no room to park a car comfortably, pitches arent big enough to park a motorhome, the front/back wheels just rest on concrete, the area for awning it tree bark with sand beneath so very difficult to peg down the pegs don't hold. Showers well, clean, 3 for each sex, but no other facilities inside, after you're showered you have to go to toilet block for sink/mirrors. Toilets are separate, all the blocks showers/toilets are porta cabins, and not heated. Site swimming pool was lovely but the water not exceptionally clean, and you have to go through the arcade to get to not a good route. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Muskeym 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site during the Easter holidays.

This is a Haven site. All pitches were hard standing. On arrival we were directed to a pitch which was sited in between two rows of pitches all on its own. The pitch was really only suitable for a caravan or camper without an awning. It was certainly not suitable for a folding camper. It didn't matter which way we pitched it the bedrooms would have been in the back of both neighbours vans and no room for an awning. After 10 minutes the warden came and said he had a bigger pitch but not to tell the office as he would get into trouble for moving people around. The pitch was bigger but there was no grass in front of it just dirt. It was OK once we had pitched but when we took down the awning everything left under the camper for storage was filthy. All of the pitches were worn and little grass for awnings to be placed. When we looked later there seemed to be a number of empty pitches so don't know what the problem was.

The toilets and showers were in porta cabins. These were OK 0nly 3 toilets and 3 showers in the ladies but they were cleaned 3 times a day. I think most of the campers used their own facilities in their caravans as there was never a queue. The water pressure was very poor. There was hardly any pressure in the toilet sink and the showers were electric like you have at home so not suitable for use on a campsite of this size.

Washing up facilities were fine but not used a lot by other campers from what I could see.

The park itself was a typical Haven. Pool was clean and warm. You could get a better shower in there. Entertainment was good with lots for the kids. There is a bar selling meals which we used for breakfast one morning. Food is typical pub food. There is a fish and chip shop on site which was excellent but pricey.

Security on site good had to show passes on entering the site everytime.

Around the site there were lots of places to visit such as Barmouth, Shell island and snowdonia.

Overall the site has good facilities but the pitches poor. We have stayed at other Haven sites before where the pitches were better but the toilets not cleaned enough. Suppose you can't have it all.

Don't think we will go for hardstanding again as this limits you on which way you pitch and where you put your awning.

We tend to use Haven at Easter in case the weather is bad so you have facilities inside to use. Will not be visiting this site again but will use Haven again as it is good value for money if you can get a cheap deal. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2667 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement