Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Point Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Tarbert > Point Sands Holiday Park > Reviews

Point Sands Holiday Park
Tayinloan
Kintyre
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XG
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/03/2022 to 03/03/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunsetskye 1 review from this member

 We stayed in July for the school holidays, was dreading it as thought it would be really busy but so much space there was a real party atmosphere. Everyone was happy, helped along by the super friendly and always cheerful owners. Kayaking in the rain was great fun and went over to Gigha as much as possible, great bike rides and crabbing off the pier!

Shop was great, real lifeline with fabulous ice cream!

Yes toilet block was in need of updating but understand that the new owners can't do everything at once. Always spotless even at busy times.

Sunsets and beach amazing - have booked to go back again this year! Can't wait! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachel+ali 5 reviews from this member

 Quite a pleasant spot on the beach overlooking Gigha. We only stayed one night, very convenient for the ferry to Islay. This is obviously a very popular site with families/groups & booking advisable in high season. The facilities are dated but fine, I would imagine busy at peak times as appeared to be only 2 showers & 1 washing up sink. Can recommend the Argyll Hotel, a short drive south from site for a good meal. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maximus and friends 2 reviews from this member

 Nice peaceful campsite in beautiful location right on the beach - weather was stunning which was a bonus. Lovely views to Gigha, Islay and Jura. Owners very friendly and helpful. Beach seemed very safe and dogs loved it. Water was warm and shallow for quite a distance out.

Showers nice and big and the 1 lasts a long time. Never had to wait for shower while there.

Well stocked shop which is reasonably priced and newspapers ordered with no delivery charge. Shop was a great lifeline as you are quite a long way from any other shops.

Lots to do in surrounding area. Travelled by ferry to Gigha (foot passsengers) and Arran (with car) for day trips. Lots of forest and other walks. We enjoyed the views from Torinturk and also from the hill above Tarbert castle.

Lasting memory of sitting on beach watching the sun set over the paps of Jura on the summer solstice. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowies 4 reviews from this member

 We've visited this site for about 7 years now, it's now under new management and you can already see the improvements. Stunning location, very friendly park, toilet / shower block need updating but are clean and have lovely lemongrass hand soaps, (big improvement in cleanliness from previous years). Shop well stocked and staff and owners friendly.

Will continue to visit for many years as it's a wee bit of Scottish Paradise.

An abundance of wildlife you'll spot deer, bats, rabbits, heron, seals and the resident ducks.

Beach location is ideal for wee campfire at night to toast marshmallows with the kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentteam 3 reviews from this member

 Tent with a view - Good level pitch with amazing views over the Atlantic. The site owners were very friendly and helpful and the shop was well stocked.

The toilets although dated, were spotlessly clean and the showers were well worth the 1. The weather was not exactly great; however it did not stop us enjoying the fantastic clean beach.

This is a very friendly family orientated site with the luxury of barbecues on the beach.

The only small point was that by the Sunday the bins located around the site were overflowing. Would highly recommend a visit and we will be back soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JM10 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Point Sands for the long weekend, having been visiting the area and this particular site for many many years. The site is a perfect location for exploring Kintyre and the views over Gigha and Cara with Jura beyond are quite stunning. The long and safe beach is great for children, to enjoy a leisurely stroll or for a brilliant location for a barbeque.

Since our last visit the site management has changed and have made major and welcome improvements at the site including the shower area and the shop facilities. They are very friendly and willing to do what they can to help you make the most of your holiday.

We have been visiting the site for many years and always enjoy our stay whether in the tent or in a caravan. We would highly recommend this site to anyone to explore and visit one of the most stunning areas in Scotland. Cannot wait to go back and we will be this year hopefully more than once. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campcookie 28 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights in camper van. Stunning location right beside fabulous beach. The site is down a straight well surfaced lane, well off the main road, so no traffic noise.

We arrived after several days of heavy rain, but the site was well drained so it didn't cause any problems. The owners are very friendly, there's a well stocked shop - daily papers etc. And really everything you could want.

The site is spacious and you choose where to pitch. There's a fine range of play equipment for children and space for them to run around. The facilities although dated were spotlessly clean and a vase of daffodils in the ladies was a nice touch. It seemed to provide all that you might want - showers, hairdryer, undercover wash up, launderette.

We used the site at either end of a visit to Islay, it was only 15 minutes up the road to Kennacraig ferry terminal so it was very convenient.

Have marked this site up on our map as one to return to. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pointsands 1 review from this member

 Thank you for all your comments, all are received in the full knowledge that you are our customers and we appreciate ALL of the feedback.

My husband and I have taken over the management of Point Sands Holiday Park from 2010, it is a family business and we intend to make all our visitor welcome this coming year. WE are well aware that there do need to be some major changes on the site, whilst these will not happen over night we hope that with your support and feedback we will be able to provide a Holiday Park in the future that we can all be proud of and enjoy. For the moment let us not forget that this is still the best spot in Kintyre for beaches, sunsets and family fun.

We looking forward to welcoming new and old friends to Point Sands in Kintyre in 2010. Please feel free to contact me, Rebecca, directly if you feel I can be of personal assistance. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WILLIAMTHEBRAVE 5 reviews from this member

 Location of this site was fantastic, if you like to sit at the beach with a glass of wine in your hand watching the sunset and looking at the stunning views then this is the site for you. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Toilet block was clean, though needs upgrading. On site shop has what you need if you cant get to supermarket. Ideal location for touring the mull of kintyre, would recommend a day trip to gigha,small but lovely island. If you need to stock up,stop at tarbet for all your bits and bobs. Overall we would really recommend this site have been to a few over the years,though this one is tops for the views and tranquillity. Would definitely go to this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Strutt Murdochs 1 review from this member

 We were delighted to have found the Point Sands Caravan Park as we struggled to get accommodation on the many others we had tried last weekend. The guy on the phone was very accommodating. We were keen to have some facilities for our 2 children aged 6 and 5. This site suited us fantastically. The playground was situated in the centre of the site with a clear view to it from where we were pitched. Although the playground wasn't hugely equipped it served the purpose well and kept the kids occupied. When they tired of that we could all wander down to the burn running at the back of the site to feed the very friendly ducks. This was quite a treat as was the site of all the bunny rabbits spotted around the campsite. Especially in the middle of the night when the toilet was needed!

Apart from the playpark and burn, the beach is truly spectacular with amazing views across to Jura and beyond. Again safe enough for the kids to collect shells without getting out of sight. Beach fires were permitted and made for a lovely night watching the stars on a beautifully clear night.

Facilities on the site were adequate. The showers costing 1 were spacious and clean, if a little rundown. Your 1 got you a nice long shower though. There are only 2 showers in the ladies shower block so there was sometimes a short wait for them to be available especially if there was a parent with children using them.

Plate washing wasn't great. Not much in the way of hot water and the taps were awkwardly positioned.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay. Beautiful location, peaceful and not too busy. The on-site shop sold milk and bread as well as some other basics. A short drive to Campbeltown for food and also close to ferry service to the islands.

We would highly recommend this site for people camping with children of a similar age group (5 & 6) we would like to think we will be back. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Point Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Point Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Point Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tarbert      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement