Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Point Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Tarbert > Point Sands Holiday Park > Reviews

Point Sands Holiday Park
Tayinloan
Kintyre
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XG
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/03/2022 to 03/03/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BrandNewDay 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights, just me and my oldest son.

The location is good - I adore Kintyre, and when the weather is good, it's stunning. The beach is nice and sandy, the views are beautiful.

Our pitch was large and level - they have a lot of space to spread campers out on. Unfortunately, they don't really have enough toilets and showers for all the campers. The ladies' ran out of loo roll on our first night, and on our second night, one of the toilets was out of order, so there were only three available. Two showers isn't very many, either. They cost 1, but I can't comment on them further as I just went without since we were really only there one full day.

The on site shop is OK. Plenty of water and beach toys available. They'd told me when I dropped by over a year ago that they were planning to get an off license, but they don't have it, yet.

It's a very child-friendly place, with a playground in the centre of the camping field, and the kids run about and have a lot of fun.

The takeaway catering van ('Cara's Cafe') does very nice food at breakfast, lunch, and dinner time. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sammy A 2 reviews from this member

 Our family had a wonderful and eventful stay at this beautiful site over the last May bank holiday. We arrive with our tent and after a battle with the wind pitched for our four night stay.

The next day however some really bad wind forced us to have to take down our tent.

The owners and managers were wonderfully helpful sorting out a move to a beautiful static caravan. I really cannot sing the owners and managers praises highly enough. They helped so much to sort us out of a tricky situation and then were fantastic with advice and local knowledge of the area.

The site itself was lovely. The woods amazing to explore and a beach to die for ! Our bbq on the beach will long be remembered!

We would recommend this wonderful, peaceful family campsite to anyone.

Finally a trip to beautiful Gigha is a must. We hired bikes and had a great day exploring this beautiful island.

Thankyou to all at Point Sands ! Rachel, your site, staff, location and genuine caring customer service is wonderful! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Estweyn 16 reviews from this member

 This site is situated in the most beautiful part of the country, a good mix of countryside and sea. Wildlife and birdwatchers will be in paradise.

The beach is clean and you can walk for miles either side, we pitched one row back from the sea as there were strong winds when we arrived, however the weather settled and we were in paradise.

Its easy to get over to Gigha via the ferry, we took the car and toured the island, the water is so clear, the views were stunning. The site itself was litter free, no hard standings but the ground seemed to drain pretty well.

We did not use the shower block but they did seem clean even if the building was a little dated, a small price to pay for such a wonderful spot.

The owners were great, telling us of when best to spot local wildlife and suggesting walks that we would never have even thought of. There was a kiddies play area, loads of room for kids to have a kick about without bothering anyone.

We will certainly be returning to this little paradise. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy54 1 review from this member

 Superb site. Easy to find. Down a long single track lane to the site. Very welcoming. Large grass pitches. Fantastic views and lots of wildlife - saw 2 Otters on the beach.

Rachel does a Takeaway on Friday & Saturday evening. Kintyre scallops and chips to die for. Shop well stocked and you can order newspapers.

Springbank distillery in Campeltown is a must to visit. Will definitely return - preferably when it isn't stormy! Thought the van was going to blown over one night.

Even after all the rain we had an amazing sunset over Gigha. Ferry to Gigha is about 1 1/2 miles away but awkward to walk to. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: S Sandeman 1 review from this member

 We arrived the day after a storm and the site was immaculate. We are a large touring caravan and were given a lovely pitch near to a water tap and views to Gigha & Jura that were stunning.

We were lucky to benefit from a heat wave. The site was clean and quiet with a well stocked basic shop. Whilst the facilities are not new this is made up for by the welcome and help one receives from the Camp site owners and staff.

We loved watching the bird life including a pair of goldfinches feeding off the wild grass seed on the edge of the dunes.

This site is a must if you enjoy beach activities and the quiet of the countryside in wonderful scenery. We will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ozzie2305 1 review from this member

 Campsite is in a beautiful location with fantastic views to Gigha and Jura. Beaches and campsite spotless and camping area mostly flat and grassy / mossy underfoot.

Very welcoming management and staff, who couldn't have been more helpful. Shop on site well stocked with day-to-day supplies. Small swing park near the tents, so kids (2 and 6)were kept entertained while we got set up.

Toilet block small, but clean and tidy, and a mop and bucket provided so you could clean the shower area before use, if required.

Only two shower cubicles, but they were spacious with a decent amount of 'dry' room to get kids towelled and clothed without dropping stuff in a wet shower floor. Showers 1 for a decent amount of time, and nice and hot.

Only word of advice is that the site fairly exposed to wind (name gives it away!), and as the ground underfoot is sandy, we had some trouble pitching and keeping the tent pegged down in the fairly high winds - would recommend heavy duty pegs if in any doubt about weather conditions.

Saying that, the owner offered to allow us to relocate our tent after a particularly blustery night, and I believe had assisted a number of other campers.

Nice family campsite, would recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojo439 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip to Point Sands, in a group of over 20 people, our last visit was August 2010.

We stayed in a tent, however, within our group we had a caravan, two motorhomes, tents, and last year a trailer tent. We found the site and access road to be perfectly suitable for all.

We brought our boat in August and were able to launch it from the beautiful beach using our 4x4 - and when the clutch disintegrated while bringing the boat ashore the Point Sands staff very quickly sourced a tractor to pull the 4x4, trailer and boat out.

On our recent trip we were met with gale force winds on our first night, so severe that two of our tents were destroyed and had to be skipped. Again, staff were super helpful and the morning after organised for the now 'homeless' members of our party to stay in one of the static caravans, which they had available, at a very agreeable rate. Due to the force of the wind that carried on over the weekend one very kind resident (George, I believe) on the static caravan side of the site offered to let remaining tents camp in his garden - what a star!

We had a super trip over to the Isle of Gigha, you can walk to the ferry along the beach in half an hour or so but there was plenty parking available at the ferry terminal for us too. The Achamore Gardens are well worth a visit and the The Boathouse does a good panini and half pint of Peroni!

The site was full but at no time did we feel it so. The toilets and showers are nothing fancy but certainly ample for a campsite - clean and light. The shop has everything you should need - although you should bring your own alcohol and favourite brand of cigarettes, if required! There's a wee shop in Tayinloan, but Campbeltown and Tarbert are each about 40 mins away too.

We were also allowed a small camp fire on the beach - which we think makes the whole camping experience!

All in all, Point Sands is a great experience. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alfcat 1 review from this member

 Had one night on the site, it is badly in need of updating! we found the charges far too high. Some of the play equipment broken, only one shower working in ladies(very low doors) and a charge of 1 to use, although cleanish needs seriously updating!

Yes the area is fabulous but facilities need to be also, for the prices charged. We found the Cara Cafe to be not a Cafe but a metal storage container ! not really what we were expecting.

We use a lot of campsites and for the price it was not good value for money. Sorry to have to say these things but we were very disappointed and will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 641 reviews from this member

 Site fairly quiet when we stayed. Took a pitch by the beach without electric (16 without elec but you have to pay for showers so fairly expensive when other sites in area 15 with elec and showers incl).

As said before toilets / showers very dated, they were clean but cant imagine how they cope with more than a few people.

Lady in reception super friendly and helpful. Has a wonderful little shop which is well stocked.

The Kintyre Way passes through the site so you can walk in either direction along the beach.

Overall a nice site in a great position - with new facilities will be a really great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Griswaldo72 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a week on this site and had a brilliant time. Site is in a great location right on the beach looking across towards the isle of Gigha. This area had some of the best coastline in the country. The kids, aged 6 and 10, never got bored and loved the bodyboarding at Westport Beach (so did I to be honest).

Weather changes very quickly but when it was warm at night we were never really bothered by midges etc due to the coastal location.

Sites amenities were fine and adequate and the shop very well stocked. The owners were excellent and helped with trip ideas and would do anything for you, even ordering your daily paper in for collection from the shop each morning.

We spent one evening in the sun on our chairs on the beach with a bottle of wine, snacks and a frisbee, brill fun with the kids and a scenic setting with the sun going down over Jura in the distance.

A great family holiday where Kayaking, walking, trips on speedboats, bodyboarding and sand castle building were the order of the day.

Would recommend for a relaxing break away from the daily grind, the kids can't wait for their next adventure. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Point Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Point Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Point Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tarbert      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3200 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement