Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henstent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llangynog > Henstent Park > Reviews

Henstent Park
Swn Yr Afon
(near Oswestry)
Llangynog
Powys   (Browse area)
SY10 0EP
Tel: 01691 860479
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25 Touring/seasonal, 10 tents, 2 hard standing
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parsnip 9 reviews from this member

 Only stayed for one night as left it late to book on bank holiday weekend. Very helpful getting us onto the site and advising us where to park, followed by a tour of the amenities, which were spotlessly clean. The owner then spent some time telling us about the walks and how to get to the local pubs.

This site was very peaceful and extremely picturesque. We only had time for a short walk to the pub for tea and then come back before dark and we were off for 11am the next morning.

The shower was 20p per minute and when using the on site dish washing facilities I was pleased to find that the owner provided washing up liquid.

When the owner realised that we did not have a winder and had been borrowing off others on the site (who were very helpful), he let us take one home thathe had spare at the time.

Will definitely be back for a longer stay so that we can go on some of the walks. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkey Trousers 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful weekend at this pretty site, and we found it just as the previous few reviewers described it.

The small tent field is very secluded - you would hardly think you were on a caravan park at all. Well worth the effort of carrying our stuff down (no cars are allowed). We couldn't tear ourselves away to go to the pub on the first night, instead sitting outside looking at the mountains and watching the lambs gambolling away in the next field (with a few beers, natch). No such problems the following day after a long hike over to Pistyll Rhaeadr (a stunning waterfall in the next valley), and we found both pubs to be friendly with some good real ales on. A note of caution though- the food portions in the New Inn are not for the faint-hearted!

We were also impressed by Dean and Melanie's commitment to the wildlife around the site - Dean builds up the sides of the small river every winter to help the otters and kingfishers which inhabit it. They are both into recycling as well, which ticked boxes with us.

I would strongly recommend this site if you want some tranquillity in a pretty location. 


Reviewer: Malcwebster 1 review from this member

 June 2005
Having just spent the weekend at Henstent, and thoroughly enjoyed it, I thought it right to add to the comments already made.
The site is in a very pretty location and very peaceful. A short walk takes you to the small village and its two pubs, handily placed accross the road from each other.

The site itself is immaculate in every way and is a credit to the owners, Dean and his wife. We were helped to pitch the van on arrival and given a quick tour of the facilities. Dean does keep an eye on the site and regularly checks for any problems that might occur. Its rather comforting.

The tenting area is quite small and hence only small tents can be accommodated. Its surrounded by trees and is right next to the river, very pretty.

I can highly recommend Henstent if you're looking for peace, scenery, clean toilets and like a few pints. 


Reviewer: Doggy12311 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Fantastic quiet, peaceful site, very friendly, great location in middle of mountain range, lovely riverside walk, nice warm showers 20p, toilets spotless.

5 mins walk to two pubs in village either scenic along river or along road to avoid stiles.

Dean and Melanie always about to answer any questions, very helpful.
Already booked to go again in August. Dale, Lou and D.J. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deemac 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a camping trip at Henstent and enjoyed it very much. The field or 'dell' where the tents are piched is very picturesque with a small river about 25ft in front of the tent (otters, kingfishers etc. Can be spotted here).

The site which is largely made up of statics is in a lovely spot and is peaceful, clean and well maintained. The shower block (one shower) looks a bit tired but is spotless and 20p per shower.

Short walk to Llangynog village where there are 2 pubs (the best IMO being the Tanat Valley Inn). There is also a breathtaking drive from this village over to Bala (13 miles) through the hills.

All in all - beautiful place (the Henstent website photos don't do it justice!) - would definitely go back again. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: LilMoMarmite 6 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Great little site. The tent "dell" is on the banks of the river, and is fairly small. You can't get your car to the pitch though, and have to park up, and cart everything down a few steps to your pitch. Didn't bother us as we travel fairly light, but if you want to sleep by your car maybe an issue.

Had a fantastic warm welcome, and a comprehensive tour round the site. You'll need some coins for the showers and hot water, but the loos are spotless and there's proper towels and soap. There's also a small games room, with a library and some games for if it's wet (along with 2 pubs within a few minutes walk)

Unfortunately we had to cut our visit short, but will definitely be returning in the not too distant future. 


Reviewer: Twistedpair374 4 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just returned from a cracking bank holiday weekend. On arrival received a warm friendly welcome, shown to our pitch and helped with the levelling up, required small chock which was quickly supplied. Site was spotless, toilets, washing facilities etc. There was no shop on site or in the local village but milk was available from the information room (in the fridge) honesty box for payment. Ground was a little heavy in places, but then we did have the mother of all thunderstorms. Excellent views of the Berwyn mtgs. This was our first visit, it will not be our last. If you enjoy peace and quiet, freindly hosts, a couple of bevvies in the local village pub and a damn good walk, then this is the place for you. 


Reviewer: Joannefalkland 4 reviews from this member

 April 2005
The wonderful reviews of this site helped with our decision of where to stay for the weekend. Rang to book a pitch and explained we had a family tent no problem says the very pleasant lady on the phone, which turned out to be Melanie the lady who with her husband own and run the site. Turned up Friday evening only to be informed by Melanie's husband that his wife shouldn't have accepted the booking as he doesn't like large tents as he cant get as many on! So first impressions made us feel very unwelcome. When I say large tent we have a 3-bedded dome tent that sleeps a max of 6.

The site itself is set in glorious countryside. The area where the tents are is very close to the river; Melanie did warn us of this on booking if we had really small children. You cannot take your vehicle down to the tent area and have to carry all your equipment down some very slippery (when wet) steps. Which is a real inconvenience.

The toilet block is spotless, however there is only 1 shower, 20p for 5 mins, so at busy times expect a wait, same for ladies and gents. There is 1 sink for dishwashing, 10p for 3 mins of really hot water, so again expect a wait at busy times. Washer and drier but only available Mon - Fri!!

Beautifully set, clean and well maintained site, spoilt only by the male owners attitude towards campers. He makes morning and evening rounds which, I suppose some, may class as friendly, we however found it irritating. 


Reviewer: tafski91 3 reviews from this member

 28th - 31st May
Totally enjoyed our weekend here. We had left it a bit late booking over bank holiday so didn't manage to get electric hook-up.

We felt as if we were in a postcard, it's an absolute dream of a view. Quiet site, toilets nice and clean 20p shower. There's a little book room with a small fridge and freezer for your convienience. If your looking for exciting evenings forget it, you have to make your own entertainment which we love anyway. There are privately owned statics there who's residents are the friendliest Ive met yet. They all had a smile and a nice word to say.

Two pubs in village can be reached by a lovely riverside walk where you will have to climb over a few stiles. No problem at all but remember the same stiles on the way home could seem like towers depending on alcohol consumed! We had a lovely meal and managed to get back ok!

The owners Dean and Melanie are very nice and are very keen on helping you in any way they can. Ive told Melanie that I shall bring a bottle of wine into toilets next time as she always seems to be in there! (hence the cleanliness).

It's a quiet and peaceful site and everyone there seemed to want the same thing as us, peace and quiet! We are going back in August as this site was exactly what we look for. Dogs welcome with their own waterside walk. Fishermen welcome, they have rights along the bank. Dont know how good the fishing is and am certainly not telling my husband. (He's probably already sussed it)!

Lake Vwrny is not far away and we hired bikes there and cycled around it very easily in 2 hours with a stop for lunch. The kids 5 and 7 really enjoyed it. My lungs and legs were fine but the old derrier is a bit sore!

Llangollen canal near and we took a steam train from there which was nice. You have Chester Zoo close, Shrewsbury, Offa's Dyke. It really is beautiful countryside. We are trying to book a days canoeing for our trip in August, shall let you all know about that one in next report!

Instead of giving stars I am going to start celebrity rating. This is a Judy Dench sort of site or even better Tom and Barbara from the Good Life! ( Hope someone gets what I'm trying to say ) 


Reviewer: Stella 1 review from this member

 Since 1988
Well what can I say. This is the site that we have our static caravan based at. We have been going there for about 16 years now, and I never tire of it!

However...we just got our tent so that we can get a change of scene now and then.

The site is set in the Tanat Valley just across the border between England and Wales. It's 13 miles form Bala, and about 7 miles from Lake Vrynwy. The beautiful waterfall of Llanrhaeadr is only a short drive away. You can walk to it over the hills if you want!

The site itself is small, but often there are touring vans there. All have electric points. There is a space for a few small tents down by the river.

The toilets and showers are always spotless. There is a laundry with all the usual appliances, and a book room.

A short walk away, are 2 village pubs that serve food. I particularly like the Tanat Valley Inn.

If you want beautiful views and walks, plus lots of peace and quiet..you should give it a go! 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Henstent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henstent Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Henstent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llangynog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement