Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holly Bush Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Holly Bush Park
Culmhead
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 7EA
Tel: 01823 421515
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Massett 4 reviews from this member

Great little site, this was our second outing camping for us and we both liked this sit, good toilet and shower block which was clean and tidy. Had a little trouble finding the sit but this was due to the sat nav telling us to use a bus only road.
The owners were very helpful and welcoming, There is a pub 2 minutes down the road but didn't use it, the site shop was useful, selling local produce (very nice ice cream) The only little niggle was the cow and cockerill in the field next door waking us up before 5AM.

Would use this site again

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vanessa15 2 reviews from this member

Very nice clean site, very quiet, ideal touring base. Great little pub next door which serves food. Cup of tea on arrival which was much appreciated as had been stuck on motorway for hours. Very good directions given found very easily and it was our first visit. It is a long way from supermarket ,get supplies before going to site. Price was excellent and would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry_lou2001 1 review from this member

Just stayed at Holly Bush Park and felt compelled to write an immediate review. We stayed in a tent for three nights and had a brilliant time!

The site is quiet, small and friendly with plenty of space between pitches and although it appeared full, their were few people. The owners greeted us when we arrived and were more than helpful in providing us with information about the surrounding area and places to go. It has very clean toilets and hot electric showers plus a laundry room and a place to wash dishes. A very dog friendly site!

The walks directly from the site are beautiful, we went on one of several trails through the woods and one slightly longer walk up to the Otter Lakes. In the car we visited Wellington monument (a 6 mile drive) and a local farmer's market (5 miles).

The pub just along from the campsite is small and friendly, with some excellent food deals including a 6.95 carvery on Sundays/Wednesdays which was to die for!

We will definitely be visiting this site again in the future!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrJock 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a long weekend, when we got allocated our pitch after struggling to put the tent up due to adverse weather conditions, the ground was hard put our tent pegs in as there seemed to be concrete underneath the turf, however we were able to put the pegs in after spending considerable amount of time mine prodding the ground.
The owners were friendly enough but no sign of cups of tea/coffee upon arrival. The park was kept tidy, toilet / shower block was immaculate with hot water provided, the shop sold basic essentials, the pub on the main road was cosy and allowed dogs to enter which suited us.
There is a big field next to the park which was very spacious for our four legged friends to exercise in, there are no cash point / cash back facilities on site and the nearest cash point is 6 miles away in Taunton. Be aware that farm animals are in the next field as we were woken up early morning by the sounds of cows and cockerels.

Not the best park we have visited, but would be happy to visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: STAGG1724 1 review from this member

On arrival we were made very welcome with cups of tea/coffee. The site was very clean and showers and toilets spotless, we will most certainly use the site again and recomend it to our friends,
There is a pub just outside the site which serves meals, but can be in our opinion quite exspensive.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen+Peter 16 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet campsite with very friendly owners and the cup of tea on arrival was very welcome. Our pitch was half gravel and half grass. The site appeared to be full, but I think there may be a lot of seasonal pitches because we hardly saw a soul.

There was a little bit of road noise but it was still a relaxing place to stay.

Toilets were very clean with domestic showers, but they were a bit cold when we were there. It was unusually cold for the time of year though.

The forestry commission land across the road from the site was an excellent place for walking the dog and the local pub was dog friendly too. We had some lovely meals there, good vegetarian choices too, and the locals are really friendly.

We went down to the coast, to Sidmouth, one day which was really nice and Taunton is very close for shopping.

Date of Visit: December 2007 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

Lovely little remote country site, with helpful and friendly owners that hits the spot just right.

We arrived on a greyish December afternoon, hoping to pitch up and get in a bit of walking, the owners were only too helpful backing me into the pitch, which was level. On a cold winter day the site was understandably empty, but the pitches are quite close together and so when full it might be a little tight.

As it's a small site the toilets are never far away and were pleasant enough with a poweful heater that warms it up instantly, there are not many more facilities, but then it's not that sort of a campsite. TV reception was very good, both terrestrial and digital, considering you really are in the middle of nowhere.

After trying a few nice local pubs and a little stroll in the attractive surrounding area, we returned to the site fortified with locally fermented apple juice and had a game of I'll show you mine, if you show me yours with the owner Rachel, we're talking camper van pop up roofs of course. We couln't have been made to feel more welcome and were given great insight into owning a campsite.

Visited the lovely little pub next door and had a great friendly chat with some archetypal locals, didn't eat there but the food looked good, and the people having their Christmas parties were certainly enjoying themselves.

This is defintely a site worth a visit, it's ideally located for exploring Somerset and Devon and it set in pleasant surroundings, facilities are good and owners very friendly, what more do you need.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samandchel 4 reviews from this member

A friendly welcome to Holly Bush with the offer of tea or coffee and a complete tour of the park and facilities was very much appreciated, and after we said we'd come for walking the owners offered us up their OS ma of the area.

Small site with caravans round the edge and tents in the centre, a few trees with birdfeeders.

Seemed to be a place people went back to say everyone seemed to know everyone else. The other campers were all really friendly and even offered us camp furniture whilst they were away.

The facilities: showers and toilets, were clean, modern and warm. No need to queue for a shower in the morning, plenty to go around.

The small onsite shop stocks the essentials: bread, milk etc. However there is no where within walking distance to do any more shopping.

The pub up the road was alright and fairly priced but we made the trip to the Lamb and Flag in Blagdon Hill for lunch one day and very much enjoyed it.

Some lovely walks in the surrounding Black Hills and accessed opposite the park entrance. However these are not for the faint hearted and proper walking boots are recommended.

We enjoyed our visit here and would go again.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Twinklepuss 15 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we have ever visited. Rachel, the cheerful and more than helpful owner, offered us a cup of tea when we arrived and let us choose where we wanted to pitch. The site was lovely and quiet. Many people seemed to be "regulars" and everyone was really friendly. The facilities were excellent. Everything was extremely clean and the showers were lovely and hot at all times. The pub 200 yards down the road was very welcoming but we didn't eat there owing to a lack of facilities for non smokers. Warning - take a torch - it's very dark on the way back! We will definitely return to this lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Burhou 4 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd site in 9 days of camping and was an absolute delight. It is only small but perfect.
Rachel, who runs it, was very welcoming. She is there all the time and I don't know how she gets everything done as she is always happy to stop for a chat! Everything was very clean and tidy, showers are hot. Small shop for essentials open all day. Try the individual tubs of Styles ice cream.
Very dog friendly.
She will also supply you with a list of clear printed instruction for dog walks. Forestry land across the road is the 'official' dog walk. Beware the speed of local traffic on this road. Quiet enough to hear them as you go out of the gate.
The pub 200 yards up the road serves very good food including lovely fresh fish and shellfish but don't expect small portions! Dogs will be welcomed with a hand full of biscuits.
Very good farm shop 6 miles away called Wallace's. They have herd's of shaggy Highland cattle, red deer and bison and you can go on a walk round the farm to see them all. When you leave there is a National Trust car park opposite the end of the farms drive on the left which gives access to some lovely woodland walks.
Will go back and explore some more soon.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2125 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019