Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandyhills

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie > Sandyhills Reviews

Sandyhills
Colvend
Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4NY
Tel: 01387 780257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 One night stop over. We parked on the non hookup, just us and one other van. Very peaceful and quiet. Toilets / showers were a bit old but clean. Shower didn't drain well - resulting in very wet shoes left on the other side of the shower!

The hookup area is a grass circle in the middle of the statics - looked well kept and fairly well spaced out.

Site looks well kept, small shop and cafe but we didn't use either so cant comment. Lots of work going on in the car park but noise wasn't intrusive.

We paid £15 without hookup - with electric its £18.50 - not the cheapest but a nice well kept site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentteam 3 reviews from this member

 This was not our first visit to the area, but it was our first visit to the site and we will definitely be back.

We arrived on the Friday about 5pm for two nights - disturbing the Wardens dinner! He was very helpful and pleasant and pointed out the site on the CCTV camera. We were given a security fob for the barrier and key for the toilet area and I have to say we were immediately impressed from the security point of view, as we have two children and a dog to contend with!

We had our choice of pitches with lovely sea views although we were glad that we had arrived on the Friday, as it was much busier come Saturday. The toilet blocks and site itself were spotlessly clean - the wardens were out and about regularly and were happy to help and the shop staff were all very pleasant. There is access to the beach which is right on the doorstep (tent step in our case) what more can you ask for. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 187 reviews from this member

 We've visited this site for many years, and will come back again for a peaceful break; the dog loved it. Very good value for money, friendly helpful wardens - even for our late arrival. Security fob for the barrier and toilet block is essential as the beach is popular in summer. Huge tent area, with well-behaved Guide or Duke of Edinburgh groups on our visit. Two new timber 'wigwams'. EHU area at far end on sloping grass in the middle of the small statics area, within sight and a short dog-dash of the massive beach (kept clean thanks to plentiful bins emptied daily by the wardens).

Beautiful sunsets and views of Lake District. We had glorious sun, no midges when it was breezy, but they came when the wind dropped. I read the complaints about the toilet block, but I think it's been refurbished? we certainly had no problems with it - free powerful showers, an enclosed sink cubicle if you need privacy, and it never seemed to be shut for cleaning. Floor got wet only because of enthusiastic use of the foot bath. There's a laundry and outside drying lines. Our folding bike was useful to get to the shop, which had all we needed for a weekend away.

There is a play area. Take the coastal path to pretty Rockcliffe and then over to even-prettier Kippford for a meal at the real-ale Anchor Inn (dogs allowed), then get a £10 taxi home. We recommend Castle Douglas 'the food town' (and galleries), and Threave Gardens (NTS)nearby. Excellent local Organic food from the Loch Arthur Community's farm shop at Beeswing (between Dumfries & Dalbeattie). There are few supermarkets because folk want to keep their shops in the high street, but there is a massive Tesco off the Dumfries bypass. Mountain biking at the '7Stanes' forest outside Dalbeattie and at Mabie (near New Abbey). Quirky 9 hole golf at Kippford road-end, opposite amazing gallery-standard pottery. With quiet roads and beautiful scenery, and a variety of things to do, this area ticks the boxes for us and this is one of the best sites in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schnauzer Camper 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic beautiful surroundings. Secure campsite with barrier on entry (key from reception on arrival). Variety of pitches. Quiet. The beach is not quite what some might expect, as it is a little muddy most of the time. However there is sand, and when the tide is fully in, it does look good. Nice villages nearby and a Tesco at Castle Douglas (20 mins). Will return 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leonadas 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night camping stay to this site. Weather let it down a bit but hey that’s camping! Many of the previous reviews are accurate as to facilities and site location. Personally I feel you need a car to get the best out of the area unless as has been stated you love walking, there are loads of those in the area.

A visit to New Abbey,a 15 min car ride away is well worth it. Great tea/scone shop, the ruins of sweetheart abbey, whilst not massive are impressive and very well kept. Admission a little steep at £16 for a family of 4.Couple of good pubs here but again food a little expensive.

As stated site is very quiet,10.30 all quiet is backed up by patrols! The night sky is spectacular with little light pollution around. Site shop is very basic,not stocking even gas mantles!People friendly and helpful though.Again prices on the high side,so take supplies with you as local shop at Dalbettie is poorly stocked as well. Dumfries is worth a drive and a few good eating houses there.

I've seen better kept toilets / shower blocks but these were about 7 out of 10, clean, but mens showers seem to drain all over the entire block floor!Showers were free and hot. There is a £10 deposit on toilet / barrier key - returned on return of the key but only 1 per booking so if you have 2 cars or more per party its a bit of a pain getting out. Probably not a site for you if you don't love beaches and walks but for a quiet relaxing short break it works well, but remember the dreaded Scottish weather! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emlouryan 3 reviews from this member

 We have been here a couple of times and love going to Dumfries and Galloway. This is a fantastic site for the money.

It is very dog friendly and our dog loves the walks around the coast and the beaches around here. It is a fantastic place to visit. The views are amazing, you camp almost on the beach or within a couple of seconds away. The site is very quiet and everyone is very friendly. There is a playground for children and a pub on the other site nextdoor but we have never been there so don't know what it is like.

The toilets/Shower block are very old but kept very clean. The shop is expensive like most onsite shops so you really need to take with you what you need as it is a bit of a drive to a supermarket.

A great place to visit that isn't too far away by car is Dalbeattie forest and Mabie Forest, both are great walks but be careful on the Mabie one as you end up very high and could be a bit too much for small children.

We have travelled all around the Solway Coast and walked along most of the coastal paths and the views are breath taking.

Our dog loves it. Would definitely recommend a visit, it is good value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Driach 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from Sandyhills and can really recommend it. We camped overlooking the beach and small play area. The site was pretty and well kept. The shower block was outdated but showers were hot which is what counts. There was hair dryers for 20p. Laundry had irons (20p) and ironing boards. Staff were helpful and friendly.
 
Very quiet at night - we heard owls hooting. Apparently you can use the swimming pool at the holiday chalet complex up the hill. There is also a pub serving meals here but we used neither.
 
The shop on site is very limited. There is a general stores in Colvend - the next village. Otherwise visit a supermarket before you go as not many shops around.
Mabie forest park was excellent for walks and cycling
 
The whole area is scenic and peaceful and we would go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cassey01 2 reviews from this member

 Very well maintained site with immaculate facilities (they were being cleaned almost every time we went in.) Play park kept the kids entertained well enough and the beach is just feet away. Nice walk along beach and round into little coves which were strewn with washed up shells, millions of them. 
Staff were all very helpful and friendly. No complaints at all.
Definitely recommend this site for those looking for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gadgetgranny 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to this campsite, although my hubby and I are very familiar with the area.  We chose it because of hubby's mobility problems, and it didn't disappoint.  In fact, we were knocked out both with the level walking, the beautiful beach, and the friendliness and helpfulness of both staff and other visitors to the site.  Also, the 'residents' in the privately owned static caravans were most welcoming and helpful. 
Sandyhills is a quiet site, and although there is a small swing park for kids, it's probably not going to be your choice if you want night life, as there are no bars or other entertainment on the site, although there are plenty of eating and watering holes in the surrounding locality.  However, we perceive no bars to be one of the big attractions - no noise at night.  The only sounds you'll hear are the sounds of the birds.  In fact, it's a great wildlife area, and within a few hours of arriving, we saw a variety of birds and heard an owl. 
The hire caravans are kept in immaculate condition and ours was brand new this month.  A pass key is issued at check-in which is used to raise the traffic barrier (no extra charge although I can't answer for tenters, etc). 
Tenters and caravanners are issued with their own key for the toilets,and there is a plentiful supply of hookups.  I never got fed up with my daily walks and we were very fortunate with the weather.  You could take a different route every day and still find plenty to enjoy.
Highly recommended - we've booked up again for later in the year. 


Date of Visit: January 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Veg183496 1 review from this member

 I used to stay at this campsite every year for about 10 years. Granted I was a child but I have the most wonderful memories of this place and would definatly recommend anyone to go. The location is amazing, there are plenty of walks and cycle routes there's a swimming pool 5mins down the road. There used to be a local riding centre next to the pool. There are great local villages and towns nearby.
The whole place is truly a wonderful experience. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandyhills child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandyhills?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandyhills dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement