Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Point Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Tarbert > Point Sands Holiday Park > Reviews

Point Sands Holiday Park
Tayinloan
Kintyre
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XG
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/03/2022 to 03/03/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dellman 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely area, views and beach are excellent.

On arrival staff were pleasant and helpful, even offered to show us to our pitch.

Peaceful site even with friendly ducks that seem to own the area!

As site is on the west coast, unfortunately midges came out in evening.

Great place to go touring the Mull of Kintyre and not far to catch ferry to Arran or Islay for day trip.

Nice new play area for the kids looked good.

Site has a small cafe which was unfortunately not open when we were there.

Only down side to site is the toilet block which is rather dated and small.

It is cleaned regularly but still looks slightly in need of cleaning. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

 Superb location right next to the beach. Very handy for ferry to Gigha. No pub within easy walking distance. It had been raining a lot before we arrived and some of the pitches were a bit soggy and some cars had trouble getting out looking at the ruts left.

Nice little shop with friendly and helpful staff in there. We were having problems with our TV reception and they offered to come to our van to sort it if we still struggled.

Small children's play area.

Downside to the site is that the toilet block is dated and needs upgrading. My wife commented on the the 'wildlife' in there. Only 2 showers in male and female blocks but never had to queue. 20p for a shower and the money lasted for plenty of time (my wife managing to wash her long hair with no problems). 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nessie287 3 reviews from this member

 This is a very well situated site, just a few steps away from a sandy beach. Unfortunately the advertised 'well draining soil' did not exist on our pitch and our awning was waterlogged after only a short time of rain. We were very disappointed with the fact that we had to pay for showers on top of the pitch fee, maybe this should be mentioned on the website or at least at time of booking. The facilities are very dated and for the price we paid, we would have expected a little better. The road to the site is single track past a working farm with a few speed bumps to slow you down. The road on the site itself, if you can call it a road (at least on the camper side) is a dirt track that might be a problem for 'normal' cars as the tracks are quite deep at some parts. You can basically pick your own pitch, they are quite big but not defined. The pitches at the front do not have their own hook-ups, you need to run your cable across the track, which could be a problem with cars driving over it. There is a play area for children but nothing for older ones. Maybe a games room or something would be a nice addition to this site. We cannot comment on Customer Service as we did not receive any. As much as we loved the location, we will not return. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dizzy debs 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a wonderful fortnight on this site, fantastic beach very safe for the kids and clean spent many hours crab fishing and collecting shells.

The on-site shop is good and sells most things apart from alcohol so bring your own. The toilet and showers are a bit dated but the managers informed me next year they pulling it down and building a new block, but they are clean and the showers hot.

The owners and the managers are very friendly and I loved chatting to Barbara in the shop every day who greeted me every morning with a lovely smile. We had electric and could just pick our own pitch which was great, only downside is it can be very windy so come prepared with extra pegs.

Have been camping in Scotland for many years and have never seen such beautiful sunsets as I did here, the views are amazing as the whole site looks onto the island of ghiga. Going to sleep every night listening to the waves on the shore was so relaxing and we will have many memories of toasting marshmallows on the beach. This site is certainly 1 of my top 3. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H1deh1 1 review from this member

 Our first camping trip with the kids to this site and we had a wonderful time during our two-night stay. It was helped in part by the fantastic weather, but the owners were really friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and well-maintained.

The beach was clean and great for the kids (aged 5 and 6) - the water is shallow for quite a way out so it felt really safe for them to play. The wee playpark was good. We had planned to visit Gigha, but ended up staying around the site for most of the time, as the kids were happy playing on the beach and pottering about in the woods. I also appreciated the fact that the owners seemed to be very aware of the children on the site - matching kids to parents etc.

The wind is probably something of a feature at most campsites in this area and Point Sands is no exception in this respect - our tent stood up to the gusts fine, but a couple of the others were not so lucky, and it did make for rather a noisy night's sleep - not much you can do about the Scottish weather though, and at least it keeps the midges away! I'd definitely recommend this site for a relaxed break in this lovely area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 An amazing location above the beach with plenty of pitch space. All pitches are on grass but levels can be found. The welcome was warm and friendly. The facilities were clean but tired and in need of refurbishment that may be under consideration.

At £19 for a pitch with EHU this was a bit expensive and we certainly did not appreciate having to add coins to use the showers.

The on site shop is well stocked with essentials, although despite advertising newspapers these were not available until demand for them was deemed enough to make fetching them worthwhile!

We enjoyed our stay and recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rhydeparker 1 review from this member

 We had a truly wonderful stay at Point Sands, which is a very welcoming, family run campsite in a very beautiful location right on the beach. The slightly dodgy weather did not prevent us from having an amazing time here, complete with ferry trip (catch it just up the road) to the stunning island of Gigha for lunch and crabbing in the bay.

The campsite itself is very clean and functional and the friendly wardens looked after us really well and were very helpful, particularly when we were having trouble trying to fill our motor home tank up with fresh water! We were very impressed with the campsite's cafe which serves well-sourced local food and tasted delicious. Our children loved the campsite too, dividing their time between the beach, the play park and biking round in the wooded area.

We shall certainly be back again - there is so much to do in the area which we didn't get round to doing this time. A really huge thanks to Rebecca, Angus and their staff for making our stay so memorable. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oddball780 4 reviews from this member

 We visited in mid August and found this campsite to be a disappointment. The welcome wasn't as friendly as we had expected, the pitch wasn't level and was full of holes.

The shower block was awful as was the dish washing area. There had been an influx of storm flies and there were dead ones everywhere. There were dirty cloths lying in both areas. We were given a code for the shower block, but both doors were propped open. There was a hole in the wall in the dish washing area.

The swings were missing from the playground and the whole place seemed very dated.

I spoke to the owner on the morning after our arrival and she was very helpful and understanding but unfortunately we won’t be going back 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunnyday20 3 reviews from this member

 Got mixed views about this campsite. Clean and tidy loos, although sometimes lacking toilet paper. £1 for a shower, but needed £2 if washing my hair - this all added up. Good washup facilities.

The location is lovely and we had marvellous weather. Good on site shop with 2 supermarkets in Campbeltown. Not much to do on a rainy day - the cinema in Campbeltown is open evenings and there is also a swimming pool.

I did feel the attitude of some of the site staff was poor as any requests seemed to be difficult, although we thought they were simple.

The biggest downside is there is no stated curfew and groups were noisy well into the early hours. Heard the manager grumble about this, but he had not asked them to be quiet!

Glad we visited and enjoyed, but not sure we'd visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smegbear 3 reviews from this member

 What a great campsite. The staff were excellent, place was very clean (few bugs n cobwebs in dish washing area but you are camping after all). Great location and a brilliant base camp for anyone with outdoor activity or watersport passions. Sunsets and views were beautiful and a lot of places to visit near and afar. Shower and toilet areas very clean with showers £1 for 5 min which was fine. On site shop and little cafe van are fantastic with everything you need and more and is very well priced. Some amazing wildlife there too. Will definitely be going back. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Point Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Point Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Point Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tarbert      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2999 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement