Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henstent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llangynog > Henstent Park > Reviews

Henstent Park
Swn Yr Afon
(near Oswestry)
Llangynog
Powys   (Browse area)
SY10 0EP
Tel: 01691 860479
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25 Touring/seasonal, 10 tents, 2 hard standing
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sauzie123 7 reviews from this member

 A mixed weekend weather-wise but Henstent is a real find for tents as you get your own very peaceful camping field. The surroundings are glorious, and there's a great variety of walks from the easy 4 mile round-trip along lanes to the tiny church at Pennant Melangell, to the considerably more strenuous 7 miler up over the hills to Pistyll Rhaeder (spelling?!). A wet day took us on a drive around Lake Vyrnwy, absolutely beautiful. The pubs in Llangynog are nothing special, the Tanat Inn being the more atmospheric of the two. We ate there and it was fine, good value. Both pubs had one or two real ales.

The only drawback is the price - £8 per person per night is quite steep, although the facilities are good and spotless. Bit tight charging for hot water.And you have to pay £5 to stay later than 11am, we were packing up and the owner appeared at 11.01, no doubt checking that we were leaving on time!

All in all, the scenery and seclusion mean we will definitely consider a return trip, hopefully in better weather. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: StanAndRon 5 reviews from this member

 Visited for just one night our first outing of the year. The proximity of the pub was what prompted the booking.

The site is spotless and clean, including toilets and shower (1only)washing, laundry and hair dryer all available at extra cost. This site mainly consists of static caravans however don't let that put you off.

The location is stunning and again another river site. The are lots of beautiful walks in the area and the village is only 5 mins walks and has pubs and shops.

If you have a tent this site is a must as you can camp in a secluded river bank location, no dogs or cars allowed and its gated from the rest of the camp I reckon it would only take about 5 tents max! Beautiful

They also have 2 hardstanding pitches that are always busy in the winter so booking is needed. These were booked however the manager did find us a dryish spot if not in a odd position, but hey it was Feb a week after massive floods elsewhere in Wales. So we were happy. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Honeymonster 2 reviews from this member

 This site is very peaceful, tidy and clean. The location was perfect, set in between mountains and next to a small river. Free fishing available, great walks and location near some really spectacular landscape.

The facilities were clean although there was only one shower but I never had to queue. The showers were on a meter, and the time seemed to go fast so advise you have long hair make sure you have more than one pound available, or you could end up quite soapy.

We were in tourer and the field is on a slant so you may need quite a bit of wood to prop up your van, be careful driving on the field if it has rained, if you have a motor mover on your van it is a lot easier.

We had a very good weekend, would go again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 39 reviews from this member

 My husband and I, together with my parents with their van just got back from a fabulous weekend at Henstent.

The site is in a lovely location, surround by magnificent hills/mountains in the valley. Very quiet despite being near the road. Access is actually OK.

The site is predominately statics (only 25 - 30) with just a small, but lovely area for tourers. Next to a stream with lots of lovely walks, including a 6-7 mins walk to the village with two great pubs!

Toilet block is good and a good information room.

Would definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Waynebev 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend at Henstent Park.

Great site, lovely scenery, owner was a bit annoying with his rules & regulations but I guess this makes it 'Peaceful' for everyone.

Spotless loo's, wash area, showers etc. Just wish that we could wash up without putting 20p in every 5 mins!

We didn't try the local pubs as we had a BBQ on both nights

This site is good for couples/adults, can highly recommend it  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairebrookes1980 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend (1-3rd Aug) finishing a camping tour of wales, and was looking forward to staying here in this peaceful site, next to the river (hoping to spot kingfishers, otters or even the odd red kite if I was lucky).

We pitched up and had a lovely view of a kingfisher darting past down the river. The facilities basic and limited (only 1 shower and 2 ladies loos) but clean. The shower was £1 for 5 min water, utility room 20p's for hot water, tumble dryer, hair dryer etc. Also a free fridge and freezer for campers use too.

Lovely public footpath walk along the river to the 2 pubs in the village (both owned by the same people!). Yummy filling food and friendly chat from the locals too. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollyjean 16 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the bank holiday weekend with our nephew. It is a lovely peaceful site and ideal for a quiet relaxing break. The area for tents is small and quite lovely.

There is only room for about 8 small tents which are separate from the caravans which adds to the appeal of the site. The tent area runs alongside a small river and this attracts plenty of wildlife.
You can also walk for about 5-10 minutes along the river to reach the small village and 2 local pubs. The pubs are both good and sell reasonably priced food, there is a small playground for children but be aware there is no shop in the village and so stock up before you go.

The owners of the site are friendly and helpful. The site is maintained in pristine condition, well manicured in the caravan area. The toilets are very clean, a previous review has mentioned there is only one shower, yes there is but I never found this to be a problem and never had to wait. There is a laundry and small games room where books can be borrowed from quite a range of books. There is also a small number of games.

Overall I found this to be a good site for camping. The only negative was that you couldn't park your car by the tent, this is not a problem if you are fit and mobile but could be if you are not so fit or mobile. We were however allowed to back the car to the gate to load it up, serves us right for having a heavy polycotton tent!

Would be more than happy to recommend this site to anyone but would suggest you book in advance as it only accomodates a small number of tents. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BevB 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for our very first camping trip (2 adults & kids aged 8 & 11). We know the area well having stayed in a caravan in the next village for many years. We found the site to be very well presented and exceptionally clean. The toilet block has several loos and a fair sized shower (takes 20p & £1 coins, costs about 60p if you are washing your hair). There is also a well equipped laundry room with a dishwashing sink, washer, dryer, spin dryer, iron and hairdryer. All are operated with 20p coins (inc. Hot water for dishes).

There's a small 'games' room which has a fridge and freezer for tent users and info about the area. The facilities were useful as there's no electric hook-up for tents. The site owner (Dean) was very helpful showing us around the facilities. There was soap and a (clean) towel in the loos and washing-up liquid and a pan scrubber in the laundry room which was a nice touch.

The tent area is right by the river (take care with young children - ours loved it and the tumble dryer was very handy!) and is nice & secluded. However, you can't park your car next to your tent so you need to carry your gear down a couple of steps.

The site is fairly quiet - you need to keep the noise down after 10pm but ideal for a relaxing break. There's no playground on site but there's one in the village down the road. Also, footballs aren't allowed but Dean gave our kids a foam football to play with which was better as it tended to sink in the river rather than float off!
There are 2 pubs in the village which is about 10 mins walk away. We've eaten in the New Inn several times but not tried the Tanat. There are lots of walks in the surrounding area and Lake Vyrnwy and Lake Bala are a short drive away for watersports and outdoor activities. All in all had a great time - just need to persuade friends to buy tents & come with us next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaynkate7769 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the August bank holiday. We stayed in a caravan belonging to my husband's family, they have a seasonal pitch here.
Henstent Park is a very peaceful site and is away from it all. Mel and Dean, the owners, were always working hard to keep the park looking spotless. There is a small field for tents, most of which looked to be 2 man. There are static caravans on one side of the park and seasonal pitches on the other and in the middle is an area for touring caravans or motorhomes.

For females there are 4 toilets and 1 shower for which you pay 20p for 1 minute. These were spotlessly clean at all times even though the park was busy. I never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a shower. There is a laundry room including a sink for washing dishes and a book room. 

There are lovely walks nearby. There are 2 pubs 5 minutes walk away. Enjoyed watching the Buzzards overhead. The site seems to be dog friendly. There is a lovely atmosphere on the park and all the people we spoke to were very friendly. If your looking for peace and quiet on a spotless site,in a stunning area, this could be for you. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DogsandCo 18 reviews from this member

 Most of the earlier reviews of this site are written by tent campers who, as they say, have their own little area by the river to pitch up in.  For the benefit of touring caravanners or motorhomers I think it's worth noting that space for tourers is very limited.   The riverside pitches all seemed to be occupied by seasonal caravans leaving a rather small area of grass (no hardstandings and no marked pitches) for any tourers who turn up.  Fair enough as this area isn't exactly a tourist hotspot and the income from the statics and seasonals are no doubt what keeps the site going.    

A very quiet valley and it's good to get away from road noise for once but we found walking on the footpaths round here is pretty difficult if you have a dog or are less than agile - lots of tricky stiles to negotiate. 

Lake Vrynwy makes a good day out for walking and cycling but I wouldn't fancy trying to get there in a large motorhome. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Henstent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henstent Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Henstent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llangynog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement