Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ruthern Valley Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Ruthern Valley Holidays Reviews

Ruthern Valley Holidays
Ruthernbridge
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 5LU
Tel: 01208 831395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26 pitch 4 wigwams 3 pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Evarec 1 review from this member

 We have really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite. A lovely campsite on a beautiful location.

Our daughter said: "I wanna stay on this campsite forever". 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sl2-watts 7 reviews from this member

 We have had a wonderful short break here staying in a Wigwam! This is one of the best sites I have stayed on and I take about 5 trips every year. We had booked a basic pod (we camp in our tent in the summer) but the owner offered us an upgrade at a very reasonable price indeed. The site is beautiful, thoughtfully laid out, well tended, exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. A very quiet and peaceful site, highly recommended for any like minded campers. There's a great play area for children and a small football pitch. Chickens you can feed (the shop sells food 50p). There is a small stream for paddling in, communal fire pit area, and small wooded walks. It is clear to see why the site has won so many David Bellamy awards. Excellent place for star gazing with no light pollution - so ensure you bring a torch! Andrew the owner was very friendly and welcoming, he clearly works hard keeping everything up together. There are lots of facilities we didn't make use of such as cycle hire and laundry. The on site shop was open mornings and afternoons and sold a variety of food stuff and camping things. The wigwams and megapods all had their own picnic tables - very handy. It was bliss being able to enjoy a peaceful breakfast and a pot of tea with only the sounds of birds and the occasional sheep! Oh and great free WiFi that my daughter discovered! My two children age 14 and 11 thoroughly enjoyed it. We were only here for 4 nights - shame it wasn't a week. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wirral Camper 3 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a fantastic site. Turned up without booking, was made to feel very welcome. Lovely pitches for camping, so opted for a nice space between the oak trees. Had a couple of cold beers from the camp shop and just enjoyed the quiet and wildlife. Fantastic facilities with clean toilets and showers. Really nice break. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Slinkymn 12 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we've stayed at Ruthern, albeit 12 years between visits! It is exactly as I remembered, the owners are very friendly and helpful, offering me hookup extension cable etc.

We had a gravel pitch with hookup and it was very spacious and quite level. The site is clean and well kept. Facilities are basic but, again, clean and well kept. There was no hot water for washing on one morning, but I'm sure this was just one of those things!

With the Camel trail just down the road, it is a perfect location for cycling, and there are some good pubs nearby. Borough arms is a 30 minute cycle ride (a bit pricey but nice beer garden!)

Would recommend for a short stay and will definitely be visiting again

Many thanks Ruthern 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site with brilliant access to the Camel Trail. We had a very peaceful stay with only the Owls hooting to lull us off to sleep ! Very good washing up/laundry facilities but I wonder if the toilet/shower block would cope at busy times. Owners were very friendly and shop had surprisingly good stock. All in all an A1 site. Thank you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Niall75 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed first weekend of Sept after peak season had just finished. Beautiful weather. Its actually a lovely small site - its website makes it look a lot bigger. Very friendly welcome on arrival - well stocked shop at reception. Really enjoyed staying in the woods, pitches are largely separated and numbered and shaded by trees. You go to sleep listening to owls hooting overhead. The highlight for us was being able to cycle from the site (10 minutes) to the Camel Trail into Padstow. We also went the other way to Bodmin and stopped off at the Borough Arms. Only negatives are that the toilet and shower block is small and a bit basic (only 2 toilets and sinks in each) and because the pitches are allocated, by the end of the season the grass was bare and the ground very hard. In summary this site provided a good 'get away from it all' experience. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MTBFiend 2 reviews from this member

 We had a pod for just the one night, and we wished we had booked more!

The site is lovely, well tended, very green, lots of mature trees and plants.

Our pod was on its own with loads of space around it, set on the edge of a wooded area, we were not overlooked at all, and plenty of room for the car.

The pod was as expected, just carpeted and with one light, but that was great, no tent to put up !

The shop was small but very well stocked, everyone was welcoming. With some fantastic sausages and bacon, fresh baked baguettes were available in the mornings. Outside the shop is a large fun notice board detailing local events and any special evening the local pubs are putting on, we drove about 10 mins away to find a pub.

The toilets and showers were spotless all the time, with plenty of hot water, and space to put your things, the newer showers had chair, basins and a big mirror in, never had to wait to use either.

The washing up area was light and clean, washing machines available and plugs to charge mobiles etc

We were very sad to leave after one night and wished we had not split our trip amongst other sites. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chipps 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely week in Ruthern Valley.

The site is beautifully laid out, well-planted, and has a lovely woodland with a small stream that all the children had hours of fun in building dams and having adventures. Remember wellies and lots of spare clothes! We felt completely happy letting our children have freedom to take off and play as the site is quite small and felt very safe.

The facilities were good - very clean and we didn't have to wait to use them, though we were there early in the season and so the site was not full.

The owners and their children were all very friendly, polite and helpful. The shop was well-stocked and had local produce.

It is worth taking bikes as its only about a 10-minute cycle ride to get onto the Camel Trail which is great with the children.

We are probably quite fussy customers. In our 7 years of camping/caravanning as a family we have never found a site that we would return to, but we would definitely return to this one. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thems 4 reviews from this member

 Second stay this year, great location, 10 mins from the A30. We enjoyed our previous visit that we came back in order to do some of the attractions that we missed last time.

Good clean facilities and very helpful owners. Good well drained pitch, although forgot to mentioned in previous review that we ruined quite a lot of the standard thin metal tent pegs, although the thicker metal sharp pointed pegs went in a treat.

Would definitely stay again and recommend a gem of a site which even kept our 3 year old amused. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bubbala 1 review from this member

 A hidden gem of a site. The owners are very warm and welcoming as soon as we arrived. The shop is small but has everything that you have forgotten to bring. Do try their local meat as the sausages were amazing! Our pitch was lovely as we were a group of two tents and could easily pitch our tents with our gazebo in between. The facilities are basic but very clean. I think that there have been additional showers since some of the comments made below and the only queue was for the newer, more attractive showers. Reasonable washing machine/tumble and two sinks for washing up. A nice friendly, intimate site that is central for some great attractions.

We'll all go back! 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ruthern Valley Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ruthern Valley Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ruthern Valley Holidays dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2567 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement