Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Point Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Tarbert > Point Sands Holiday Park Reviews

Point Sands Holiday Park
Tayinloan
Kintyre
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XG
Tel: 01583 441263
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: March 1st To November 30

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The last couple of reviews state the site was closing to tourers. It has only closed to caravans - they still accept campervans / motorhomes. Whilst the site details are updated on this site the reviews made us think all tourers were no longer accepted.

There are 5 hard standing pitches, each with ehu and wifi available. You do need own facilities as no showers / loos.

We didn't stay but as we found site was open and accepting tourers wanted to update here for others to see.

It's £20 for a night incl the ehu and wifi.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

This site is closing for touring caravans and tents after this season, which is a shame. Our second stop here, came 4 or so years ago. Had a problem with the car and owner in the office pointed me in the direction of a mechanic on site. Great location, right on the beach. Superb views and sunsets. Good for kayaking and many of the very friendly seasonals who stop here do this. New toilet block (portaloo sheds) replacing old ones. These very small, but nice and clean. Good on site shop. Wifi free but heavily used so very slow. Just up from Gigha ferry, which makes a nice day out. Would have returned if tourers had continued to be accepted.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clipstone Lad 6 reviews from this member

We have been to this site three times over the past six years. As the previous reviews show it will be closing to touring after this season. I have to say we have not been impressed over the times we visited. The only plus in its favour was its location: facing west on the long beach, and close to the Gigha island ferry. For that privelege the owners have been milking the location without much interest in developing its potential, and it has been one of the most expensive sites we stayed on.

This year we were dismayed to find that the 'new' toilet block was a rented Portacabin, with tiny shower units and even smaller toilet cubicles; seriously, I would defy anyone of a 'stout' figure to fit into either. The soap dispensers were empty, and the hot water operated on a wave of the hand in front of a sensor, that never seemed to work. Even more bizarre was the chemical disposal; after

Searching, we found this under a heavy concrete lid with a ring in it.

Fortunately, we stayed mid week, and left to find our own spot, but we were told by the seasonal people that on weekends the site became a free-for-all, with visitors setting up to close to each other under a 'stack em high' policy; at least that proves that people would still come if they could. There may be some good news though. The people who run the Gigha ferry cafe and Bed and Breakfast have applied to open a touring site as well, and they would be excellent to stay with.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a fantastic week at Point Sands during the UK Half term at the end of May. After the bank holiday, there were only two tents on site for the rest of the week!

We were fortunate with the weather, having no rain and mostly sunny all week and very warm.

Large site, split into 3 sections with statics at one side, tourers at the other and tents in the middle.

Most of the tents were non EHU, but we requested hook up so were reserved a space near the tourers.

Site is literally on the beach (private to the site) with fantastic views of Gigha, Islay and Jura, especially in the evening with the sunset.

Great little shop on site selling the basics. Nearest supermarket's are Co-op's at Campbeltown or Tarbet, approx 25 mins drive from the site.

A visit to Gigha is a must with the Calmac ferry leaving 2 miles from the site. Its possible to drive to the ferry or walk along the beach. Leave car on Kintyre and just walk on ferry as you can walk Gigha or hire bikes.

Recommend visiting Tarbet, Campbeltown and Carradale on days out. Some fantastic walks. Mull of Kintyre is quite a drive and a long walk back to the car, so beware!

Back on site, toilet and shower block spotless, although 2 showers in men, never busy. There is also a play park for younger children and plenty of space for ball games.

Really relaxing site. Lovely owners who are helpful with the local area. Free Wi-Fi on site, but this was hit and miss.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seniorsx2 6 reviews from this member

The campsite is in a lovely peaceful location. The staff and wardens are friendly and helpful. The tent pitches are flat and well spaced with sea views. Although the showers and toilets are temporary they were clean and tidy. The camp shop has basic food supplies and gorgeous freshly baked croissants in the mornings. A small takeaway on site cooks fresh meals to order. The camp is ideal for the ferries for island hopping. Not to be missed a visit to the Sea Food Shack at Skipness by the castle.For a quiet restful holiday this site will be difficult to beat.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Westcoaster 4 reviews from this member

I found Point Sands to have a fantastic location - right on the shore looking over to the Island of Gigha and about a 5 minute drive to the ferry at Tayinloan for Gigha, or 15 mins or so to Kennacraig for other islands including Islay and Colonsay. There's a long, white, sandy shore which is really beautiful and if you're lucky you get a fantastic view of the sun setting behind the islands. The 'Kintyre Way' long distance walk pathway runs along the site, so it would be a handy stopping point for that. There is a campsite shop and café (open evenings only), and newly installed toilet block with showers. The cubicles for the showers are pretty tight, but you can just about wedge yourself in and get the door shut; there was plenty hot water and they were free. The loos were clean, though I didn't think the mop and pail full of water should have been left in there all day. The site is spacious and when I was there, busy with families in caravans and tents. There are plenty water points and some lidded bins here and there. The only problem I really had was the weather - after one fantastic afternoon and evening a gale blew in from the Atlantic and I thought the tent and I were going to blow away, so sadly I had to leave early, but I did enjoy my short visit and look forward to visiting again. For me and the car and tent it was £12 a night so good value.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mleonard 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site at a truly stunning location (if peace and tranquillity is what you are after)

On arrival met the very friendly receptionist who put us in the direction of “Red T-Shirt Phil” (her quote - :-)) who is the ‘on site’ warden who shows you to your pitch and always available to help out if needed (very nice guy!)

Nice clean site with flat pitches (soft sandy ground so good pegs needed as can get very windy – but drains well when it rains), new toilet/shower block facilities which at first you think are small and not enough but proved to more than adequate (all kept very clean and free hot showers) and never any queues.

Lovely location with sea views (all pitches) and views to the islands (stunning sun sets). Walking/cycling distance to Tayinloan ferry to Isle of Gigha which is a must as such a fantastic island with some of the best beaches and seas you could imagine. (great little cafe by the ferry jetty for when you come back to mainland)

Has a small shop and evening beach takeaway hut which cooks to order local fish, scallops etc…or just burgers, chips…good value and excellent quality.

Wood provided to light fires on the beach at night which gives you the true camping experience and gets campers together for a chat and a drink.

Very quiet site with no late noise, in fact so quiet you can lie in bed and listen to the sea.

Will definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kirbytwo 5 reviews from this member

Based on our statistically unreliable sample, men like Point Sands campsite but women are less enthusiastic. For the men it is something to do with pretending they are wild camping, but with all the facilities of a campsite, adjacent to a splendid beach with streams to be dammed, on which fires are permitted and along which runs the 87 mile Kintyre Way. The women noted a missing sink plug in the washing-up area, a lack of instructions for the laundry equipment and an unhealthy aroma from one of the water point drains.

We stayed at Point Sands for one night prior to taking the ferry to Islay from Kennacraig, some 12 miles away. The ferry to Arran from Cronaig is a similar distance from Point Sands and both routes involve passing the only petrol station in the area.

The toilet block, laundry and washing-up facilities were all renewed for 2013, albeit in temporary buildings intended soon to be replaced by permanent structures. All were faultlessly clean and modern. Allowed to select our own pitch, we were well away from the mobile homes and children’s play area with interesting views of Cara, Gigalum and community-owned Gigha, to which a ferry within walking distance runs every hour.

The camp-site shop supplied our limited needs whilst the experienced wardens (also new to Port Sands in 2013) were clearly making strenuous efforts to rectify those aspects of the site on which previous reviewers, and the two women in our survey, commented adversely

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Garyt 1 review from this member

Home after our first but certainly not last visit to point sands campsite on the beautiful shores of the mull of kintyre, this is a cracking site with spectacular sea views and all pitches are flat and well kept, on arrival the staff were welcoming and friendly.

We were pitched right on the edge of the beach within 10 minutes after a quick rundown from helpful warden on sites facilities. The site shop was well stocked with with fresh produce and useful items, they even have a cafe serving breakfast/ lunch & dinner menu's, the toilet and shower block looked brand new and was very clean.

I cant say enough good things about this site and the £18 per night for a serviced pitch was well worth it & they even let us stay in our place till 5pm on depart day as the weather was glorious and we wanted to make most of it.

Cheers point sands see you soon.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Enki 1 review from this member

Beautiful location at lovely sandy beach. Staff and campers all very friendly. Shop well stocked including fresh fruit, vegetables & rolls. Good for walking and touring and ferry connections.

The Elsan disposal was via a drain covered by a metal manhole cover. This was also the only disposal point for grey water. We have not seen this before at other sites and it seemed not the best arrangement for hygene.

The toilet facilities, in Portaloo cabins, while clean & recent, did not seem sufficient for the size of the site.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2673 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019