Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holly Bush Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Holly Bush Park
Culmhead
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 7EA
Tel: 01823 421515
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hunstermam 1 review from this member

We can't wait for our second visit this Saturday! spotlessly clean showers and loos and lots of free hot water! dogs accepted and the views are spectacular. We love this site as the owners so not allow any raucous behaviour and only last year (much to our relief) one family who managed to ruin each evening by loud drunken BBQs were warned by the owners who really do care about all their guests. Good shop with books you can borrow and they sell free range eggs which are scrummy. The owners are animal lovers like ourselves and this adds to the whole attraction of the site. I really and truly cannot recommend this site enough to people who want to get away from the awful 'Haven' type sites and want tranquillity, spectacular views and a general good time. Please give this site a try, we certainly didn't regret it and have become firm friends with the wonderful owners :-)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 27 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to the site, it's still in a good location and also a good stop over on our way to Devon. The facilities are still good and clean and the owners offer a warm welcome and are very helpful.

There has been a great deal of rain in April and early May so not surprisingly the grass is quite wet underfoot.

The public House near by was closed for refurbishment and was due to open this week, so it won't be long now.

There is a forestry commission wood just across the road, open to the public.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sausage8159 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site at 5. 15pm so still had some daylight. First impressions were that the site was crowded. There were only two small hardstanding pitches available- only just enough space to put caravan, had to step from caravan straight onto the grass. Site consisted of mostly seasonal vans, some awnings covered in green mildew. The pub down the road although welcoming has not been doing food for over a year. We had booked for three nights, but just stayed the one as it was too late that evening to move on. We moved on first thing the following morning.

Management response: We feel this review is unfair as they have claimed that the pitches are over crowded and 'on top of each other'. We are licenced for 40 pitches and only allow 30 to avoid overcrowding - in actual fact, and there is more than the 20ft between pitches in many cases, so I am at a loss to understand why these customers felt this way.

I remember them very well, and I did ask them why they were not staying, they said it was because of the pub, they didn't mention any of this to me, so it is unfair to then leave a poor review without giving us the chance to discuss it with them

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey84 2 reviews from this member

Lovely people, free showers, free wifi. Toilets and showers were cleaned every day

Brought free range eggs from owners they were great. The owners made us a cup of tea when we got there first time this has append in 15 years of camping and caravanning.

There is a pub just up the road was made very welcome would go there again. When they have finished refurbishments and they are doing food again, it will be lovely

I liked what they have done with the place so far. There is a natural forest across the road from the park, the walks are lovely.

Went into tunton town centre, it was very good

Well worth a visit

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Magicmum 14 reviews from this member

We were so delighted with this park. Good signage made it easy to find. Location was just beautiful and it is a small friendly park.

Very welcoming owners who helped out with a long extension cord for our electric. Excellent hot showers, very clean shower block. Although free WiFi was available we found the coverage poor where we were, maybe a different pitch would have been better.

Excellent value for money, we stayed 2 nights which enabled us to explore the area. Definitely recommend this site to anyone - vans, tents.

Close to Taunton with plenty of restaurants.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drjbc 51 reviews from this member

Everything that's been said about the site remains true, except that the nearby pub is currently being 'renovated' (hopefully not for the worse). This seemed an especially friendly site. For just the second time in 40 years of camping we were offered tea when we arrived! That generosity of spirit shows itself too in practical ways. Some sites 'invest' in facilities which are glossy but fail to address everyday needs; here the facilities are plain but someone's thought about what's needed. For instance, three showers on each side is generous for such a small site. The cubicles are adequately roomy, with stools to sit down on, towel rails, and sensible hooks so your clothes don't fall off. Radiant heaters spring to life when you enter. There is wifi near reception and it is free.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 560 reviews from this member

We found site to be fairly full of seasonal vans - only space for a couple of tourers.

Overall the site gave an impression of not being overly looked after. Possibly due to end of season - but at 16 it was one of the most expensive sites we stayed on in 3 weeks.

Shower block was clean and well heated. We walked to pub a few minutes up the road - to be honest it looked somewhat grubby to us. Not a great welcome so we only had a drink and cant comment on food.

Overall the site seems to cater for the seasonal trade.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 27 reviews from this member

Great location for exploring the surrounding area, Quantocks, Exmoor, the coast, Somerset steam & deisel railway, Dunster village. Taunton a good shopping town. Dog friendly but not intrusive. Local walks. Well maintained campsite, facilities always clean. Very friendly local pub just a stroll away with great food.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barb n Barney 14 reviews from this member

This is a nice little site with a lot of lovely woodland suitable for dog walking opposite the site. The weather wasn't that great whilst we were there but we still enjoyed our weekend.

The facilities are all very clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. They provided us with a lot of useful information about the area.

Not a place for children but great for walkers with such stunning scenery all around you.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 174 reviews from this member

Agree with all comments regarding cleanliness, peaceful and relaxing. A small site though and thought the units were a touch close and a few seasonal caravans too, that said it was still quiet at night. Not a good site for cycling as quite hilly and the straight road by site is a bit of a race track for boy racers but as has been mentioned good for walking with a forest trail just over the road from the site entrance. The pub the Holman Clavel just down the road is GBG listed serving quality locally sourced real ales and food served from 7 p.M. It is the only pub in England with that name and looks as if there's a bit of history behind it. Paid 19/night for two with ehu.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


551 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019