Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holly Bush Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Taunton > Holly Bush Park Reviews

Holly Bush Park
Culmhead
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 7EA
Tel: 01823 421515
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RobinHall 1 review from this member

We found Hollybush Park by accident while searching for a store & stay site. What a find. We enjoyed the site & friendly staff & residents so much we stayed for six weeks between July & September this year. Sue, Katy & Colin are excellent & are now our friends, as are the residents,

Hollybush Park is highly recommended, so much so that we intend spending a lot more time with our friends next year.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyp 68 2 reviews from this member

Great Place. Booked it last minute after the site we were booked on cancelled because of bad weather. Holly Bush is a small but perfect campsite. All facilities our spotless. (Wife said it's the best we've been to). And the owners are very helpful. Didn't take our dog this time but the woodland walk around site looks great. There plans for the future are for more pitches and make it more child friendly. Will definitely be back again. PS Pub the just up the lane is fantastic as well.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maureen_hansford 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site, good walks (dogs happy) and a great pub 2 mins away selling good ales and excellent food. It's clearly under new ownership because it's changed dramatically. Really clean toilets and much better tended site now. New owners friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us.

Highly recommend!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Driverdave1 7 reviews from this member

A lovely quite site easy to find and pleasant surroundings nice greeting on arrival shown where everything was located and offered a choice of pitches. the site is centrally located for the attractions of Somerset and some of Devon and offers fairly good value for money. the facilities however were not very good and in need of an upgrade the showers did not get hot or went hot/cold and poorly maintained (support bar held up by soggy paper towels ) doors with broken hinges very poor water pressure the wash basins had good water pressure and hot water. The heating in the men's block was very good, warm unless the door was left open then took a while to warm up, unfortunately my wife said the lady's block was cold as was the water and the showers Rubbish not what she had hoped for.

The shop/reception was also pretty poor no milk no bread no newspapers in fact not much of any thing more a jumble sale than shop.

Information centre had lots of leaflets etc! Unfortunately if not soaking wet they were well out of date

A large dollop of T L C to the amenities block and the shop/reception and this site could be an absolute corker, didn't hate it but only liked it bit more T L C and would love it

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joy buckley 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful site. Very clean and excellent facilities. When we arrived we were given a few choices of where we could pitch. As we we pitching a lovely cup of tea was bought to us which made us feel very welcome.

Site has caravans and tents nestled between them with plenty of space around each unit. We were not overlooked at all.

Laundry facilities great and a 2 token to use washing machine, one of the cheapest I have come across.

The owners are friendly and on hand if you need anything.

Central to most of Somerset and a quite lovely place to camp and unwind.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah Onions 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for just 3 nights whilst visiting friends. Wonderful warm welcome and lovely quiet site. Well maintained. There was a small shop at reception which although I didn't use would have been useful if we had been there for longer. The toilets/ showers were clean and well lit at night. The grounds were clean and tidy. There seemed to be several seasonal pitches set up, but I can understand people wanting to stay in this lovely location for longer.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

Arrived on a misty drizzly afternoon in early March. Having asked for a hardstanding pitch with room for an awning we were surprised to see that only three narrow pitches remained. We ended up putting the caravan 'wrong way round' with the awning over sodden grass.

That's the downside.

Most of the site seemed to be taken up with permanently sited touring caravans. It was quiet, therefore, but not deserted. Owners were friendly and helpful and we were left to settle in after they'd dealt with a couple of things we needed.

Toilet and shower block was very good; warm, clean and tidy. It's situated fairly centrally so that it's no great distance from any pitches.

TV reception was good where we were sited. All other facilities such as water and waste areas were, like the shower block, no great distance.

There is a very good dog walk just across the road from the site entrance. It is a level path through woods.

The pub close by is essentially a folly. It has very little stock because, as we were told by a local in another pub, the owners claimed that there was no demand!

Other pubs nearby at Blagdon and Churchinford were normal and welcoming but were a drive rather than a walk.

Taunton and the Somerset Levels are nearby. As a result we were treated late one afternoon to a visit from a flock of thousands of Starlings in their murmuration, moving from perch to perch, field to field. Quite spectacular!

Had our pitch been better we would highly recommend the site. As it is, we still had an enjoyable long weekend and would consider returning. The facilities are very good and it's very good value for money.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bongo girls 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights in our Bongo and small pop up tent.

On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly and fellow bongo enthusiast owner. We felt very welcome and were given a pitch very close to the facilities block. As others have said we were offered tea and coffee while we set up. I can honestly say that has never happened before!

The site seemed full but my sense was that many of the caravans were seasonal and empty. There were a few people around, many with well behaved dogs.

The facilities block was spotless the entire time we were there. Very handy washing line provided. Laundry and kitchen washing up facilities also provided.

This site is definitely more caravan or campervan orientated. There is really no room for children to run around. We felt a little conspicuous in our unconverted van, cooking outside and eating on a picnic blanket!

However, if you are looking for a clean, quiet, friendly and easily accessible site I would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AL53HX 18 reviews from this member

This caravan site is wonderful if, like me, you enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the countryside.

It is made up of seasonal and visitors alike, the onus being on the seasonal side but, they are a friendly bunch of people, the owner is extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble for her.

Although the site has basic facilities, everything is kept clean and tidy so no-one had any complaints, it's seven miles from Taunton and ten from Honiton, with plenty of forest walks.

All in all, a place well worth a visit and stay.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martinm001 1 review from this member

The most amazing welcome with tea brought to me while I pitched my tent in a quiet peaceful field adjacent to the main well occupied site, with great access to parking, facilities all immaculate & wonderful hosts, dog friendly, awesome location.

Recommended Hare path cycle route was immediately accessible & all access to Blackdown Hills from your tent & amazingly muddy as described after our wettest summer, but superb fun - great mountain biking - totally phenomenal & a different challenge to my local & familiar routes. Top grade walking again from site, on or off routes, again very muddy but who cares

Great showers & sun dried outfits in field really well, washing facilities if required for clothes. Local pop concert annoyed some but not me, after days walking & cycling I was out for the count, fellow campers noted the loud snoring.

Convenient to many local pubs & not far from Taunton supermarkets to stock up, but they have a good selection to get you started in store on site so you can arrive relatively unprepared & still survive well. The area is truly magnificent with much unspoiled countryside & peaceful, few people about so it's idyllic & chilling out on the campsite is so easy. HIGHLY recommended to mountain bikers & walkers, I was completely splattered head to foot & knee deep in liquid mud within a few minutes of blasting out of the campsite & the downhilling was amazing with challenging on or off road climbs forcing me to walk up in places due to the lack of grip but in drier weather the paths may be less chocolatey. Children seeing me return to site wished they too had brought their bikes & it's gonna be great if you don't mind the mud & mess, but I have to emphasise the quality of the showers & washing facilities if you want to dress for dinner later as our group did & we went to the pub quite decent.

What an amazing area, was there for a long weekend, I must return, there is so much more to cycle & explore & the off roading is endless & varied. Once again, the hosts have to be congratulated on being so informal, so laid back, so welcoming, so helpful & so caring & there isn't a single fault to report with the whole experience. The pub next door may close as it did for our group, at ten ! There is no food there as yet, that is unlikely for some time, BUT, there are other most excellent pubs a short drive away in most directions, ask the hosts, I gave one local pub a stunning review after being recommended to visit - we all loved the food, drinks & atmosphere, only five minutes drive away.

This is a remote looking campsite but with star quality benefits & a location not to be missed.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019