Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ruthern Valley Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Ruthern Valley Holidays
Ruthernbridge
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 5LU
Tel: 01208 831395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26 pitch 4 wigwams 3 pods
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thems 4 reviews from this member

The first of two stays in 2011, good location although some narrow lanes. Lovely quiet rural location about 10 mins from the A30.

Good site for kids, our 3 year old loved it and exploring their nature trail. There is also a play area and pigs and chickens to look at.

Nice and very helpful owners with a shop, clean facilities.

Good drainage - it chucked it down the first night, we had to repair the tent, although the ground was well drained with no water logging or muddy patches around our pitch.

Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cyclekitty 13 reviews from this member

We cycled through here on our way from Lands End to Bristol. The site is beautiful! It's surrounded by woodland and beautiful wild flowers and there's lots of birds. There is a big focus on nature at the campsite.

It's quite good for couples and families. The showers were really hot and high pressure. The other facilities good.

The little shop was great, really well stocked with some great local produce. Owners were really friendly, welcoming and helpful.

It's not very far from the Camel Trail cycling track which is fantastic. Would definitely recommend staying here for a lovely relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: BradfordBantam 1 review from this member

Just come back from a week at this very well kept site. Its not a massive, sprawling site as the site map may indicate, it's quite compact (but not overbaringly so).

As you drive up the main road through the site, you pass the shop and kids park either side of you. Following the road up, you are faced with the wooden lodges running across the top and then to the right, a large open camping field. When we were there, the field was populated with around 20 tents of various sizes, from the small to the very large!

Coming to a fork in the road at the shower block, you can head straight forward to the wooden wigwams and the few caravans - both well hidden in the woods. Taking the road in front of the amenities block took you past individual camping spots, and down to the camping pods, which is what we stayed in.

For those that don't know, a camping pod is a wooden 'hut', about 8 ft square internally - just big enough for 3 air beds and our suitcase! In front of the pod is a nice decking area, we laid out the kitchen area there. Surrounding the pod was plenty of grass to sit or play on.

Whilst the weather wasn't overly kind to us (nothing the owners could do about that!) what sun we did have was somewhat obscured by the large trees that surrounded our area. Out on the camping field though, sun (when it did shine) shone across the pitches.

The site owners kept the park clean and made sure that campers kept the noise to a minimum after dark

There are two washing up sinks, a big sink for rinsing clothes and two washers and dryers. The gents loo has two toilets and two sinks and I never really had to queue to use these facilities - not sure about the female loos.

There are two unisex single showers and a single female shower, all quite small. Again, as a family, we didn't need to queue for long to use these but the draining was very poor, and not being very large, you were always standing in cold, water when stepping in/out the shower. The introduction of a mop and bucket (as I've seen on other sites) would be a big help!

Apart from the above issue, the site is very well kept, well run and one I could recommend. It took about 1/2 hour to reach the West coast (Newquay) or the South (Looe) and is close to lots of other attractions.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandi22 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic week in August staying at Ruthern Valley in our tent. The site itself is beautifully kept and in keeping with its natural environment & encouraging the wildlife which on many campsites these days you don't get.
Our two small children loved the play area and the nature path running behind the camp site, as well as helping Andrew feed the chickens & pigs. Even though the campsite was full during our stay it still felt very quite and peaceful.

Andrew and Nicky couldn't be more helpful suggesting best beaches, best times to visit places, tides times and weather reports. There is a small shop selling the essentials and more.

The site is located centrally therefore making it very easy to reach each coast line by a short car drive. Also in easy driving distance are Tintagle Castle and the Eden project.

We will definitely be returning the Ruthern Valley next year and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to friends.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vinkaz 3 reviews from this member

This site is set in a lovely location and looks pretty even when its raining. Its surrounded by mature trees and a small stream which runs through the woods.

It is quite a small site with not a lot of recreational space, but it does have a nice woodland walk and a small play area which is OK if it doesn't rain as it then turns very muddy.

Pitches on the main field are of a reasonable size but some are quite sloping. The top of the field drains well, the lower end can get a bit soft under foot.

We were glad we weren't camping in the woods as it seemed very boggy at times, though to be fair we did have some heavy rain.

The toilet block could certainly do with some work as it is nowhere near big enough when the site is full and is beginning too look very tired. There are two sinks in the WC,s but they are very small and jammed right next to each other in the corner which is not really enough room for two adults. Each WC also contains two toilets but these are also jammed next to each other and to use one of them you have to squeeze by the person standing at the sink. The shower cubicals are cramped with only an external door so there's hardly any room to get undressed so keeping you clothes clean wasn't easy.

One rule which they failed to mention on their web site, or in there brochure is no driving on the main field at all (not even to unload), so you have to carry everything to and from your car.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and Helen 1 review from this member

This camp site ticked all the boxes for us. Small friendly and very quiet. The owners Nicola and Andrew were very welcoming and helpful. The shop on the site was stocked with all the essentials and some luxuries.Local curries, local meat and fresh eggs from their own chickens. The prices were really reasonable and we did most of our shopping there, indeed you could easily exist by just using the shop. The showers were excellent with plenty of hot water and were always very clean. The site prides itself in being environmentally friendly and recycling is encouraged, this was no problem. On the site cars were parked away from the pitches which was refreshing to see. Even when the site was busy it was quiet and peaceful helped by the fact that a really excellent children's play area is sited away from the pitches. The location of the site almost exactly between both coastlines makes it easy to visit numerous attractions. As a final comment we would have no hesitation in returning to this site and would happily recommend it to our friends.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rebelpants 2 reviews from this member

This is such a lovely campsite, very clean facilities and I'd say the pitches are a good size. There are no marked boundaries, pitches are only numbered, which is great as I hate it too regimented. We were there on the late May bank hol and it did get very busy at one point but I can't remember having to queue for toilets or showers, or having a problem with hot water. The showers were free at the point or our visit which is a big bonus. The tent area is separate from the caravan/statics area which is good as you don't feel too crowded wherever you are. The pods area was just behind our pitch so we had a peep but I must say it's well hidden behind the trees so the pods are very private.

The only grudge I have is that the site is too well kept to my liking - they mow the grass for example which IMO is unnecessary as it's not too long or thick anyway and leaving it to grow would encourage wildlife, but that's my take on it.

Can't quite comment on child-friendliness as I was pregnant with our first child when we were there but there were lots of people with kids and they were all having fun so far as I can judge.

One word of warning, the site is off a narrow shady country lane in what looks like the thick of woods and the entrance is very easy to miss (we had to be careful not to drive past every single time). Also, the sat nav loses signal a lot so do get a road map.

The granary restaurant in Wadebridge is an absolute must! http://www.Thegranarywadebridge.Co.Uk/6.Html I think it's the bestest restaurant my husband and I have ever been to. It's in Molesworth street just past Barclays bank. It's run by a lad called John and he has to be the friendliest, most passionate chef in the whole of Cornwall if not the world. We only ordered one starter to share (didn't want to end up waddling like Christmas ducks) and John made us a double portion (must have noticed my baby bump, bless him). He cooks the freshest nicest food ever (and I can cook myself and I'm very picky, too), and his staff are all very friendly as well.

Kynance Cove is very beautiful and there's an easy coastal walk between the Cove and the Lizard village, I think it's about 2 miles long and the views are stunning. We also met a few surfers on the way so apparently Kynance Cove is a great (and lesser known?) place for surfing.

St Ives is very nice, I'd say what you call a typical fishing village turned tourist attraction. I'd avoid Newquay as the plague tho, it's the bars, fair and loud music late at night type of place.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1stdefence 1 review from this member

Fantastic place to camp I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Owners friendly with a well stocked shop. Pitches were a good size and the wildlife was amazing.
Camel trail very close so we cycled to Wadebridge and then we cycled towards bodmin visited the Camel Valley vineyard which make the best wine ever! It's about a mile towards Bodmin after you join the camel trail. We had a bottle of wine at the vineyard on the balcony with fantastic views of the vines. Cant wait to go back to this camp site

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LouiseRowe 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an idyllic weeekend at Ruthern Valley.

The campsite is beautifully set out so that despite being full while we were there did not feel crowded.

Excellent paths through the small wooded areas for the children to explore on the way to the playground (with something for all age groups)

The owners friendly and helpful at all times and have a well stocked shop with freezer for ice packs.

The camel trail was easily accessible from the site - although it would be quite easy not to leave the site it was so lovely.

Will certainly be going back as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: She743 9 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site and upon arrival were made to feel really welcome.

The site is in a very very quiet valley, with only the noise of wildlife to be heard. Site is well laid out, eco-friendly and our pitch had a lush grass carpet beneath it.

There are 3 showers, one male, one female and one mixed. They were always clean and it was a nice touch that they used solar power.

Shop is well-stocked with the basics and was very reasonably priced. Being quite a distance to the nearest village, it made a nice change not to be ripped off by the on-site shop.

They have 3 camping pods on site, which although we didn't stay in, appeared to be quite cosy and a nice alternative to a tent/caravan. We would be very tempted to stay in one when we return.

There is no village within walking distance, which some people might not like but to us it was a positive thing as it made the site so peaceful and at one with nature.

We will definitely go back, just hope the weather's a bit nicer!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019