Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ruthern Valley Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Ruthern Valley Holidays
Ruthernbridge
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 5LU
Tel: 01208 831395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26 pitch 4 wigwams 3 pods
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 31 to 38                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Ginger 2 reviews from this member

April 2004
This was perhaps the prettiest & most perfect of campsites. 4 of us stayed over Easter with 2 tents. It cost in total about 35 for 3 nights for all of us - brilliant.
It is located near Bodmin and therefore a perfect distance from most attractions, like Eden & Tintagel.
The facilities were immaculate, the location perfect and the owners couldn't have been nicer. They advised us on places to visit & where to eat locally.
Their aim to keep it free from too many caravans is admirable. It keeps the "natural" feel to camping, with lots of peace & quiet. Don't all start going there though, I want to keep it a little haven of peace & undiscovered beauty!

Reviewer: suziarcher 2 reviews from this member

April 2004
This is indeed a quiet, pretty site and has plenty of wildlife to watch. There aren't any pubs within walking distance (closet are about 10mins drive) so it's best to be prepared.
The showers/loos are very clean and bright (fab shower, hot, plenty of places to put your stuff, shower curtain so you keep the rest of your stuff dry etc) - although I would imagine if the site is full they are a bit limited. Best spot is the little woodland area off the main field. Pitches are an OK size, but pitch 16 would be too small for anything other than a 2 man tent. The shop is well stocked and you can order your Sunday morning papers.
The owners are friendly and very helpful. Had a great time, would go again.

Reviewer: deb 110 reviews from this member

August 2003
We really enjoyed our stay here. We went in our motorhome and we were pitched in our own private bay almost. The pitch was quite dark with overhanging trees but that was ok for us - you could definitely hear animals in the wood and the owls hooting at night. The tents are edged around the field which is nice as it provides plenty of space to play.

There is only one shower each for ladies and gents but they are really good as they have a proper shower tray and plenty of room, shelves and hooks etc - worth the wait.

The play area is lovely reached by a couple of bridges. This site was reasonable - 15 a night which is cheap for Cornwall and it had some of the cleanest facilities we came across during our tour of the County. The washing machine was the cheapest out of all those I tried! That sounds like all I did was wash but you know what I mean! The kids were allowed to ride their bikes anywhere and you didn't have to leave until 12pm which is a positive bonus!

Deb

Reviewer: sue 9 reviews from this member

August 2003
A small and friendly campsite in very beautiful surroundings (we could hear the owls hooting at night)

We were allocated a bit of an overgrown corner of the field for our tent, which was overhung by trees making it quite dark, and the grass was a bit too long. The children's play area was great fun for our two girls.

There is room for improvement with the toilets and showers. There was often a queue in the morning as only one shower for ladies and one for gents, and two toilets each, which really was not enough.

The Camel Trail is great for all the family and is worth driving to Bodmin with the bikes on the car. The Bodmin to Wadebidge section is beautiful.

Reviewer: Sarah 2 reviews from this member

August 2003
What a lovely campsite, small, quiet and extremely pretty. The owners were very welcoming. We saw a squirrel, an owl and grasshoppers loved our tent! The only downfall was the traffic on the M5 trying to get down there, grrrrr!

Reviewer: Adie 2 reviews from this member

July 2003
Very pretty campsite. Owners freindly and helpfull. We'll certainly go again. And who knows -- we may be blessed once again with about two inches of rain in 48 hours. Who do I complain to about the weather?

Reviewer: D. Veness

July 2003
A small quiet friendly site, tucked away in a deep valley on the edge of Bodmin moor. Access might be difficult if you have an extra long van or camper. Most pitches are gently sloping and there are some under trees. There are also about 10 chalets for rent. Only 1 male & 1 female shower, and 2 washbasins each, but given the size of this site that's probably a similar ratio to most other sites. The showers particularly are very good. All hot water is included in your price, and there are washing up & laundry facilities under cover. The reception/shop seems well stocked, with even chilled beer & wine available! The owners are friendly & helpful. If you crave peace & quiet in a woodland setting then this site comes highly recommended.

Reviewer: Sue Teakle

September 2002
We have been visiting this site for the last thirteen years and hopefully will be going again this year. The site is beautiful, ideal for young families and couples, it`s quiet, peaceful, and there are squirrels! A lovely place to stay!!!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 38     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019