Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandyhills

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie > Sandyhills Reviews

Sandyhills
Colvend
Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4NY
Tel: 01387 780257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Weejan 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from spending a weekend at Sandyhill bay campsite. We arrived quite late on Friday evening and the wardens were so friendly & helpful, they were not at all put out, ( as we have found on many other sites! )

The site is lovely, relaxing and clean with a beautiful sandy beach which is easily accessed. The showers were clean with plenty of room in each cubicle. The shop is well stocked too, with a small cafe next to it which unfortunately was closed for the season, but 400yds away there is a restaurant for non residents of their site.

There is a bus stop at the entrance to sandyhill bay site for anyone wanting to go further afield without driving. We also had our Labrador with us who loved the walks & beach. Would definitely go back & would recommend this site to friends & family. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fimac1634 1 review from this member

 This is a friendly and welcoming campsite situated in a lovely area very close to the beach. The campsite is clean and safe, very good for families. My partner and I plus dog camped for two nights and enjoyed our stay.

We felt it was quite expensive at 19 per night for 2 adults in a small tent. There were good amenities ie shop/cafe, laundrette, dishwashing facilities but at the height of the season it was difficult to get a shower as there were only 2 showers available in both the male and female toilet blocks.

There is definitely a need for more showers as it meant a long wait in the morning and two seemed inadequate for the volume of campers staying at the park in peak season.

What we particularly liked was the presence of the warden at night patrolling which made the site feel very secure. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Landlady 2 reviews from this member

 Saw the site last year by chance and decided to stay for a few days this trip.

New wardens are extremely friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the surrounding area, they couldn't have done more to ensure we had a great stay.

The site is very well maintained and peaceful with a beautiful sandy beach and fantastic views over the Solway Firth. There's a small children's play are and a good mix of EHU's static homes and a very large field for tents plus a couple of wooden chalets.

All the amenities were clean, in a good position and bin areas very tidy.

The site is well placed for Dumfries, Dalbeattie, Kircudbright and the gorgeous Dumfries & Galloway forest.

I would definitely return again as a warm welcome is guaranteed from the lovely Lancashire wardens - well done - keep up the good work ! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LyraTours 5 reviews from this member

 Another cracking holiday spent at Sandyhills in our Conway Crusader Folding Camper. We spent 3 nights here after spending 4 at Brighouse Bay (Same co. ) and I can tell you give me Sandyhills any day. This site is so family friendly and is always kept immaculate. We had the one and only Hardstanding which was spot on level, all other pitches are grass but are fairly level. The toilets are kept clean and tidy and there is also lots of hot water for the free showers. We used the dryers for our towels and a token for 6 mins is 75p.

There is a shop on site which always has the daily papers first thing and fresh rolls as well as most other essentials. We love this site as we can stroll right on to the gorgeous sandy beach and our little one has a ball. As the previous review stated good food can be got at the nearby Barend Holiday Vilage Pub which is walkable in 5 mins. No hesitation in advising anyone to try this site and we will be back for may holiday. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 187 reviews from this member

 We've visited before, and I don't want to repeat the good reviews. I'd just say that we came for 2 nights, intending to move on for the rest of our Easter holiday, and ended up staying the full 10 days. That says it all.

EHU (all on grass) costs 19. 50 but we got a 10% discount for our additional week. We had hot T-shirt weather and snow, but the dog loved the beach whatever and children were always playing there, even in the rain. We did see a beach ball head out to sea faster than its owners could wade after it, but the signs do warn you of the dangerous (and famous) Solway tides.

A review has commented on the lack of facilities compared to Gillespie Leisure's site at Brighouse Bay - true, but you pay much higher site fees for these extras. If you want a bar meal or a pool in walking distance (as at Brighouse Bay), they're a short walk up the hill in the Barend chalet development.

Finally, Sandyhills must have the cheapest laundry anywhere - wash token costs 1. 50, drier tokens cost 75p (I needed two). Some CCC sites cost three times that amount. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janereed 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here August bank holiday weekend sat-mon. The site was fairly busy but it didn't feel like you were on top of each other.

The site is very well maintained, having recently been to site where the grass wasn't kept short & having constantly wet feet, I appreciated this even more.

The facilities are good, ample toilets, laundry room, dishwashing etc, the only down side is that there are quite a trek from some of the tent pitches being situated among the static caravan part of the park, this could be problematic for anyone with young children or mobility problems.

The wardens were very friendly & run a little shop with all of the essentials.

Beautiful site, with spectacular views, and direct access to sandy beach.

Only 2 negatives for us, there was a large group of people who were noisy until fairly late, and we felt that for a tent pitch without EHU 42 for 2 nights was quite steep, for 2 adults & 1 dog.

Nevertheless we had a great 2 days and will go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gnr20 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from 5 night stay at Sandyhills Campsite. Weather had been terrible prior to our arrival yet site was well drained and only occasional puddles/ mud.

Beautiful surroundings and very well managed/maintained. Site itself is long and thin with beach on one side and small (but fast flowing) river on the other lined with trees. Views across the Solway are stunning. Very much a family camp with all children hooking up together and playing ! Playarea is small but central - you can pretend to watch kids but really just take in the views!

Toilets are on the static field and can only be accessed with a key. Lots of toilets, pot washing sinks, laundry room and bike / dog/ muddy children wash area but only 2 showers in ladies and 2 in gents. However they are free and hot.

Beach near to camping site is quite muddy bit at far end there is a cove with rocks and a bit of sand- idea for exploring. This is where coastal walk starts.

Head that way at dusk and see bats, badgers and deer. Small shop and public toilets at entrance to site where public carpark is for beach. 10 deposit for your key.

This could be the nicest site we have stayed on in 15years of camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: David storm 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed for weekend at Sandyhills. Weather wet which did not help however a few areas to highlight.

Tent field is just through the security barrier-however toilet/shower block is at the top of the site next to static caravans-this leading to long walks, also very poor signposting.

Surely the wrong way round. Two showers in each male and female- hot water more like tepid and showers flooded drying area as drain for shower in between both showers! I didn't see any signs for toilet/shower block apart from the one right outside it. Water tap also took some finding and very few rubbish bins around the site.

On arrival you are required to make a 10 deposit for toilet key/security barrier-which seems a lot, although you do receive it back at the end of your stay.

I've stayed at other Gillespie sites before, particularly Brighouse Bay- so was very disappointed at level of services.

Would be a lovely site as location good, but I'm afraid I didn't rate facilities at all. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whistling jean 10 reviews from this member

 We were delighted with this site. We paid less than 13 for a non hook up pitch, the bonus of this was that we had a big field almost to ourselves, and could choose a spot with an uninterrupted view of the Solway Firth and the shore.

The location is lovely, a small bay with hills behind. There is a coastal walk from Sandyhills westwards.

The facilities with modern and clean and the site was very well tended, with flower beds newly planted for the season.

Very convenient for the RSPB reserve at Mersehead. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grumpyman 27 reviews from this member

 Called hear without booking the day before the Bank Holiday weekend. The staff were the most polite I Have ever met nothing appeared to much trouble. Due to the period they could only put us up on a Electric Pitch for one night. The Warden who will always find time to speak to you led us to our Pitch which was grassed and in the centre of Statics. The site is in very nice condition with a lovely beach on your door step. The only negative is 4.50 per night for electric but we will visit again. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandyhills child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandyhills?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandyhills dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement