Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Henstent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llangynog > Henstent Park > Reviews

Henstent Park
Swn Yr Afon
(near Oswestry)
Powys   (Browse area)
SY10 0EP
Tel: 01691 860479
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25 Touring/seasonal, 10 tents, 2 hard standing
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BenP2018 1 review from this member

 Roy and Caroline were fabulous hosts of their fabulous site. The location was completely beautiful and the weather changes added to the drama and the whole enjoyable experience.

The local walks were great and the pub was close enough to stumble back. Highly recommendable. 

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GailMoo 1 review from this member

 We have been to this campsite numerous times and have a really lovely time every time we visit,

the wardens are super friendly and helpful and always try and ensure we are on our favourite pitch,

it is a beautiful site with beautiful scenery - we love it here -

we bring our 3 dogs and they love it, peaceful, relaxing, facilities very clean and tidy, (RM 29th March - 2nd April) 

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jason68 1 review from this member

 Me and my wife stayed here for a weekend visiting the area. This park is wonderful. Very quiet and peaceful. It is now under new ownership.

We only met the wardens but what a breath of fresh air they were, very helpful and friendly. We visited the 2 pubs in the village, they are great and welcoming and dog friendly.

The park also has a little stream that runs along the back, it's beautiful and also a small camping field. We would highly recommend and visit again.

Well done henstent. 

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikro 30 reviews from this member

 Lovely site great area for walking the Berwyns and within easy reach of Lakes Vyrnwy & Bala. 2 hardstanding areas for motorhomes although ours was only just long enough for our 18 ft Van. The other one is longer. Pitch had its own water supply.

Only criticism was that at 20 per night, having to pay for a shower is excessive 20p seemed to last a minute or two, you had to leave the shower to feed the meter, and there is only one shower available in Ladies and one in gents. Having said that we would go again! 

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevenavril 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 8 days at this site. We haven't enjoyed a holiday as much in ages. The site owners were very helpful and friendly and helped us on and off the pitch. I have never seen a better location two dog friendly pubs within easy walking distance. The toilet block etc was immaculate and kept spotless. The showers cost from 20p but we used 1 to ensure 5 minutes of piping hot water. We cannot wait for our next holiday here. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JADONAMY 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a weeks holiday on this beautifully situated site. Despite the recent wet weather and the ground being somewhat squelchy. (No fault of the owner) it was suggested that we used the hard standing, normally designated for motor homes.

This we did and found that the people passing taking their dogs for a walk either on the dog walk or on their way to the village, always stopped to chat. And we made many friends. Whilst we were there the owner repositioned the gate to the dog walk adjacent to the hard standings to make it more private.

The grounds are very well kept and although the shower facilities are limited they are quite adequate for the size of the Touring Section

The people who own the Static Caravans have their own onboard facilities as do most touring caravans.

We enjoyed our stay, both on site and exploring the surrounding area. 

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandyh 5 reviews from this member

 Can't fault the cleanliness of this site. Mainly occupied by statics and what appeared to be a lot of seasonal caravans.

The site is beautiful with a river running alongside.

We booked to stay two nights but on being shown to the hardstanding decided one would be sufficient.

Unfortunately, the two hardstandings sit directly on the site road and between a gate to the river path, used frequently during the evening by dog walkers, and the other side was the gate to the path that would take you to the local pubs. Hence, it was rather like being in a goldfish bowl. Just no sense of privacy.

I mirror what was said about the costings re shower etc (although we are self sufficient) and you needed to pay to get onto wireless.

We did try to explain our preferences to the owner but he appeared to take our rejection quite personally. He did advise that apart from the weather, it rained constantly, he could have put us on the grass. Which to be fair are better but a little cramped (yes I know that it is the standard measurements!) and advised us that lots of people request the hardstanding. We appreciate that but as they say, horses for courses and this was not our stable! 

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claireabelluk 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned back from this site

Weather was terrible and the site was a complete bog due to all the rain they had over two weeks,

Site was clean and well managed. The shower block however, was a let down. One shower / four toilets. Shower block freezing cold, no heating. On the floor was a skating rink when wet. 20 pence for 3 mins was a bit too expensive and coin box outside of the shower, so make sure you have plenty of coins

Could do with more info on where to visit in the information room, don't think we will return 
Management response: Weʼre sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us - holidaying during the wettest April on record, you did not have the best weather to enjoy our beautiful location.

The facilities we have (4 loos and 1 shower in the ladies (the meter box is inside the cubicle) and 2 loos, 2 urinals and 1 shower in the gents) are more than the amount we need to provide. As you were the only customers using the shower block for much of your stay, weʼre a bit baffled as to why this was an issue for you. Due to the weather, the tiles had to be mopped very regularly. The central heating system is thermostatically controlled. Yes, for many reasons, we do charge for showers.

Many of our returning guests comment on the quality, service and value for money our park offers (we werenʼt voted into Practical Caravansʼ Top 100 parks for no reason!). Staying, as you did, on our over 50ʼs discounted rate (100 for 7 nights for 2 people, tourer, awning and up to 2 dogs) the nightly rate was just 14. 28 - so even with payment for showers, it still represents excellent value for money.

We do keep the tourist information up to date and menus for local pubs and restaurants are also available. The welcome leaflet all our visitors receive on arrival gives details of local shops and services with phone numbers for the doctors surgery, vets etc. We and our wardens are always on hand if there is any other information you need. If there was something of particular interest to you, I do wish you had mentioned it during our chat, so that I could have made some suggestions for you.

We are always looking for ways to make improvements, so thank you for your comments.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevehotshot 5 reviews from this member

 Very nice quiet site with stunning views of the surrounding hills. If you like walking up steep hills for the benefit of the scenery, then this is the place for you.

400yds down the road there are two pubs which both do food, one seems to be used by a younger crowd than the other so that works well. Both are owned by the same people.

The site itself is on different levels and the owner is always working very hard to keep it ship shape. He has firmed up the riverbank which borders the site on one side to prevent flooding in the lower part of site but don't let that worry you, there are plenty of raised pitches to choose from.

This is a lovely spot, but unfortunately the village doesn't offer much else. There is a shop in another nearby village, (Penybontfawr) and you could always drive to Bala, over the mountain, where there are many shops and a co-op supermarket.

That's a lovely drive in itself and Bala Lake is a great spot for water sports etc. Also Lake Vwrnwy is only half hour away, well worth a visit. If you're organised with your shopping then this can be a great little site. Good value for money. 

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarah+Paul 2 reviews from this member

 Good friendly reception, very helpful with placing van on our pitch. The sight was full but not over crowded.

Only 1 shower in each Gents / Ladies block but never had to wait. Only downside was paying for shower. 20 pence for 1 minute of hot water, The gents pay meter is outside of the shower room so make sure you put enough money in before entering.

Lovely views all around the camp sight, Mountains, River, Birds and Animals.

Nice short walk along river to small village with 2 pubs, both welcoming (ran by same owner) drinks and food v. Nice and not to expensive.

A great base for visiting Lake Vyrnwy, Pistyll Rhaeader (waterfall) and a great scenic road to Bala Lake (approx 13 miles).

Overall a brilliant holiday just wish weather was better but what can you expect from Bank Holiday. 

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Henstent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henstent Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Henstent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Llangynog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024