Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
St Osyth
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 8LJ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Taffymotorhome 29 reviews from this member

Gosh where do I start. ?????. This site is HUGH, and I mean huge. , one night we had a 'papa johns ' delivered to our Van and it took an hour, when it eventually arrived the Pizza was hot, but chicken was cold, so I phoned up and they said they would replace the chicken, when it turned up they had got the order wrong, AND some of it was cold again, I was very disappointed in the chicken, as I got 5 poppers x 2 and 5 wings for £9. 99. I could have got a bucket of KFC for that, and got more in it. Blimey if it takes that long to deliver and get right out of season, what will it be like when busy ???

When we went fishing ( the staff were very friendly and helpful ) an adder came out of the grass and slithered less that 6' from our feet. We saw 5 adders in 2 days, when we told the warden he shrugged his shoulders and said, ' blimey they are early this year' 5 people were bitten last year. Yet there were no warning signs what-so-ever that we could see. SO BEWARE they are there, and loads of them.

Finally about the site, the shower block had code numbers to access them, but the doors were always left open, ( even though I shut the gents ) and the washing up sinks are right outside the gents, so anyone washing up could look right inside and see men coming out of the showers. The warden, again just shrugged and said he knows. That was it.

Right, now if you go to Walton on the Naze you must visit the 'Naze fish n chip shop' to left of pier on seafront, best we have ever had. And for a georgous meal try ' Maffias' on the way to Walton. Would we go back to this site. NO. But at £49 it could have been a lot worse, value for money wise.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just got back from a four day break, , Its the 3rd time we have been on this site in the last year, it is a very nice clean site, The last warden retired at the end of last season, they now have a new warden and just like the last one nothing was to much trouble.

Very clean shower/toilet block with hot water all day long, very clean site with no litter,

Swimming pool (which has had a lot of work done on it since last October), club, pub, shop, pizza takeout, Chinese takeaway all on site as well as a launderette and a arcade with the club.

Chip shop just outside the camp right next door to a very nice little pub (that lets you eat the food from the chip in the pub.

This is our 3rd time on the site, with many more visits to come.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site, , Its the second time we have stayed and it was as good as the first time.

Everything was spot on the park the club the pool all the staff. , On the touring field everything was as good as the first time, very clean and tidy with a very nice friendly warden who nothing was to much trouble for, we will be returning at Easter for a 3rd time

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 45 reviews from this member

A site that contrives to be less than the sum of its parts!

We stayed for 2 nights on a deal that was ridiculously cheap and included EHU and awning. Large, level grass pitch. Site facilities plentiful as listed in other reviews. The touring reception warden was very welcoming, cheerful and most helpful. And yet: toilet block cleaned only once a day which is clearly insufficient for the type of clientèle who can't/don't clean up after themselves. On-site catering offers reasonable food at not-too-exorbitant prices and yet opening times were a bit hit and miss (a late arrival on a neighbouring pitch complained that hot food stopped just after 8pm). The advertised pitch-vacating time is 10am and yet hot breakfasts don't start until 9. 30, so plan your exit with military precision!

A reasonable alternative is the Tudor 'restaurant' (more of a caff)on the sea wall opposite the main entrance - the treacle pudding comes highly recommended.

There is a bus stop outside the main entrance with a regular service to Clacton, but beware the electronic info. Systems in Clacton for your return journey. They bear no resemblance to the times the buses actually run!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lillie-lea 2 reviews from this member

We arrived 2 hours before check in and were able to check in straight away which was fantastic, I was given directions to the nearest supermarket and went off to our caravan.

The caravan was clean and well stocked, except they had no tin opener, but the spar sold these for about £2.

The entertainment staff were fantastic, except one woman who made comments suggesting if parents did not come to the front with their kids they don't love them, which was disgusting as some parents are not able to! She then made a comment about me bring my handbag up with my son, which as a single parent I have to do!

Other staff were fantastic, I could not fault them at all.

I will be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kokie 12 reviews from this member

Nice easy check in with helpful warden nice size pitch with electric. Although it rained the pitch held up well and so did our tent! Toilets were clean with plenty of hot water. Washing up facilities also very good. The site has good facilities, with an indoor and out door pool. There is entertainment in the evening and during the day activities for the kids. On the touring park there was also a nice play area. Nice location.

This was only our second time camping and we liked this site very much had a really nice break and will definitely use Haven again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site after staying there from Tuesday to Friday, what can I say apart from WE LOVED IT. , It was a very clean site all the staff was nice friendly.

I have been camping for a number of years and its the first camp that I have been to that has hot water all day long, it just never runs out( what I would say is watch the younger kids as it really is hot water) The bar prices are not that cheap but its what you expect from a camp site like Haven, They have a pizza place on site that deliver to your pitch until 11 at night with is a nice idea, the local ice cream man also comes onto site a couple of times a day and stops next to your pitch.

To say its a Haven site with a night club I was not kept awake at night by loud noises, people did tend not to shout after dark.

We will be returning to this site

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Custom 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at martello last year but seeing a january deal for this site we booked 10 days for the start of the school easter break-£111 for 10 days, ehu, dog, awning-super deal!

Firstly, if travelling from south of Colchester your sat-nav may try to direct you through the town centre-stay on the A12 'til the A120 (Harwich) then take A133 towards Clacton, take a right at Weeley (McDonalds roundabout)ahead 2 miles then right at next roundabout to St. Johns area-straight through to St. Osyth & Point Clear. As you enter the site if you are touring turn immediate right towards the touring check-in (if in a static reception is straight in front as you arrive)

Pitches are large but slope a little to the rear, you can pitch front to back or across the pitch But you are requested to leave your car on the cinder path next to the grass. Pitches are generous, facilities really good with helpful staff. There are LOTS of statics but unlike many other sites they are newish, clean & tidy. Grass was even cut in the rain!The touring area is about a 10 min walk to the main complex-which has a very good Spa shop, indoor pool, (outdoor too-in season) mash & barrel pub, amusements, entertainment room & a papa johns that deliver to your pitch!. There is a sort-of cycle hire inc 4 seaters, target shooting, archery etc.

This site really is huge-there's pitch-n-putt at one end & about 15-20 min walk past the main complex is The Ferry Boat Inn, a takeaway, beer garden & cafe all next to the sea wall-a few minutes back towards the main park is a chinese & laundry!

The mash & barrel do a very good carvery sundays & tex-mex wednesday! There's bingo nightly in the entertainment room, kids entertainment courtesy of the comedic talents of Mel & Lauren-2 of the funstars who really shone & worked hard, as did they all & as usual some of their acts were better than the booked ones (Kate's a really good singer!)

Noise is not tolerated after dark-security roam the site to check all is okay (unlike the police patrols at martello!)2 warnings & then you're out-no ifs or buts!

Would we go back?--YES!-but we'd look for another online deal as prices can be high ordinarily.

Sorry martello but the Orchards is now my No. 1 Clacton site!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shell G 11 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed our stay at this site. The pitches are really large and the rules about pitching are very laid back to other Haven sites, we had ours on the side and awning in front. The club entertainment was good except they must have changed the times they put the good groups on as all we saw were the Haven mates singing and we never go out till after 9. Could always get a seat.

The best thing on this site is the outdoor pool and sun beds, felt like being abroad when the sun shone and it did quite a lot.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pleach01 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, nice big pitches, extremely helpful and friendly wardens. Pitches are grass and few are level, so bring your levelling blocks. There are no serviced pitches, so remember the aquaroll and wastemaster. There is an electric an water service point every 2-3 pitches where you plug in for electrics and top up your water. Toilet/ shower/ wash up facilities are in the middle of the touring area (immaculately clean). Site is also open for campers in tents. Entertainment complex around 8 mins walk, quite understated and not as overly commercialised as some Haven sites. Entertainment quality was surprisingly good as it was out of season with a great band on our final evening (a Friday). There is a dog-friendly beach just across the road from the park (park the car at the main reception). It is sandy but best visited when the tide is not fully out, when mud flats are exposed, leaving us with some very mucky pups on one day. You can take the dogs into Clacton with you and they are allowed on the beach to the left hand side of the pier (again watch out for tide times as the beach is pretty much completely inaccessible at high tide). Otherwise head for Jaywick, lovely beach though not much else going on, but free parking available. When the sun is out, the touring area is completely bathed in warmth. It's a quiet site but seems to attract people like us- who enjoy their own space bt like to be near other people who like to have the odd chat and help each other out.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3913 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019