Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holly Bush Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Holly Bush Park
Culmhead
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 7EA
Tel: 01823 421515
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy_Ashton 8 reviews from this member

Nice site and so peaceful, easy to find just 20 minutes off the m5. Showers and toilets spotless, laundry and small shop on site, milk bread etc.

We had a very nice 3 nights here, lots of walks for the dogs and a pub just a few minutes walk out of the gate, with set meals at a good price.

Chard and Taunton within easy commute would recommend and will be returning to this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barkley 7 reviews from this member

This is a great little site, small, well laid out and well-kept. We stayed over the late May bank holiday (four of us plus dog, in two tents). Friendly but unobtrusive owners were ready with offers of hot drinks on our arrival (a nice touch!).

Lots of mature trees on the site and lush grass. As two units, with cars, the owners told us we were free to arrange our tents and cars however it suited us in the available space (unlike some other sites we've stayed on, where we've been told to park the cars on the most level and dry part of the pitch!).

Very clean toilets and shower block with no charge for showers (bring your own soap dish as we couldn't find one!) and use of a large fridge (almost exclusive use, as we were in a tent and nearly all the other campers were in caravans or campers with their own fridges).

The shop is small but it stocks most basic essentials and we thought the goods were very reasonably priced. There's a pub a short walk away, but we didn't use it this time. There were lot of dogs on the site when we were there, but all were tethered except for the older ones who didn't stray or bother anybody. The free wi-fi was down when we arrived but was working again the following day (and there's a good signal on the Orange network).

A fantastic walk goes through many acres of forest almost directly opposite the site. The traffic past the site is fast and there's no footpath but it takes literally a minute to walk to the forest, which is well worth walking - we took the left hand path down and there were acres and acres of wild garlic in flower throughout the lower part of the wood (it looks beautiful and the scent is wonderful), with little brooks here and there - and when we took the right hand path, bluebells were still in abundance in the higher part of the wood. The views of the Blackdown hills are lovely.

We did a whistle-stop tour of Wellington (which has lots of little shops, a Co-Op supermarket and an intriguing Steptoe's yard-type junk shop hidden down an alleyway) and Hemyock, a pretty Devon village. But if you enjoy walking you could stay on this site for a few days, leave the car behind and just roam around the nearby woods and hills without really having to go anywhere else - however, take waterproof footwear, as it's deeply boggy in places - and take a map or a compass, as we should have done, as after a few hours' wandering one tree looks very much like another. There's also a sort of art exhibition along some of the trails, with funny little objects popping up randomly (though other than providing a talking point, we couldn't quite see its purpose!).

We had a great time and will definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philliph 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in October 2009 also, what a lovely peaceful site. Clean and well run with basic showers & toilets but with the little touches that make it a wonderful site. Don't go if you want bars and noise but do go for the lovely views and very nice lady owner.

Also free to walk the farm where it is situated (around the edges of the fields as a working farm).

The shops, pubs and restaurants of Wellington are only a few miles away. Where again you will feel most welcome by truly hospitable locals.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drnh 7 reviews from this member

The site is so well placed for getting out and about in the Taunton area. It's always clean and well kept.

It's mainly aimed at touring vans with lots of hard standing pitches but between all these is room for tents to pitch.

Its a lovely blend as you get a peace and quiet that you don't normally get when you're in a field full of tents, sounds travels etc.

Because there are limited tents and more tourers you don't tend to here voices and other noise associated with a campsite which suits us down to the ground, literally

The road next to the site is pretty quiet and only really starts to get traffic on it at around 7am and even that is light.

We've visited loads of campsites but Holly Bush remains our favourite one.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobinbenidorm 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience, if all camp sites are like Holly Bush Park we are really going to enjoy camping. We were met on arrival and the first thing we were asked was if we wanted a cup of tea

The toilets & shower were spotless. There is a great wood across the road from the camp site, we could walk the dog and there's a pub next door that serve the best cider and chips we had in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drnh 7 reviews from this member

Loved it! What can I say.

It was a 3 hour journey from Manchester to get to Taunton and Hollybush. We arrived a little early at about 8:20am Saturday morning but we made very welcome, shown to pour pitch and we given a very welcome brew :o) Thanks for that.

The campsite is mainly aimed at caravan owners with not that many tent pitches. That said the tent pitches we excellent and covered in grass (not bald like some campsites) which made them pretty comfy to sleep on.

The site was fantastically relaxing and quiet to stay at.

The showers and toilets are basic but they are clean and work well.

You're only about 2 miles outside one of the most gorgeous places I've been too. Corfe. Very friendly people and a great pub.

About 4 miles from Taunton town centre which is awesome for shopping, including a large Sainsburys. The atmosphere here is lovely, the people are probably the most friendly of anywhere I've ever been.

All in all I'd give the site a good 8/10 only let down a little by the showers BUT like I said its mainly aimed at caravan owners.

Totally recommend Somerset as a place to visit and Hollybush site is a perfect base for you to stay at.

Will definitely stay again.Many times.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JohnSw 3 reviews from this member

A very small but cosy site with good toilet/ shower facilities. There is even a small site shop. There are more caravans and motor homes here than tents. More often than not the toilet/shower block was empty and you never needed to wait to use them.

The only possible negative is that being on a hill it does appear to have its own micro-climate; it seems to rain a lot ! Some of the regular long stayers backed this up, saying that rain was a feature of the site. The ground remained very wet during our stay.

There is no where really for kids to play and the site rules tend to discourage this anyway - this wasn't an issue for us as we only use the site as a base for trips out.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Lees 4 reviews from this member

We stayed two nights on the site but wished we could have stayed longer.

The owners were very friendly and helpful as were other users on the site. The facilities were very clean. There is a small shop on site but for any bigger requirements I would recommend attending a larger store before going to site especially if like us you don't have a car.

Although no playground our two children (8 and 13) were not bored and played with other children on site.

The surrounding area was beautiful. We visited the local pub for lunch on the Sunday and the people there were very friendly and the food was great.

Overall a lovely site for relaxing and getting away from it all, we would definitely book again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ssmale 4 reviews from this member

I would like to echo a lot of the other reviews on this site, cup of tea on arrival, clean friendly etc. The local pub is great, and just a short drive to Churchinford provided us with the ingredients for a good English breakfast all local produce, did I mention it too had a pub. Also the Pub in Bishopswood is well worth a visit. Across the lane is a lovely woodland walk which was great for us and the dog.

The only negative, that cockerel, it started about 3. 30am and went on until about 10. 00am.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 22 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site late Thursday afternoon just as a rain shower started and was offered a very welcome cup of tea by the very friendly owner, Rachel, while we waited for the rain to stop, which it did just long enough to get the tent on the ground before turning into a deluge! The pitch allocated to us was very shaded under 2 very large trees which blocked out a great deal of light.

Other pitches in more open spaces were available but seemed to be 'reserved' for people arriving the next day. The ground was extremely stony and we bent several plastic and steel pegs trying to get the tent set up properly.

The site itself is very well maintained although the grass had recently been cut, so with the rain it was very difficult to keep grass out of the tent. The toilet block was very clean with unlimited hot water and excellent electric showers and washing facilities for dishes and clothes.

The site was very busy but we did not have to queue at all. We only visited the nearby pub for a drink and were disappointed that they were unable to provide coffee and had no crisps but they do offer some very cheap meals in the evenings!

Unfortunately for us, the weather was atrocious and an fortuitous / urgent request to return early to work meant we had to cut our visit short by one night. We are still trying to get the tent and groundsheet clean and dry!

The site is well positioned for exploring the area and I would certainly recommend to others and return myself with the hope of better weather.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019