Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Greenacres Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Black Rock Sands
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YB
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Carawynne 2 reviews from this member

Fabulous family holiday. Stayed in a caravan for 5 nights, 2 children / 3 adults. Children loved swimming pool and golf course, food at The Mash and Barrel was lovely and good prices. Bar was great, site was well kept. Lots to do, would go again anytime.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Focus61063 6 reviews from this member

First time to this particular site but we were pleased, greeted at the main entrance by the touring site warden, brief chat on basic rules and regulations then shown a few pitches before choosing one. All pitches are hard standing with a gravel base for awning and grassed around the edge of plot with a dedicated waste point, fresh water point, tv hookup and 16amp mains electric.

Touring park is handy for the site facilities and has the usual range of attractions common to Haven parks, toilet block is obviously recently built but a little disappointing due to availability of showers & toilets within the building all cubicles are modular so lack the space some may be used to.

The park itself is the usual Haven type with Mash & Barrel for food, various takeaways, children's entertainment, shop and hire facilities.

Access to the beach is through the site and over the dunes but what a beach and dunes great for family play.

There's plenty of places to explore and enjoy locally and the site reception had a well stocked information stand.

No real negatives a busy site obviously a bit pricey this time of year with lots of children playing and being kids making a little noise but we didn't mind as its to be expected during school holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandra19 1 review from this member

The site has recently been refurbished and the pitches are hard standing with a shingle base for the awning. The toilet and shower facilities are adequate. The site is great if you have children as they are able to play safely near the pitches and there is a small play park. There is lots for everyone to do at the park with a pool, amusements, soft play area, mini golf and evening entertainment. There is a shop, pub/restaurant and chip shop on site and only a few minutes walk from the camp is a fantastic beach. There is a regular bus that comes into the camp that will take you to Porthmadog, but be prepared this is a bit of a rollercoaster ride down the country lanes. This is a great family park with nice pitches and beautiful scenery.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for three nights and from the moment we turned into the site we were mightily impressed. Dave, the camp manager immediately came across from the glamping tents to greet us by name and give us our choice of the remaining pitches. The site is obviously brand new, with the stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains.

We had booked a fully serviced hard standing pitch and chose one near the facilities block. To me none of the available pitches gave me any concerns regarding their size.

Each pitch had concrete pad adjacent to a similarly sized stoned area, a small strip of grass with a planted border to finish. To the rear of the pitch was a good sized grass area, ideal for bbqs and sitting out. At the moment the hedging is obviously small, but in time will give a degree of privacy.

The site is situated close to the main entertainment area which has all the usual Haven facilities (fast food, bars, amusements and supermarket) but in a position that provides a degree of separation from the rest of the camp users.

The facility block as stated was new, and looked great from the outside. Inside was a slight disappointment as it was of modular construction with slightly small shower and toilet cubicles. It was spotlessly clean, and with about a 50% pitch occupation more than adequate. What it will be like with a full site I am not sure.

The chemical waste disposal is a bit of an afterthought and consists of a toilet bowl, in the open on the end of the block.

Children are catered for on the main site with several play areas just a short walk away. A lovely beach is about ten minutes walk away. Be aware that cars are allowed to drive on this beach. It has a 10mph speed limit that was routinely ignored during our stay!

A bus runs an hourly service from the site to Porthmadog, which has a good range of shops, supermarkets and pubs. Porthmadog has a nice harbour and a station for steam train trips up into the Welsh mountains. We had a brilliant stay, great weather and at this time of year great value for money.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heatonfan 2 reviews from this member

I wasn't sure what to expect from this site, as I knew it was a very large static site with a limited touring facility and with some dubious reviews.

We stayed in the newly opened touring area. All earlier reviews likely relate to the previous touring area which was sited much closer to the central entertainment area.

The new touring area has 41 full service pitches and they were working on about 6 glamping pitches.

The touring area is close to the entrance, so easy to get on and get set up.

Plants have been planted between pitches, but not yet established.

Really quite small pitches, though good quality hardstanding. If you are staying at this site you are likely to spend quite a bit of time away from the caravan so size of pitch is not perhaps as much a problem as it would be elsewhere.

Toilets were pretty good. Was concerned by the limited numbers: 2 gents cubicles, 2 urinals and 3 showers, but in practice even when the site was busy there was no queuing. I suspect it is a matter of timing and many will save their showers for after swimming in the pool. Was clean save was not cleaned one day for some reason. The toilet/shower/washing up block consists of a group of wooden clad Portacabins. Looks good from outside because of the cladding, and is all new inside, but think they have been a bit mean on space so to fit a few more pitches in.

The main thing to note is that this site is great for families: the central entertainment area had a really good pool, amusement area (if you like that sort of thing), bar/restaurant and some reasonable evening entertainment in a cavernous arena. The staff in and about the facility were excellent - gave a really good impression. We saw a comedian off Britain's Got Talent (it was still in easter holidays) who was a pro act and very impressive, even having a few decent caravan jokes. Full shop (with expected prices), bar/restaurant etc. Activities for kids were reasonable value if you book a multiple credit with the site in advance as we did.

Other highlights: really it is the location. Greenacres abuts a wonderful miles long beach (which you can take the car onto if you want the experience of driving on a beach). Go to each end of the beach and round the corner there is another stretch of beach, probably unoccupied. Sea is calm and great for paddling. Mountain/hills backdrop which is very impressive.

7 minute drive to Portmadog which has steam railways, shops etc and another 10 minutes to Portmerion which is well worth visiting even if you haven't seen 'The Prisoner'. 30 minute drive to the base of Snowdon. We did that and some of us took the steam train back into Portmadog.

Earlier reviews complained of noise. On a few nights we could hear a faint 'thump thump' from the entertainment to about midnight, but it wasn't so loud as to prove troublesome. It isn't a site if you want 'piece and quiet' at least during main holidays - it is on a fairly high quality family holiday resort. If that is want you want, great; if you don't, probably best elsewhere.

Also: excellent value for money if you book well in advance: 7 nights for £266 (2 adults, 3 kids, dog) including free use of entertainment and a 12 point activity pass which costed £75, included in the £266, which allowed us to do fencing, swimming pool kayaking, some bike hire and more for no extra charge)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Median 15 reviews from this member

I have to be honest here and say that this is certainly not the sort of site I'd usually stay at however I was meeting family who had hired a static on site so it made sense.

On arrival the gate staff and warden were very helpful however first impressions of the touring area were not great. There are concrete bases for caravans with a wood chip part adjacent for your awning. The area around these is grass with very poor drainage and the piches are very close to each other. Our pitch had its own tap and waste point which was very useful. The woodchip was a real pain as it wouldn't hold a peg securely and no matter how hard we tried we couldn't keep it out of the van! A full awning and a groundsheet would have solved both of these issues. The 'toilet block' was a selection of portacabins, which are fine.

The site entertainment is good if you like that sort of thing with a really good pool and baby pool.

I think sites like these are mainly geared for statics and while they had obviously tried to make a decent touring area it wasn't really up to scratch.

Also if you're used to paying CC rates you'll be surprised by the cost per night here although you do get access to the entertainment block which, if you like that sort of thing, has lots to do for kids (soft play, bowling, small rides, games machines) although the outdoor play area is smaller than most. It also has a bar for the grown ups.

The BIG positive for this site is that it backs onto Black Rock Sands which is a super beach.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Missmoo11 6 reviews from this member

On arrival on site I really couldn't believe it, a field with tourers and motorhomes in rows in the field 3 deep no room to park a car comfortably, pitches arent big enough to park a motorhome, the front/back wheels just rest on concrete, the area for awning it tree bark with sand beneath so very difficult to peg down the pegs don't hold. Showers well, clean, 3 for each sex, but no other facilities inside, after you're showered you have to go to toilet block for sink/mirrors. Toilets are separate, all the blocks showers/toilets are porta cabins, and not heated. Site swimming pool was lovely but the water not exceptionally clean, and you have to go through the arcade to get to not a good route.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Muskeym 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site during the Easter holidays.

This is a Haven site. All pitches were hard standing. On arrival we were directed to a pitch which was sited in between two rows of pitches all on its own. The pitch was really only suitable for a caravan or camper without an awning. It was certainly not suitable for a folding camper. It didn't matter which way we pitched it the bedrooms would have been in the back of both neighbours vans and no room for an awning. After 10 minutes the warden came and said he had a bigger pitch but not to tell the office as he would get into trouble for moving people around. The pitch was bigger but there was no grass in front of it just dirt. It was OK once we had pitched but when we took down the awning everything left under the camper for storage was filthy. All of the pitches were worn and little grass for awnings to be placed. When we looked later there seemed to be a number of empty pitches so don't know what the problem was.

The toilets and showers were in porta cabins. These were OK 0nly 3 toilets and 3 showers in the ladies but they were cleaned 3 times a day. I think most of the campers used their own facilities in their caravans as there was never a queue. The water pressure was very poor. There was hardly any pressure in the toilet sink and the showers were electric like you have at home so not suitable for use on a campsite of this size.

Washing up facilities were fine but not used a lot by other campers from what I could see.

The park itself was a typical Haven. Pool was clean and warm. You could get a better shower in there. Entertainment was good with lots for the kids. There is a bar selling meals which we used for breakfast one morning. Food is typical pub food. There is a fish and chip shop on site which was excellent but pricey.

Security on site good had to show passes on entering the site everytime.

Around the site there were lots of places to visit such as Barmouth, Shell island and snowdonia.

Overall the site has good facilities but the pitches poor. We have stayed at other Haven sites before where the pitches were better but the toilets not cleaned enough. Suppose you can't have it all.

Don't think we will go for hardstanding again as this limits you on which way you pitch and where you put your awning.

We tend to use Haven at Easter in case the weather is bad so you have facilities inside to use. Will not be visiting this site again but will use Haven again as it is good value for money if you can get a cheap deal.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goomaks 18 reviews from this member

Just come back after two weeks at this site. The touring area has been neglected compared to the rest of the holiday park. The hard stands are paving slabs, a lot of which are broken and not well maintained, the drainage (even allowing for the wet weather)was poor on the roadway and bad on the hardstands themselves.

The `heated` toilet/shower block were portable cabins - which is not mentioned in the Haven brochure. The `heating` was a fan heater screwed to the wall with no operating instructions-not exactly what you would expect for 2012.

The wardens = where were they? Apart from when we booked in we never saw them, they did not bother coming round to check and see if `there`customers were happy, should they not be the face of Haven on site. If we had been paying full summer price we would not have been happy campers. We would not go there again. If you want to go, phone the site first to see if the toilet/shower block has been knocked down and rebuilt, don`t phone the booking line they don`t know.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMom24 2 reviews from this member

After visiting this site recently we would not return unless they invested time and funding in the pitches and facilities. My other half does not want to return at all. We spoke to other people on site that also feel the same including a couple that have been three times but won't be going again. The awning(or tent) pitches are sand pits that are lower than the surrounding area resulting in major flooding if there is any heavy rain; so bad that units were having to be moved, completely set up, by tractor and manual labour to dryer pitches that had already had the water drained. Others such as ours that was only under a couple of inches of water were emptied and the ground sheet lifted so that the warden could fork over the area to try to drain it. It was a complete nightmare trying to dry bedding etc for the night as it continued to rain. I'm not blaming Haven for the weather but for not setting up level, or heaven forbid, raised pitches.

The waste drains, two per pitch, are located handily at the back and side of the pitch but these were blocked and also flooded into the ground (and washed into the awning area!)

The facilities consist of portacabins; 3 small cubicles and sinks each for ladies and gents. The flow of water from the taps was so low it was difficult to properly wash your hands as they turned off as soon as you let the top go though the single dryer was working well.

The showers were also small and difficult to regulate. There is a sign explaining that if any water is used it will affect the operation of the shower. - not ideal when there are at least 40 pitches sharing it. As the cubicles were small I struggled as a larger person to get washed and dried. I don't think I'd have managed to wash my toddler in there too. Also, there wasn't a drain in the drying area so when you step out of the shower to dress you are still standing in water with only one hook to put everything making it very difficult to get dry and keep your clothes dry. I noticed other, more experienced, site users coming back from the showers wearing dressing gowns and dressing in their units.

Another complaint of the site was that our neighbours had dogs which they let the kids walk who in turn let the dogs defecate all over the grass every day. Whether this was deliberate I'm not sure but despite mentioning it to someone from the site, it continued until we left (4 days before our holiday was due to end as we'd got fed up of bailing out the awning by this point!)

It is a shame the touring side of the site is let down. We stayed in a static on here and though far from perfect, it was a whole lot better than the touring section. It has all the normal features you would expect on a Haven site such as restaurant, pool arcade etc but we didn't use any of it this time.

The location is beautiful and the site has easy access to the gorgeous beach. It is also very close to Porthmaddog which is a busy town with a Tesco superstore open until midnight so that you don't have to pay the overpriced site prices. You are close to the stunning Snowdonia mountain range so the scenery is spectacular.

The only other downside to the site (and area) is the mobile reception which on both orange and three was sporadic. Which in turn meant no internet access in the van though I think there is wifi in the restaurant.

I've given the site 3/10 for facilities but only because it does have flushing toilets, electric hook up and water which I'm told other sites don't have but I also suspect that these other sites don't charge premium rates.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3052 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019