Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandyhills

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie > Sandyhills Reviews

Sandyhills
Colvend
Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4NY
Tel: 01387 780257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Atom47 1 review from this member

 A lovely site spoilt only bu the condition of the toilet/shower block. There is mould around the sealant, the floors were dirty and the bottom of the shower curtains were discoloured by algae. I am surethat all this could be rectified at no large expense.

0ther than that, this is great site, being adjacent to a safe, clean snd sandy beach. There is a play area for small children, good walks nearby and the facilities of the other Gillespie sites are allwithin a short car ride. We shall be going again in 2015. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Adiekate 14 reviews from this member

 1st visit to this peaceful site. If you like peace & quiet then this is the place, the only noise we got was from the numerous birds all around us. Nice welcome when we got there, a bit early but that wasn't a problem. Nice pitch overlooking sea. Beach is a short couple of hundred yard walk & coastal walk (for the fitter people) is on edge of site. Small shop selling basics.

Shower block - this seemed a contentious issue in some reviews - yes they need a good fettle & re-paint but the showers were more than hot enough. Maybe should have another shower block as we imagine that when the site is busy you may have to wait. We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neerodreck 1 review from this member

 We stayed here from Friday to Sunday, site is lovely with a great beach and plenty walks, toilets were adequate if a bit dated. The shop is advertised as being licensed but when we went for a bottle of wine we were told they don't have a license. There is a shop about a mile away but had we known in advance we would have brought it with us. We will be back though and bring our wine next time 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 187 reviews from this member

 No complaints and only praise from my group (11 of us, half are pensioners, in a variety of units). Happy to reassure people that there's plenty of toilet paper (multiple rolls in the cubicles), and no smell from the drains. When I was having a shower the (male) manager called in at the door of the toilets - 'can I come in to clear up the grass?' as the cut grass gets walked in, unavoidably. He wiped the floor, did some other quick cleaning and was out. Yes, the toilet block is dated, but it was clean, freshly painted, and the showers were hot and free. We all thought 17 (for EHU) was good value for what we got. And the managers went out of their way to be helpful. Really quiet, and wonderful dark skies at night. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Love To Escape 1 review from this member

 We love this campsite and have visited quite often as it's quite an informal site, laid back and next to a great beach. We visited over the Easter break and I have to say I was disappointed with the facilities. The ladies toilets were dirty and some of the cubicles had no toilet paper. They still have the same problem that if someone has a shower the whole place steams up it also makes the floor where the wash basins are very wet and slippy - there was a mop there for people to use. Outside of the toilets there was a really awful smell from the drains. This is the beginning of the season ?? It needs updating - a new facilities block in the 'tent' field would make a huge difference to this site.

We will go to this site again because of it's location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Masha 10 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed at this wonderful site for 4 nights with our 3 children (8, 6 and 2) during a really hot spell.

The site has a toilet/ shower block (including an outdoor shower which also has warm water for reasons I will say later). There is a laundry room, a basic shop, a play park, a play field and oh yes, the most fantastic beach 100 yards away through a path!

The toilets were clean enough and the showers as well. There was often a lot of sand on the floor but I really can't complain as we were by the beach and the owners seem to do the best they could do keep it clean.

The outdoor shower was a blessing as the kids got very muddy on the beach and would have made an awful mess in the indoor showers.

The site was beautiful and picturesque. There were plenty of trees and a nice view of the beach. There was also a little stream the kids could paddle in.

We did find it hard to find a flat pitch but not impossible and we were happy where we pitched in the end. The grass was of good quality and well maintained.

The shop was quite expensive and fairly basic. There was a Costcutter up the road a mile or so when turning left out of the campsite.

The play park was fine for all my kids and they had lots of fun there and made lots of friends.

The staff were friendly and helpful and I noticed they kept the shop open later than advertised on some days.

The beach was stunning. When the tide was out it left catch pools and rivers which were warm, lots of shells to collect, rock pools and caves. When the tide came in (and very quickly) the water was safe, shallow and not cold at all. We spent 3 full days on this beach and didn't feel the need to visit anywhere else. Everyday the tide left something different to do so the kids were never bored. We also walked out to an old RAF practice bombing target from WWII.

I would recommend the beach and the campsite to anyone. Just great! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mary1950 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one night, with 2 adults and 2 children. Definitely will go back. The staff are so friendly, and the warden very helpful. Even late when my daughter lost the key! It was no trouble to him, and soon sorted it out

The toilets were very clean and showers hot. Also if you stayed longer the facilities are excellent for washing clothes etc.

The lovely beach was only minutes away and the children played on the little play area and loved it. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 187 reviews from this member

 Having enjoyed staying here before, I organised a camping trip for 8 friends in 2 old motorhomes, a classic campervan, and a cosy static caravan - we all squashed into its lounge in the cool and wet evenings. Plenty to do locally for a group with widely varied interests, and beaches to satisfy the most energetic dog. The staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating - all credit to them. At only 17 out of high season for EHU on grass, we think it's good value. A folding bike is useful as the site shop & office is quite a hike away. The bus to Dumfries or Dalbeattie is every 2 hours. Minor quibble - the toilet block steamed up after showers (which are hot and free) as the heat / moisture / ventilation balance isn't right: it was like going into a sauna some mornings, with damp floors. Won't stop us coming back again, however. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LyraTours 5 reviews from this member

 Another great holiday at Sandyhills, Staff on site are great, very friendly and always willing to assist. I have reviewed this site a short time ago and everything stands except 1 thing!

The toilets now have no heating available and with the cold Easter morning's they were freezing to the point it put me off using them. Spoke with staff who were aware of the problem and were hoping the owners would invest in a solution soon. If you plan a trip soon might be worthwhile calling Gillespie Leisure direct and ask if they have sorted the problem, maybe this way a cracking wee site can be made even better! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Weejan 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from spending a weekend at Sandyhill bay campsite. We arrived quite late on Friday evening and the wardens were so friendly & helpful, they were not at all put out, ( as we have found on many other sites! )

The site is lovely, relaxing and clean with a beautiful sandy beach which is easily accessed. The showers were clean with plenty of room in each cubicle. The shop is well stocked too, with a small cafe next to it which unfortunately was closed for the season, but 400yds away there is a restaurant for non residents of their site.

There is a bus stop at the entrance to sandyhill bay site for anyone wanting to go further afield without driving. We also had our Labrador with us who loved the walks & beach. Would definitely go back & would recommend this site to friends & family. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandyhills child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandyhills?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandyhills dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement