Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ruthern Valley Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Ruthern Valley Holidays Reviews

Ruthern Valley Holidays
Ruthernbridge
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 5LU
Tel: 01208 831395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26 pitch 4 wigwams 3 pods
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dezzy0_1 1 review from this member

Small peaceful site, good play area although the football pitch became a mudbath during our stay due to the (almost) continual rain. Occaisional queues for showers, toilets and basins but never too much of a problem. We were a bit disappointed that the pitches were fairly close together but noise from other campers wasn't an issue. Onsite shop fairly well stocked, 5 min drive to Spar, or 15ish min to supermarket. We were glad to be able to recycle and didn't find the instructions excessive unlike a previous reviewer. Owners friendly and overall we liked the site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

Lovely location in a beautiful valley near Bodmin. The site is in a wood, and the access road meanders through it with pitches in small grassy clearings. The clean and well-maintained toilet block is small and rather temporary feeling but nevertheless full of character and even quite pretty!
Some time needs to be set aside to read all the instructions pinned up around the toilet block, and the lists of recycling dos and don'ts made my head spin a bit. We arrived on one of the few sunny days of our holiday and were very disappointed to find that the tent site is almost completely shaded and therefore cool and a bit dank, attracting midges and mozzies.
The longed-for sun set without us being able to enjoy it. Head for this site if there is an unbearably scorching heatwave. The holiday chalets / cabins nearer the entrance are in the sun and we felt very jealous of their residents sunbathing on their verandahs.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Apilking 5 reviews from this member

Just beautiful, it poured down all weekend but the site is just a dream place for relaxation. The toilet block was always clean and the site owners are friendly. If you like wild life this is the place for you, cheeeky robins get in to the tent looking for crumbs, squirrels don't even care when you walk within 3 or 4 feet of them. We had a great time despite the rain and we will be going back.

Lovely and quiet, kids playground is well equipped and away from the tents, nice woodland walks, tent sites are nicely mowed.

Telly signal not much use (happily).

No entertainment (club house) again happily.

Nice little shop well stocked with the basics.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jenfilein 1 review from this member

Having just returned to camping we found our ideal site first time. This was our 2nd visit this year. We like the informality and that it is a small site. No regimental rows. We love the surrounding woodlands and wildlife and took our own bird feeder

The toilet/shower block is kept very clean. Admittedly this usually down to fellow campers but the owners Andrew and Nicola are very quick to respond if there is a problem. They are still waiting for planning permission for a larger facilities block but it is a conservation area.

There is no entertainment in the immediate vicinity or on site (excellent). The Camel Trail is close by and Bodmin is very central for all of Cornwall. If you want on site entertainment, pubs, bingo etc then it is not for you.

Some of the tent pitches are in woodland glades which can be a bit damp but this is back to nature camping. There are always the lodges, bungalows and static caravans if you want a bit more luxury.

We will be back again in October for a long weekend. Might have one of the lodges this time.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cram 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, if you are looking for peace & quiet this is it. The robins are still cheeky & joined us for breakfast every day. I really felt at peace here, the only sound to be heard on an evening was a stream about 100 yards away. My 8 year old loved the play area, which is a discreet distance from the camping field.
The site is immaculate the owners Andrew & Nicola both very friendly & helpful. The shop sells the essentials including to my surprise a air bed pump when mine gave out.
Yes there are just 2 showers but hey if that's the only compromise for getting this close to nature I can wait.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Funky 12 reviews from this member

We loved this site! When we were there it was quiet and the facilities more than adequate.The toilet and shower block is spotless and had plenty of piping hot water. The laundry area was cheap compared with other sites we have visited.
 
For dog owners Ruthern Valley

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mart.1 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time to Ruthern Valley and we chose this site after reading the mix reviews on here. It is situated in a lovely area and is very peaceful but would agree about the showers. Ruthern Valley has been taken over by a lovely couple in July who told me that they were hoping to sort out the showering/toilet situation but would have to apply for planning consent etc. I hope they do sort something out because this really is a lovely site to camp in, with not too many tents and you don't have that horrible row upon row that some sites have, it also has a lovely little shop on site which is well stocked and a great play area which is really safe for children of all ages. It is close to Padstow (home of Rick Stein restaurant) and Wadebridge. As a family of five with two teenagers and a ten year old they were never bored and can't wait to go back. This part of Cornwall has something for every one beautiful beaches, fishing (very reasonable), horse riding, fantastic surfing and the camel trail which is great for cycling either to Padstow or Bodmin and very reasonable to hire as well. We will most certainly being going back as this is our favourite part of Cornwall.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisuk1000 12 reviews from this member

Pretty site, with plenty of room between the pitches. Lots of wildlife in the locality and extremely quiet if you need a rest. Bit dull in fact. Shop well-stocked and friendly staff on site always happy to help. Good shops in Bodmin for supplies. The site is quite away from anywhere of interest as far as I can see. Wash, shower and dish facilities definitely not able to cope with number of users and requires another block. Lots of queueing here I’m afraid.

The site is very off the beaten track, which is fine if you like to be isolated but the roads are very 'passing place type' and difficult to negotiate coupled with heavy traffic, bad combination really.

The site is heavily wooded so very shady which is pretty but somewhat dingy at times. Wildlife is abundant; Mr Squirrel may saunter into your tent if you’re lucky and the cheekiest robin that I ever met will pester you for dinner. Lots of bats that can scare you stupid if you walk the lane, they fly straight at your face, never saw that before!

Reviewer: Helenjenkins 1 review from this member

August 2005
We have just returned from a week at this site, and I would agree with all that other reviewers have said about it - apart from the facilities! We felt that they struggled to cope with the numbers when the site was full - some evenings there was only lukewarm water in the showers. Having said that, with a young family in tow, the site felt safe and blissfully quiet by nightfall which is great when you are trying to get little ones to bed! The play area was a big hit with our kids and they were able to ride their bikes without too much worry of cars. The owners are also extremely welcoming and helpful and we would definitely return as it is so convenient for some of Cornwall's top attractions and such a beautiful spot.


Reviewer: Thelallys 1 review from this member

June 2005
Just returned from a week at Ruthernbridge- chosen as a result of the reviews on this site.

The site is fabulous. No 'entertainments' here- only a few (30) secluded pitches arranged in 4 areas in a woodland setting, suitable for tourers, campervans and tents with good drainage and very gentle slope. Great peace and quiet.

Nature abounds- robins kept investigating our tent for crumbs, along with a couple of jays. Squirrels abound, mainly at the shop / play area, and there are a few fieldmouse, woodpeckers, owls and pheasant that we saw. It kept the children enchanted for hours.
The owners are delightful- couldn't be more helpful. They run the basic shop (bread, milk, Calor gas, chilled wine & beer- the essentials) for a couple of hours morning and night.
The facilities are basic but very clean and tidy. Hot water on tap for washing up, toilet and showers. Modern washers & driers (takes 50p pieces).

Although only a couple of miles off the main road, almost no traffic passes by. The Camel trail is a flat mile's cycling away- access to an old disused railway line now connecting Padstow, Wadebridge, Bodmin (& further) for walkers and cyclists. We spent many happy hours pedalling to and fro with our young family on childseat and in trailer, and really appreciated the flat traffic free route. [Cycle hire centres abound along the route if required, and they're very reasonably priced].

The negatives are few- if you are after pubs or restaurants then I don't think any are within walking distance (not a factor for us with young family). You'll need to stock up in Bodmin (huge Asda or Morrisons) or Wadebridge (Tesco or Coop) for most of your food needs.

We fell in love with this site- we'll definitely be back and I'm sure it will be a family favourite for years to come. Don't tell everyone though!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019